We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pleace to start your Mexican trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #29 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great pleace to start your Mexican trip”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We took the Palapa Garden Dueluxe room, which those are the newest rooms Mahekal has to offer. The room was beautiful, clean and coosy, and altough was close to the club and lobby, it was quite quiet.
The batchroom was clean and the bath facilities were lovely, but the privecy in it is questionable, as the door is not sealed (:

We came to find some peace and quiet and found Mahekal is a great hotel to find it in, BUT please note the beach is public and therefore sometimes not so quiet, and around the pool there are usually kids, so when picking a room take those under consideration.

The breakfest was great, with the richest buffet we had during the entire trip, but rest of the meals the hotel has to offer need some improvement: Dinner was just OK, so we once switched between to lunch (a great option the hotel has to offer), and found that altough lunch menu was better, it was still not something to write home about.
The cocktail bar is great, but the cocktails themselves need some improvement (Mai Tai is not just rum with pineaplle and Sangria is not just cold wine with orange juice).

We also enjoied the spa the hotel has to offer, with massages to both my wife and me. Mine was good but my wife's, a known massage user, said it was by far the b-e-s-t massage she got in years.

The hotel location is great: in the quiet part of town but still close to the main street, so in case you like to find somewhere to eat, drink or do some shopping, you just have 2 minutes walk and you're there.

This is the first resort we were visiting during our trip in Mexico, and thanks to Mahekal's people it's started on the right foot.

Room Tip: Ocain or Pool side rooms have great view but during the day are not quiet at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    635
    166
    74
    53
See reviews for
734
1,282
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I booked an ocean view room. when I got to the hotel I was given room 8p. The only ocean view from that room is in the balcony and extending your neck like a giraffe. I felt my self completely cheated by the hotel! You don't do this to customers, specially a repeating one.
The staff at the hotel as all around Mexico, are great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is our third time in Playa del Carmen, and our second time with kids. We've also been to various resorts on the Pacific Coast as well, with and without kids. Mahekal Beach Resort is now our favorite place and we are planning to return soon.

We rented a casita with 2 double beds and it was very comfortable. We had booked a standard palapa room, which was supposed to be a top floor unit in the back of the resort in the Caribe section. But they upgraded us upon arrival to a single unit casita, much closer to the beach.

The beach is fantastic: soft clean sand, crystal clear and warm water. There are beach chairs and bar service for the use of hotel guests. The waterfront is public, though, and the access to the public beach is right through the resort, so you will get locals and other visitors using the same spots, but that gives it more local flavor and you do not feel like you are in a resort which could be anywhere in the world just with tourists.

The booking included breakfast and dinner, but we could switch dinner for lunch (which we did most days). Breakfast is a decent buffet supplemented by made-to-order items (pancakes and various kinds of eggs). Lunch is a-la-carte, and you can order an appetizer and a main dish from the menu (only lobster is excluded) under the plan. Way too much food! Dinner is also buffet, and alternates between Mexican/Carribean and International cuisine. For dinner we mostly opted to go out, though - just a very short walk to all the fantastic restaurants that Playa del Carmen has to offer.

There were only two drawbacks to our stay: One, a minor one, was that we requested a small fridge in our room and the only plug available was in the bathroom - the fridge went under/in front of the sink, but that made it difficult to open the door to the bathroom fully. On the other hand, we used the top of the fridge as a stepstool for our daughter to reach the sink.

The other drawback was that the internet wifi connection - available only in the lobby - was very spotty. We had planned to do some work and this was an issue for us. However, the resort in closing from May to Dec 2014 for rennovation and upgrading internet access is one of their objectives.

Staff is very friendly and willing to help.

Great place for vacationing with children - lots of families with small (under 16) kids! The resort itself feels very safe and we let our 10-year old walk alone between the restaurant, pools, room and club. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Splurge if you can for an oceanview - the sea is incredibly beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapatoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have been coming for years, back from the days it was called Shangri La. Like many other reviewers we have come as a couple, with friends, with family, now with grandchildren. The easy going, laid back ambiance sets the stage for whatever you want to do. The staff is attentive, the rooms not too fancy, yet allow you to be a few steps away from the beach, the waves or the pools, whatever you have in mind. Food is excellent for lunch and dinner, but if you want to be out and about, hundreds of restaurants are within easy walking distance. Right across from the lobby is a Greek restaurant, Milo, that we highly recommend. Up 38th St just a bit is Piola, a South American pizza chain that uses brick ovens. Whether you want the kind of quiet that Mahekal provides, or more action in the evening, the choice is yours.
However, I am worried about the future! The entire place is going to be completely remodeled. I hope it does not become too noisy, too fancy, or too much like almost all of the other places on the beach. Almost everyone you meet is a repeat customer, and everyone wants it to stay the same. I hope the owners keep that in mind!!

Room Tip: Just stay away from wedding parties! Other than that, you can't go wrong as no room is more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdventureRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a nice family friendly resort with a nice beach, nice food. Do not expect a fancy place, the rooms are basics but once you are OK with that I would recommend this place.
The only thing is that I believe that for what you get the cost is high as it is a high cost for an OK place.
Would not recommend it for couples or for anyone that expect anything for than average OK return.

Room Tip: Expect an average basic room, low power air-condition and basic shower. The rooms on the beach are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Playa_Fan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A perfect and wonderfully relaxing short break at Mahekal restored our souls after a long and tough winter, and eased our high levels of personal stress. Our days consisted of a short 30 feet walk from our bed to the beach chair...raising our flag and having a succession of drinks, food and cocktails brought to us....then toddling to the bar for happy hour before dinner. Sleep. Repeat. Sleep. Repeat. Sleep. Home (reluctantly). Food and cocktail menus were probably written in 1979 and haven't changed. Don't try to order off menu...they can't compute. Don't expect anything more than they do and you will have a wonderful time. We did.
Only con in my view is the beach club disco nearby and the constant thudding. Typically ends before 8 pm, so not a huge issue. Con is more than outweighed by the proximity of the town, which is a very easy walk, with great shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: do everything in your power to get an Ocean View or Ocean front Palapa. Garden rooms are OK, but cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonwt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilioPalazuelos, General Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback.
We are glad to hear that you could get relaxed during your stay and spent a nice getaway at Mahekal. This is exactly what our concept is about.
In order to avoid the events that take place in Playa del Carmen, it is better to book outside of the festive season; however we understand that this is the time when most of us can get away a little bit from work.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and offering you the second perfect vacation soon.

Best regards,
Emilio Palazuelos - General Manager
Mahekal Beach Resort and Hotel Las Palapas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

In each of the last 4 years I have spent from 6 to 30 days at the Mahekal. Whether with grandchildren, a couple of times, or alone, most of the times, the completeness of services and the ambiance make forays into Playa or the countryside fun, but unnecessary. Families don't seem to interfere with couples, or singles like me, nor do couples seem pinched by the families present. There is elbow room and a sense intimacy in a secure space. And the grounds are maintained so carefully. The staff, especially the restaurant staff, carries an attitude of such attentiveness with smiles of a frequency that baffles me, grump that I can be. I've stayed there as a single, in a couple, and with grandchildren and each iteration was terrific. Terry B

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilioPalazuelos, General Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Terry,
thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to read your words that we already passed to all our team members and we are looking forward to welcoming you again, whether a single, in a couple or with your grandchildren.

Best regards from Paradise,
Emilio Palazuelos - General Manager
Mahekal Beach Resort and Hotel Las Palapas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing