We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating...”
Review of Elefante

Elefante
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elefante
Ranked #204 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Booked here for 5 nights but only lasted 2! Very noisy, not just from the night club; workers outside the window who start at 6.30am. Hotel is need of updating, but not at 6.30am! Had to move rooms twice due to lack of lights and toilet seat - items which you would expect.
Swimming pool is very small and not suitable to go in or sit around. Luckily the only positive with this place is its location to the beach and shops which are both 5 minutes walk.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here back in 2007 for just one night because that was torture enough! Mind you, it looks like it has been redone since then and thank God because it was TERRIBLE! The TV had been ripped off the wall and was missing and when I took the bedside draw down to the front desk because someone had used it as an ASHTRAY, the guy just looked at me like " So what?" my hubby and I laugh at the memory as it was, without a doubt, the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Before or since! I can't speak to the hotel today but I hope they have improved the rooms and service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellybean38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Rooms were clean, a bit noisy since Coco Bongo is right around the corner. The big plus is that it is centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here with Intrepid for 1 night at the start of a tour.

I had been staying in PDC for 5 days beforehand in a similarly priced hotel so have something to compare this to.

Our room was pitch black dark with the only window opening out to a shaded area, and to compound things the lighting was very dim.

The bed was uncomfortable and hard as were the lounge seats. The bathroom is very basic also.

Noone dared use the murky swimming pool, and there was absolutely no physical security between people on the street and the front door of your room - anyone could walk in at any hour of the night.

Only drawcards here were the A/C and the location could be worse. I would recommend the Barrio Latino over this place any day of the week in a similar price bracket.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Look it's a cheap hotel. Its a short walk from the beach (playa del Carmen is small anyway), it was a bit noisy at night.
Agree the security is a bit minimal, but we never lost anything.
The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Lucily we only stayed here for 1 night.
Its very basic, the rooms are like saunas, and I didn't feel safe at all!
The reception and the service pretty much stank, but again this was just a single night.

I have no idea why Intrepid Travel stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

I just returned from from a stay at the Elphante Hotel. My room was robbed on the first night. There is no security to speak of and the rooms are very easy to break into, the doors have cheap locks, windows that can be taken apart and someone can then reach the inside door knob.

DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING THAT YOU WOULD MISS IF TAKEN IN THIS HOTEL/ROOM.

I am man, former Marine, and former law enforcement officer, and would never suggest that a woman stay in this hotel alone.

If you want more information contact me.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank MJG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.1 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,415 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,316 reviews
10.1 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,028 reviews
12.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
16,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elefante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elefante

Address: Av. 12 and Calle 10, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £31 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elefante 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and LoveHolidays so you can book your Elefante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elefante Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Elefante Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing