We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we highly recommend it to the in crowd”
Review of Reina Roja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reina Roja Hotel
Ranked #112 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This had been our second stay at this hotel and we highly recommend it to the in crowd.
The staff at Reina are pro-active , very friendly, unpretentious, especially David Velazquez and manager Luis Hernandez who went out of their way to make us feel welcome.Our room was spacious well maintained with comfortable bed excellent AC and large modern bathroom.
Breakfast Reina Rojas is wonderful as chef goes out of his way to make sure all are well fed. Roof top pool area with live DJs spinning chill music is just what you need after a long day at the beach or just walking around town.
Definitely be back this winter if our finances permit :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinarojahotel, Manager at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank very very much for your great comments regarding the food, the staff and the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you here once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Ok there is a little noise but the rooms are modern the beds are great.
I have stayed at other places in Playa that the noise was worse.
The staff is great.

Room Tip: bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear00786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinarojahotel, Manager at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

We appreciate your comments and we hope to see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this unique hotel. Location is great, right next to the 5th avenue and close to the beach. The staff was very helpful, polite and friendly : we had a problem with the water heater in our room and all the staff was very quick to find a solution for us, special thanks to David, manager who gave us an oustanding service!

Rooms were clean and tidy, breakfast was good and the staff very nice and professionnal.
Only downside to this hotel is the lack of sleep... It is indeed a party place, the bar close around 2am and the music plays very loud, plus the clients seems to be in a big party mood as well and were pretty noisy at night, If you don't mind catching on you sleep during daytime, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbpb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reinarojahotel, Manager at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

We are glad to know that our team attended as you deserve, we are taking note of your comments about the noise and we hope to fix this problem as soon as possible. The Staff of Reina Roja wants to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Up front WE DID NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL however we stayed at one within spitting distance from it and I don't see how anyone could get any sleep in that place. Our hotel was made of cinderblock and not directly attached to Reina Roja yet the thumping of bass could be felt until 3-4 am. Apparently the folks who run this place have no concept of being respectful of other people. Honestly, the place looked interesting but generally was dead. There was apparently a private party there a couple nights but even without people there they played loud music. I think they could have a chic, hip place if they would just tone it down a few notches.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank wchvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

How anyone can enjoy staying here is beyond me. It is so very noisy, all night long until 4AM music vibrates the entire building and it's surroundings. We would never choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: no rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Steve502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. The hotel is unique and stylish with very enticing architecture/decor, and the room was spacious, attractive and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed including travel plans, since we are new to Playa del Carmen and were unsure of what to do during the day. The bar on the main floor has a great atmosphere and good music, and the rooftop patio has a beautiful pool with parties on Sundays where ladies get free drinks. The overall attitude of the place is very laid back, and we felt completely at home. This is a perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy the night life in Playa del Carmen - it is right in the centre of the main strip - just look for the glowing red building. The service is also great whether it be room service, the bar on the main floor, or the phenomenal breakfast that is also included in your stay. Overall, I would suggest this hotel to any fun-loving individual who also wants top quality and class.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite facing East is worth the upgrade. Parking is available on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Pros:
Very trendy, unique idea for a hotel. Cool place to hang out at night.
Great breakfast included
Room design and cleanliness were superb.

Cons:
Very noisy. Paper thin walls and doors. Hear noises in hallways from 3 floors away.
Check in was a total nightmare. Took 4 hours to get our correct room. Girl working desk unapologetic.
Dont stay here if you go to bed at 10 pm. More like 3 am.
The fake birds chirping in the hallway was annoying.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank backdrft76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,426 reviews
1.5 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#114 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#94 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reina Roja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reina Roja Hotel

Address: Calle 20 No 128 | entre 5a v. y 10 Av., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £56 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reina Roja Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reina Roja is located in the quiet tourist district called by the Maya Xeman Ha, now known as Playa del Carmen on the Yucatan Peninsula.Experimental architecture that plays with the limits of conventional make your stay a unique and special.The red light and its properties are a constant element that is present in every corner of Reina Roja; this vital color symbolizes life, movement and activity.We invite you to explore the original accommodations, fun, and haute cuisine that Reina Roja has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Reina Roja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Roja Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing