We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was top notch!”
Review of Reina Roja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reina Roja Hotel
Ranked #111 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I don't know why so many reviewers speak about bad service… I found EVERY SINGLE PERSON in the hotel were nice and went well out of their way to assist us as guests. Granted, we were not being loud, drunk and obnoxious idiots like so many other guests so that might've helped…
The hotel is perfectly located, the rooms were very spacious, quirky, clean. We did get a junior suite at the end of the hall which I think was great since the floors can be a bit loud so we didn't get many people walking past our room. The breakfast included was also an actual breakfast, not just fruit and coffee. Overall, we were definitely happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites and request the ones at the end of the hallway so you don't get much tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernesto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel has a fun decor and the location is very convenient. The breakfast at the hotel was pretty plain and not interesting...the worst part was we could not bring in our friends to our room at night for drinks since they assumed that our friends would stay over and that would require extra charge...very disappointed....there are much better hotels around that area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sagicaprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five days and loved the welcoming of the team at the reception and they were so helpful. The rooms are spacious with confi beds and nice bathroom.
Can be a bit noisy because of location but you can ask for a room at the back( we had to change room as those facing the main street are too noisy).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Postatavola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I booked this hotel because we got such a fantastic rate on Expedia for a last minute trip from NYC. Yes, we were just there for the holidays but the pesky polar vortex was not going away and I had to thaw my insides for a few days. I knew what to expect as I had walked by this red hotel many times on pervious stays. Here are my thoughts below which you are now privy to:

Check in- the staff here is lovely! Check in was easy breezy. I requested a quiet room, they accommodated. Told me if it was loud they would change us. Noise was never a factor. They had neon bracelets for us to wear. It didn’t match my outfits so they said I didn’t have to wear it but just show it at breakfast. They greeted us every time we went in and out of the hotel. Can’t say anything bad about the staff at all. I loved them!

Rooms- so red and dark! It was vampire chic. Room was a good size and clean. Bed was comfortable and we had a nice little balcony. Negatives – there was a very small closet and a few hangers. Absolutely no drawers at all. Made no sense. We hung what we could and left the rest in the luggage. The showers were horrible- out of the 5 days we were there, had hot water for 2 of them. The mini bar had a few items but was mostly empty so we stocked it with our own good. Oh the lighting! Or lack thereof. Perfect place to sleep in hung over but not so much so if you actually want to see the sunlight.

Location- not on the beach but so wonderfully close by. The best beach club by far is Canibal Royal. Chill vibe, good music and great food. Get there early to get chairs up front. The beach has definitely eroded since a year ago- lots of rain in 2013- but enough chairs to lounge if you get there by 11 am. Tons of great local restaurants nearby.

Food- our rate included breakfast. We had it the first day but never again. I am vegan and all they had was a small plate of fruit. BF had eggs but it was nothing special. Much better, healthier options you can grab while walking to the beach. Also the music during breakfast was so excessively LOUD, made for a not so relaxing morning. The positive was that the restaurant is open air and you can sit and watch people go by.

Overall, I would stay here for another quick trip (not so great for a longer stay). It was perfect for a weekend getaway and the price was so low it would have cost me money NOT to go on vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReinaRojaHotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Roxxygirl,
Thank you for such a complete feedback about our hotel, in Reina Roja we work hard to exceed your expectations, first of all, our staff work together to keep the concept and the style as something unique and chic. Second of all we want to apologize because we didn’t have the room facilities you were looking for, by the time we are remodeling our complex so there is an excuse to visit us for a longer stay and check out our improvements.
Sincerely,
Nimbe Velazquez
Sales and Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Friendly staff, comfy beds, nice bathroom products, fun decor, a great location and great food! I really liked this hotel and would recommend it to any couple of group or friends staying in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReinaRojaHotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Jennyelise
We love to hear you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our perfect location next to the 5th avenue. Thank you for your excellent feedback and be sure we will be more than glad to host your next visit to Playa del Carmen.
Sincerely,
Nimbe Velazquez
Sales and Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

All guests have to wear a tacky neon-yellow plastic wristband throughout their stay. I found that mildly insulting. It's not like this is an all-drinks-included resort that needs to separate customers from not. I'm deducting one point for this.

The wifi works, the breakfast tasty, and parking is free. The decor is very unique and fun, but some light fixtures in the room are for show only apparently. Even the staff doesn't know which switches can turn all of them on. Not a big issue but it's indicative strange that some things here and there are left unfinished -- the stairway to the parking lot, for example.

We stayed on the top floor and you can hear music from the roof at night but not so loud to become bothersome. The soundproofing works fine. But then again the hotel didn't seem very occupied in late February. Not sure if that's normal.

The bathroom is large and spacious. Rain shower worked great.

Location-wise, it's quite perfect. Steps away from the main drag but not in it. Easy access even if you drive there. 10 min walk to the beach. Restaurants galore all over.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReinaRojaHotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear BlueWhirl
In Reina Roja Hotel We are very committed to assist our Guests with an exceptional service. Reports like yours are necessary to improve and maintain our standards. We want to express our apologies if your expectations were not well fulfilled in this occasion. As right now we are remodeling partially the hotel we extend you a kindly invitation to contact directly our reservations department in order to make arrangements with us for a future with special requests

Sincerely,
Nimbe Velazquez
Sales and Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel was quirky and fun. As a 27 year old couple with no kids it was perfect. fun and eclectic hotel. NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY

bed was nice, room was clean and large. nice balcony, staff was helpful and friendly
would definitely recommend to young couples, rooftop pool is awesome

the shower was impossible to maintain temperature (only negative)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReinaRojaHotel, Gerente at Reina Roja Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear matt s
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed you stay in Reina Roja Hotel as you said our hotel is directed to couples who are looking for a vacation away from the city. Reina Roja hotel´s mission is to make you feel comfortable like if you were at home. Please receive our apologies about the problems you had with the shower. We will be happy to welcome you again if you choose our hotel for a second time in the future.
Sincerely,
Nimbe Velazquez
Sales and Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
#53 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#103 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
223 reviews
0 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#46 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#38 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
634 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reina Roja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reina Roja Hotel

Address: Calle 20 No 128 | entre 5a v. y 10 Av., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reina Roja Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reina Roja is located in the quiet tourist district called by the Maya Xeman Ha, now known as Playa del Carmen on the Yucatan Peninsula.Experimental architecture that plays with the limits of conventional make your stay a unique and special.The red light and its properties are a constant element that is present in every corner of Reina Roja; this vital color symbolizes life, movement and activity.We invite you to explore the original accommodations, fun, and haute cuisine that Reina Roja has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Reina Roja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reina Roja Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing