We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique in heart of Yucatan”
Review of Hotel Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Delfin
Ranked #152 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boutique in heart of Yucatan”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Delfin just a short walk from the ferry dock in Playa Del Carmen after a week of diving on the island of Cozumel. This charming boutique hotel is on the corner of 5th Ave, just a block from the ocean and conveniently located to everything. Our spacious penthouse room was very clean and comfortable with tasteful simple furnishings, a frig, and air conditioning. We loved watching the bustling town in the evenings below our rooftop deck.
I had not been back to Playa del Carmen for 30 years, and I was happy to see positive changes. The shopping, dining, architecture, art displays and landscaped courtyards on 5th Ave. is amazing! As an artist, I found it very inspiring.
I took some extra photos of some of the other rooms other than our penthouse. Please consider the hotel has no elevator, stairs only. Hotel Delfin is reasonable, authentic, and I highly recommend it to those who enjoy a cultural experience.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and the penthouse deck makes you feel a part of it all.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank ecomermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
24
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Delfin after getting bumped from our other hostel in high season. These guys happened to have a clean room for budget travelers, so we were happy to rent for our last week. The digs were clean and we were excited to have a fridge and air conditioning. The only complaint we had was that it was a bit loud, and we're young travelers and heavy sleepers. The live music playing one night at 11pm was almost too much to handle, i.e. it was shaking our room. But it ended before too long and we had a pleasant stay. The beds were clean, no bugs, and the water was hot. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrailblazerFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotel Delfin is right on the main street of Playa Del Carmen, but has quiet rooms available and penthouse rooms that overlook the ocean. It is about 50 yards from the beach, but it is near countless restaurants, nightclubs, shops and other activity. Some people prefer and all inclusive when they travel, a little bubble where they can just veg, but if you want to experience this exciting town in a clean, well decorated place with excellent service and location this hotel is a jewel.

Room Tip: The penthouse rooms are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donalds465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I'd give this hotel 4 stars only for the larger and nicer of the penthouse rooms. It was bright, cheerful and comfortable, with a fun rooftop patio where you could watch the world go by. We got a discount rate, but it's worth paying a few extra dollars for. The other rooms look a bit plain and even dreary. I was ready to look elsewhere, but the penthouse room almost seemed to belong to a different hotel.

There are a lot of stairs (and not always anyone around to help with bags), and it's a bit noisy at night. There seems to be a bit of soundproofing, and earplugs (or perhaps air conditioning) mostly solves that problem. As the previous review mentioned, I saw a few ants crawling up the doorframe in the bathroom, but none in the room, and certainly not enough to be disturbing. I don't know who the previous reviewer dealt with, either, because we only encountered one very nice, helpful lady who spoke excellent English.

We arrived last-minute, and I looked at 3 other moderate hotels in the area. This one (at least the penthouse room) was by far the nicest for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinderNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torreon, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were planning to stay at this hotel, we had our room and all, and as one of us was about to take a shower she screamed, the reason? lots of flying ants were crawling around, over the walls, ceiling, floor and curtains. We went down stairs to management and they sent someone up to clean, they sprayed some insecticide and that killed them, apparently. A few minutes passed and as i now tried to take a shower, to my surprise it was filled with those ants once again, and lets face it, they're not the worse plague ever, but their bite sure hurts, so we complained in management once more and they changed our room to a much smaller one when we had the big room with 3 individual beds and a large bed. They changed us to a smaller room with 2 beds, of course paying the same price as the large room, which we didn't agree to, so we went to management to tell about our inconformity with the price, that it should be lower if the room was smaller and the manager said, well take your money back so rude that we couldn't believe our ears. I had to ask again, excuse me, did i hear correctly, are you kicking us out, he said yes, i can't do anything for you, our cleaning staff is out for the day, and i said that this wasn't a cleaning problem, the problem was that there was a plague crawling through the window, he just turned his face and ignored us, so i left, looked for the nearest hotel from there and checked out of there. As we went to get our money back we demanded to speak to the manager again cause he would give us the money, he sent someone else to do it. The last thing i wanted was to tell him that that wasn't the way to treat his guests, he snaped at us and started nagging and telling us that he couldn't grant us our extravagances and that we couldn't handle one small ant, of course all this time making faces at us, OMG, i was stunned that the man was actually talking to us that way, we said, look, it's not one ant, it was a plague ok? and really if you're not comfortable with your job its not our fault that you have to treat your costumers this badly and we left.

Really, after the way that man treated us I really hope he's not working there anymore because one bad person is all it takes for people never want to go back to a place like that,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALOM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielShore693, Manager at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
We are sorry about your experience with our hotel.In 25 years we have not had any problems
with either plague or flying biting ants.We are in the tropics and if you see a bug in your
room we either disinfect the room for the guest or switch rooms.We will not allow anyone
To scream at or abuse our staff.your money will be returned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

My husband and I just returned from playa del carmen yesterday. We had no reservations anywhere....and we stumbled upon Hotel Delphin. We had the junior suite. It was clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff was friendly and helpful. This hotel is ideally located and is a mere 2 minute walk from the beach. It is not too loud at night, but there is some noise from a nearby nightclub/lounge. Turning the air conditioner on fixes that!! We have no complaints about this hotel. If you are looking for an affordable, clean hotel with that mexican charm, Hotel Delphin is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunKisstManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This hotel was so great - nothing too fancy but great location and nice accomodations for the inexpensive price. The room had 2 beds, air conditioner, refrigerator, adequate towels and space to hang your clothes. We watched Mariachi out of our window and had a blast! I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleysharp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
#182 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rana Cansada
La Rana Cansada
#154 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#148 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin

Property: Hotel Delfin
Address: Avenida 5, Norte 119, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Delfin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delfin Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing