We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2007

After staying a couple nights at a cheaper hotel off the beach (Aventura - nice hotel as well) we moved to the Shangri La Caribe.

What was interesting was that we tried to book a room at this resort before our vacation and they said they were fully booked. But when we walked into the lobby on our trip to just check again we were able to book the top floor of a beach-side bungalow. It truly was right on the beach and we had a great view.

The room was nothing fancy but large, air conditioned, and very clean, the balcony was terrific. Two hammocks right on balcony as well as lounge chairs and table. So when you’re not on the beach you can play cards or relax there. I did have a roach crawl on me one night while sleeping but hey.. they are true "thatch-roof" bungalows so it's understandable.

Beach was great! Easy to get a towel and chair every day as well.

We ate dinner and breakfast there many times during our stay. It was usually the same each day but pretty decent - definitely not any worse than anywhere we ate in town.

Overall stay was a good one.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank jdoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,770
    658
    170
    76
    55
See reviews for
791
1,338
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2006

Shangri-la Caribe was our first hotel in Mexico. We (my boyfriend and I) stayed there 4 nights in early December and had great expectations from all the wonderful reviews we had read. We were not disapointed.

We stayed in a room at the Aventura/Playa section, right in front of the ocean with a wonderful balcony and two hamacas. There were always plenty of chairs at the beach to lay down and the beach is wonderful.

We had read some less positive reviews about the food, but really cannot complain - breakfast was great, with a wide selection of different types of eggs (mexican style; we tried a different one each day), fresh natural juices, fresh fruit and the usual breads and cereals. Dinner was ok, though not very varied - there was only a meat or fish dish to choose from, but good quality and service. We had half-board (breakfast+ dinner) but drinks were paid separate.

The hotel is very close to town (Playa del Carmen) and you can walk to the shops and restaurants, tough we were lazy and always took our rental car.

All in all, the hotel is very beautiful and well taken care of and we always had a sense of privacy that make it ideal for couples.

Would definitly recommend it and/or stay there again!

  • Liked — general ambiance of the hotel and staff
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Traveling_Tuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

My husand and I were married on the white sand beach in front of the BEAUTIFUL Shangri-La resort on November 18, 2006. We had 43 friends and family in tow to share our wedding in paradise. It simply was the most wonderful time of both of our lives.

Not only is the staff incredibly friendly and accommodating, but everything was clean and well maintained. We stayed in a third floor suite on the Aventura side right next to the Aventura dining room where we held our reception. The daily breakfasts were yummy, fresh and cozy with "delicious coffee." The dinners were great too! We just didn't understand what all the complaining about the food was, seriously. Oh! You HAVE to have a hamburger at lunch time and order a side of guacamole for your chips. I know it' s not traditional Mexican fare, but after a night of Don Julio shots and Tecate, you will be in tip-top shape again. If you decide to visit, please say hello to the waiter Miguel from Ryan and Erica! Everyone remembered our names and could not have been any nicer.

Ok, the only thing we didn't like was the noisy construction next door, but THERE WAS A HURRICANE!! Of course they are going to re-build paradise, C'mon!!! Just get up early, get in your hammock and remember you are in paradise for a short amount of time so just ENJOY it!! They're making it better for everyone to keep coming back!! Truth be told, my parents bought a condo in town while we were there because they loved it so much in Playa.

I would also agree to buy a cooler at Wal-mart and stock up on beer to bring with you down to the beach. There is a very cute little market up the street from the reception where you can buy hard liquor to make mixed drinks or tons of beer to choose from as well. Beer cozies really help too. We put them in the welcome bags we packed for everyone when they checked in to the hotel. Also, bug spray for your ankles and calves at night because that is the only thing the bugs seem to like attacking. Weird thing is, you don't even feel it until the next day.

I am posting my pictures and please feel free to contact me if you have any questions because I could rave for pages and pages about how wonderful it is. If you are planning a destination wedding and want it to be everything you could ever imagine with all of your guests talking about it for the rest of their lives, contact Christine through the Shangri-La's website and tell them that Erica sent ya. You will have an amazing time!!

  • Liked — Wonderful staff, great beach...everything!!!!!!!!!!!1
  • Disliked — Construction noise, but it was to be expected
  • Tips/Secrets — Cooler, cozies, bug spray...and tip your waiters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank enokleberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2006

We stayed at the Shangri La in November to attend the wedding of a family member.

When we first pulled up to the Shangri La, we were a little nervous because it didn't look like the "typical" 5 star hotel. We were pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is very clean and has a remote and peaceful atmosphere. It's literally built on the beach with cute little walkways that guide you around the grounds. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has a little balcony with hammocks for relaxing.

The pool areas are as clean and beautiful as the rest of the hotel. There's a hot tub in one of the pools, although the water's temperature is not very warm.

The beach is gorgeous. We enjoyed swimming and had rafts for relaxing. One thing we particularly liked was that the beach never seemed too crowded and there were always enough chairs to go around. (You don't have to get up early, put your towels on chairs, and "claim your spot".)

We ate breakfast and a few dinners at the hotel. Food was good! We especially enjoyed the guacamole, pico, and nacho we ate for lunch by the pool.

There's a cute little bar with a daily 2x1 Happy Hour. You can relax with your drink while you play some pool or ping pong.

Another great feature is the location. You're just a few blocks- within walking distance- from the famous 5th street. What a fun and quaint area. There's so much to do. Cars are not allowed to travel down 5th street, so you're free to walk the cobblestone streets and shop, eat (many of the restaurants have table right on the sidewalks), or enjoy 2x1 drinks at many of the restaurants. This street has something for everyone! Even upscale shopping. This is truly a placed not to be missed in Playa. The atmosphere is uplifting and fun. You'll find you want to go back to 5th street everyday.

We can't wait to go back to Shangri La. We would highly recommend paying a little extra to stay in a hut on the beach. They're a little more private as you are not sharing walls with anyone else. They're also quieter as there is some construction going on right across the street from the lobby and very close to some of the rooms. (Workers started at 6:00 every morning.)

Enjoy your stay at Shangri La. You will be very glad you made the decision to stay in a quiet and relaxing place. The staff is exceptional and we were impressed by their attentiveness and willingness to go out of their way to make our vacation special.

Have fun!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank roccok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

We researched a lot before choosing this hotel, and I must say that it was just what we've expected: great beach, relaxed atmosphere, good service and basic but clean and cozy rooms. Even the food was better than most reviewers have stated.

The only problem with the hotel is just the ugly building being built accross the road. For one thing, this four story "temple like" building is totally out of place in front of the Caribbean palapas of shangri-la. (Check my pictures). It just ruins most of the setup. But what is really a problem, is the terrible construction noise, starting at 6:30 AM (no typo here). Most of the week it was annoying but bearable hand hammering, but on two days we got unbelievable noisy machine hammering which kept us awake. Moving to another room was not easy since most of the Aventura and Left Caribe Sections were affected and finally we had to downgrade to a Pueblito section room which, although not bad, was not the same as the Caribe room. The hotel reception staff seemed overwhelmed by the problem.

So, my advice is: Coose a room as far away as possible from the construction (right side of Caribe section, next to Las Palapas, should be ok) or check whether there will be construction activity during your stay. For the rest, the hotel is great.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank Diego_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2006

We just got back last night from a 1 week stay at the Shangri-La Caribe. It was fantastic! We researched (on-line) probably every hotel from Tulum up to Puerta Morales, relying heavily on trip advisor reviews. Shangri-La was everything we expected and more.

Our room, 2nd level Aventura side, was great. Clean, big, comfortable beds, and the tiled shower is nice. A large closet and a dresser for our clothes! Also a suit case rack that we used mostly for drying stuff - there was also a clothes line with clothes pins on the patio. The patio was great with two chairs a table and two hammocks.

The bar at happy hour (5:00 - 6:00) was full of people but not obnoxious. It has 2 ping pong tables and 2 pool tables and always had some people having a good time. (unlike the bar next door at Las Palapas - we went there one night after Shangri-La happy hour and it was quiet and deserted - not even any music playing. Although their happy hour was from 4:30 - 7:00 and I guess if you go early there is a bar right on the beach at happy hour that is pretty fun).

The staff at Shangri-La - especially the staff at the restaurants - is excellent. Always smiling and extremely helpful. They definitely made our stay more enjoyable.

I was a bit nervous about the "all inclusive" food and atmosphere. I was pleasantly surprised. Each restaurant was set up like a restaurant. You could have nice romantic dinners and never felt like you were at a cafeteria. There were mixed reviews on the food that we had read. Maybe they have a new chef but, all of the food was good. Considering it is hard to spend less than $45 for a meal in town (and usually more with drinks and an appetizer), we thought the all inclusive deal was well worth it. The only thing negative I would say is that there was not a lot of variety from night to night - mostly a choice between pork or fish as a main course or a Mexican type buffet. There was more variety in the soups and appetizers for dinner. Breakfast was always good.

There are some great restaurants in town to choose from and it is definitely worth it to walk over for a couple nights - an easy pleasant walk. Or it is a $3 cab ride.

There is still construction going on behind/next to the resort. This could bother some people - it wasn't a problem for us. Really only the morning that the trash truck was there - did it wake us up.

We never missed the TV or the phones in the room. There is internet service at the hotel for $1.50 for 30 minutes (although the keyboard was a little off - the "a" key typed a q and the "q" key typed an a - etc..).

Tips: Bring a beer cozy to keep your beer or soda cool at the beach. Go the the market - there is a super market called "Mega" right in town - and get a disposable cooler for ice and drinks in your room. Bug spay for the evenings - it wasn't terrible but it is the tropics and mosquitos definitely come out. Renting a car was well worth the money if you want to go up and down the coast or to the ruins. Get the damage waiver as not all of the roads are perfect and there are plenty of trucks dropping rocks. We paid as much for the car as we would have just for cabs to and from the airport. Snorkeling in Aventura is great if you want to avoid the touristy waterparks. We saw Sea Turtles, reefs and all kinds of beautiful fish and only paid $10 for the equipment at the Aventura Dive shop.

We would definitely go back to Shangri-La. We met nice people and had one of the best vacations we have ever had. It is quiet relaxing and has a nice beach with palapas, lounge chairs and great swimming areas. Also, it is one of the only hotels in Playa del Carmen with a pool right on the beach and a Jacuzzi. The Jacuzzi is not hot but is still warm and nice in the evening or when it gets cloudy or rainy. It is also close enough to town that you could go party every night if you wanted or you can just stay in at Shangri-La and enjoy paradise!

  • Liked — atmoshphere
  • Disliked — parking on street only
  • Tips/Secrets — there are tips in our review
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Phathed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2006

When we got there i was a bit worried couse the reception is so tiny and simple, just a desk and a computer under a palapa almost! But the place its amazing is soooo romantic. Even when we said we would be charged if we wanted a bottle a champagne we didnt!!! (maybe the forgot to charge???) and got freee fruit! wich was also suposed to be charged. The food is great and the staf and waitters are warm and friendly. The only one thing and that wasnt their fault its that it rained for 2 days sooooo much that the water almost got into the cabin! missed by about 4 inches! But that made the whole experience actually more fun!. I definetely want to go back there.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — its a little far from all the shops u have to take a taxi (wich is no expensive though)
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Elenitamoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,978 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,469 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,848 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
409 reviews
3.0 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing