We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5+ Times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We love returning to Mahekal. This must be our 5th or 6th time. It is almost like returning home! We see familiar faces, remember all the rooms we stayed in previously while enjoying the familiar beach and "practicing" Spanish again.

Room Tip: Decide how close to the water your room needs to be - & if you need a view of the ocean. Persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

This bungalow-style hotel looks very nice on pictures.
However.... on arrival better to be ready for some disappointment.
The impression from the hotel was spoiled by lack of hot water, permanent electric shutdowns, extremely low-speed wi-fi (available in the lobby only) and constant smell from the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daryia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were there for thr Christmas week. The beach is beautiful and the hotel and surroundings are great! It is also located very close to restaurants and cafes.
The dinners could definitely be improved. One of the nights we had asian food and it was really bad.
The staff is very friendly especially the waiters. Nevertheless you never see any managers around when you need them. We had to ask several times to receive extra pillows.
In addition, one of the nights that we were there we did not have room service and when I complain about it, they said they were going to send some clean towels to the room.
It is also tough to find chairs at the beach.
We would probably go again since the place is very pretty, but we think that the prices are very high considering the so so service.
I hope this review is helpful,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Viole1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you need to get away from the techno-links that tie you down this is the place. Without going completely "cold-turkey" you can disconnect and unplug from the wired world and reconnect to the real world. The sun, the beach, the Caribbean, the rain, the birds, the trees, and the locals.
Service was excellent, all staff were courteous and very helpful. Accommodations were outstanding, the thatched roofs are amazing providing a primitive feel while still very functional (it rained ~50% of the days there). We spent most of waking hours on the beach which was groomed daily. Our biggest concern is with the size of the beach, it seems to be getting smaller. Maybe it will rebuild during a different time of the year but, it was significantly narrower than promotional photos and even the view on Google Earth shows a much wider beach.

Room Tip: I'd be concerned about the ocean front rooms - the waves are close and do not stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The location is great and the beach is the best at Playa del Carmen in my point of view. The surrounding of the hotel filled with palm trees and the palapa roofs make it paradise like. The dinner buffé is not to write home about.

Room Tip: You must have a room with palapa roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brainjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went there for a friend's wedding and it was a great atmosphere for that. We reserved one of the penthouses on the Aventura side and we didn't have a great view - our view was blocked by another building. The a/c in the units doesn't work well - blows right on you in bed so you freeze with it on and you sweat if you turn it off. Room is damp ALL the time because too much outside air gets inside. There are huge gaps and openings around the windows and doors. Stinks not having TV, phone, or wifi in this day and age. Breakfast and lunch were really good. The only two dinners we had there were the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception - neither of which were good food (rehearsal dinner was same buffett as other guests not there for the wedding). So if you are going there have your dinners off property and just eat breakfast and lunch on site. So while overall I think it's a cool property and was great for the wedding, my husband and I would not stay here again in the future. I did not sleep well at all the entire time simply due to the dampness in the room and the lack of efficient A/C, and that is enough for me to find someplace else going forward.

Room Tip: We were in Penthouse 6 on the Aventura side, which did not have a good view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Atlanta_Travelers_dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Nice resort located in quiet part of Playa. Still short walking distance to town main street 5th Av where you will find lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Bungalow type houses with "palapa"roof with simple clean rooms gives a rustique original feeling. Service and cleaning generally excellent. Resort has a very good beach.

Room Tip: Different pricing based on distance to beach. All reasonably close so choose according to your walle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pherlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,179 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £159 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing