We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True menaing of Paradise!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True menaing of Paradise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

My wife and I just got married at Mahekal and I must say we couldn't have imagined a more perfect wedding! The staff at this place is beyond exceptional and will truly do anything to make sure you are happy. We were there with 29 of our family and friends and there was only one issue that came up but they were able to resolve everything and made sure everyone was happy. We arrived on Monday June 21, 2010 to the most gorgeous turquoise, green and blue water you could ever imagine. We stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites 12P and the view was breathtaking. We got married on Wednesday the 23rd on the beach at sunset and the weather was hot during the day but the breeze picked up right before the ceremony started. I must say without that wind I don't know how long I would've made it in a suit lol. It was hot that day! We were able to get through the Ceremony and photos (which turned out amazing) before it started to pour but then it let up for the rest of the night. Then the first storm of the year Tropical Storm Alex (ironically enough that was my best mans first name) decided to come through for the next 4 days. Most of the showers came with heavy rain but were fairly quick before it would stop. Only downfall was it never really cleared up and continued to be overcast up until Monday the 28th. Obviously no one has control over the weather but my point being even with the weather we couldn't have picked a better place to get married.

There wasn't a thing they did that didn't deserve a 5+ star rating. When people say they will do anything to me make sure you're happy, that's exactly what they mean. The man to speak to over there is Bolie, he will get you anything you need. He is one of the nicest guys I've ever met. The wedding coordinators Urs, Aya and Karina were amazing and did everything we asked. Urs was the man and is so easy to talk to. Karina did a great job helping with making sure everyone got to and from the airport. We had a large group and some individual flights but there were no problems. Aya was the one who made everything happen though. She did an amazing job making sure everything was perfect for us. The wedding was PERFECT!!!!!

As for crime, just remember yes you are in paradise but don't forget where paradise is. Unless you are smart enough and wise enough to play around with the corruption down there don't and you will be fine. If you are smart enough and wise enough you will get anything you need from just about anyone trust me. In the town it was really nice and there were a lot of good eating spots and stores to go in. It really gives you a little of the Mexican lifestyle feeling in a tourist part of Mexico. The store owners are annoying as hell lol but they are cool as hell when you talk to them. We had one guy get us a round of beers one night then the next day I came with another group and he did the same thing. Some things are cheap but some are crazily overpriced. You can talk any single one of them down on the price and some will end up giving you more then 50% off what they were originally asking for if you're persistent enough.

The resort layout was perfect and offered a different feel in every single room. I was able to go in about 10 different cabanas and not one of them were the same. The maids do something different with your towels whenever you get your room cleaned. We had 2 swans facing each other when we walked in. A few others I saw were elephants, dog, and even a little person with eyes and stuff attached. The bar has a tv, 2 ping pong tables and 2 pool tables. it was were we spent a lot of our time and had a blast. It was nice being able to charge everything on the resort to the room and paying for it at the end of the trip. If you do it that way though just make sure you keep track of what you put on it. Just like anywhere it's an easy route for them to start adding things to the bill that you didn't get. Didn't happen to us but just warning you.

I would absolutely go back to this place and recommend anyone else who hasn't been to definitely go and experience this amazing resort.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mg5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,562
    616
    155
    71
    51
See reviews for
676
1,223
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
keller
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

My husband and I just returned from an 8 day stay at Mahekal. This place is wonderful!! The entire staff went out of their way to make sure we had all we needed during our stay, and did so with a smile on their face! The concierge, Boli, was very helpful and the bartender at night, Vicente, was also very good (just to name a few). The food was outstanding at all three meals, we never ordered anything that was not good. The drinks were reasonably priced and very tasty. We especially enjoyed the Mexican buffet on Sunday night!! They had live entertainment and excellent food! Mahekal is a very laid back place and the rooms are simple, which is exactly what we were looking for. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is constantly working to keep the place nice. There are plenty of chairs on the beach and resort security assists to make sure that only hotel residents use the chairs. The beach was beautiful. We walked down the beach in both directions from the resort and found that it was not as nice anywhere else.
If you are looking for a fancy place with televisions, phones in the rooms, and jacuzzi tubs then this is not for you. We did not miss any of those things when we were there and can't wait to return next year!! We stayed in 29P and it had a great view of the ocean. It was on the far end of the resort and was very quiet (the penthouse is right above this room). Great service, great staff, and excellent food!! Also, only a few minute walk to 5th avenue where there is great shopping, food, and drink!! Awesome!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank txtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

My husband and I just got back from celebrating out anniversary in Mexico. We stayed at Mahekal for 7 nights. This place is wonderful! The grounds are amazing, the beach is beautiful but what truly makes this place feel like home is the staff. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 8A that was ocean view room but it truly felt like an ocean front as we were steps from the beach and could feel the ocean breeze every day/night. The rooms are bare but are kept extremely clean. If you expect luxury this is not for you. There are no TV’s or other electronics in the room but that did not bother us at all. The place is like a little paradise. There is a lot to do in the area; the resort is just a few minute walk from the 5th Ave where you can find all different restaurants, shops, galleries and other entertainment. I truly recommend Mahekal for a romantic, relaxing getaway.

Special thanks to Boli and Gabriel who organized transportation and tours for our stay. I can’t thank Boli enough for his kindness and lending his camera for a day when our broke down. Also, special thanks to Jose and Vincente, our friendly servers at the resort restaurant. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mahekal Beach Resort for 5 days and it was everything we hoped it would be. The resort is very quiet, very clean and well kept. There are plenty of chairs on the beach for the taking, the pools are never over-crowded and the ocean was warm, clear and amazing. The beach was very clean, never too crowded, we found a nice spot to the far right of the Aventura side in the shade that was great for a post lunch ciesta. The resort staff was always very courteous and willing to assist you in any way.

We had a ocean view room (11A or Once A) which was great. We could easily see the beach from our porch hammocks and could feel the constant breeze all day, which was amazing. The room was great, very basic, very clean and relaxing. Great shower and bathroom.

We selected the breakfast and lunch option which worked out great for us. Up early in the morning for a run or a walk on the beach (which my girlfriend loves to do...), followed up with an excellent breakfast. I can't imagine anyone not being satisfied with the selections available at breakfast. Tons of healthy options that is unless you are use to dining at a Denny's Mega breakfast buffet, this might not be the place for you. Lunch was good too. It was nice to be able to come in from the beach, grab a bite and then get back out to the beach for the rest of the afternoon. A lot of 5th Ave opens around 10-11AM, so lunch options are available there, but it is several blocks away.

To do's: Be sure to go to 5th Ave in the evening for nightlife, drinking, dining and shopping. A great time. After dinner buy a nice cigar from one of the many shops and hit up one of the many dessert / wine bars.

Also be sure to rent the hotel bikes and cruise up and down the back streets of Playa to see the rest of the city outside of 5th ave. Also a great time. We hit 3 or 4 different beach bars on our bike journey and had a lot of fun.

Overall a great time and I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful resort on a beautiful stretch of beach.

Special Thanks too:
The Honeymooners - Mobile Alabama
The Swiss Family Robinson
McGavin (comma) Shooter
Austin
Jake and Vienna

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank etrain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We just returned from our honeymoon at Mahekal. This place is truly paradise - you won't miss TV or phone. I highly recommend getting a room on the beach. We were in 28P and could sit on our balacony and watch the sunrise in the morning and see the stars at night, while watching/listening to the ocean.

I am a vegetarian (my husband a meat eater). Fortunately, there were several options for dining at the resort and in town. The food was excellent. You are allowed breakfast everyday and either lunch or dinner. FYI -You can even order lunch from the dining area and the staff will actually bring it to you at the beach/pool. The service is first class.

The staff is so hard-working and friendly. They go out of their way to ensure each guest has a positive experience and has everything they need.

The concierge, named Bali, is amazing. He is very familiar with the activities in the area and can help you plan your stay. I recommend seeing him when you first arrive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Mahekal May 2010 over a long weekend. The hotel is just blocks from town but still quiet and on the beach. The service was excellent; the staff was friendly but professional and worked very hard to accomodate the guests. The rooms were spacious and extremely clean. Best of all, the food was outstanding. One could order breakfast off the menu or enjoy a lavish buffet with wonderful fruits, etc. - loved the granola. We ordered off the menu for lunch, with tons of choices. The shrimp salad was to die for. All in all, this is a perfect choice for those who want the convenience of being in town with a low key quiet atmosphere. It is an excellent value as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texastraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

My boyfriend and I just go back from our stay at Mahekal. It was the best hotel I have ever stayed at! We had a beautiful little bungalow with the traditional palapas roof. It was just so wonderful! We had hammocks on our porch, a view of the ocean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Mahekal is located within walking distance to tons of great restaurants, shopping and buses that will take you to lots of Mayan adventures. We were there for a wedding, and let me tell you, if you want a fantasy wedding that feels like a romantic movie, this is the place to get married. It was just stunning. The food is great at the hotel as well. We opted for the breakfast and dinner option. Although it is not an all inclusive resort, it is very affordable and drinks are very low priced. There is also a happy hour at the bar by the pool (they have swings!) and we figured that we actually spent less than we would at all an inclusive resort! We even saw a concert on the beach one night!
Mahekal has it all! The beauty, the convenience of location, affordability, the food, tranquility and the bet that we will be back to visit again another day!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeaton12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Property: Mahekal Beach Resort
Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahekal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 198 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen. The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahekal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer televisions. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. The Resort offers meal plans that include breakfast daily and lunch or dinner. This choice gives our guests the opportunity to explore the many dining options in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing