We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location was Perfect”
Courtyard and Pool View from Living Room Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard and Pool View from Living Room Balcony
Courtyard at Sunset Private Rooftop Terrace for Just You and Your Guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Courtyard and Pool View from Living Room Balcony
Courtyard at Sunset
Private Rooftop Terrace for Just You and Your Guests
Your Own Private 6 Person Jacuzzzi
Rooftop View - Eye Level
Rooftop at Night
Rooftop Coach for the Perfect Siesta !
Dining Area and Kitchen
Kitchen - Fully Equipped
Plenty of Open Space
Living Room and Balcony Overlooking Pool
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom - Two Twins or One King
Master Bedroom Bath
Building Exterior - Calle 12 entre AV 10 y 15
Aerial View of Casa Dorothea Private Roof Top in its Quiet Corner of the Complex
Your Closest Beach
Relaxing at the Beach
Enjoying some Beers at 'Bad Boy' Beach Bar
Your Closest Beach Club ... End of Calle 12
Cruise Ship Coming into Playa
Enjoying a Nice Dinner at Manne's German Restaurant
Enjoy a Local Circus during the Spring Months
Colorful Local Building
Close-by Restaurant for a Great Breakfast (Av 10 y Calle 10)
Shopping Locally at DAC for Fresh Vegtables
One of the Last Old Money Exchanges in Town
Oldest Church in Playa - Close to Ferry Pier
Sunrise in Playa
Sunset in Playa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc N
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location was Perfect”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The owners were absolutely amazing and made this trip so much easier. Ron and Crystal supplied with with all the information I needed to help in planning, check in, and etc. They were also available for questions during our stay. The location, is within easy walking distance to the ADO bus stations, beaches and 5th ave. It is also just far enough away from 5th ave so you don't have to deal with the any noise if you have kids with you, which we did. The accomodations were great to. Plenty of space, plus an awesome rooftop which we used to grill out a couple nights. If I ever go back and stay in Playa, I couldn't imagine staying in a better place. So much better then a hotel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEWESTSE...
Esterhazy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Ron & Crystal you did it again!! You made our Home Away from Home the BEST Vacation! This was our 3rd time staying at Casa Dorathea and would not want to stay at any other!! The booking process is very easy and we were well taken care of once again!! The first day we got to the Condo there was a basket full of FRESH Fruit and a few cold beverages in the fridge, as the previous times!! I'm also very happy to see our shooter glasses that we have left from the 1st year are still there!! The Condo is in such a great location, close to Wal-Mart or Mega Mart and steps away to the main part of 5th Ave and the beach!! The private roof-top is a great way to relax with a cold water jucuzzi and a 3rd toilet and shower!! The roof-top is such an asset, as the friends we have met over the years were able to come and have a few cold beverages on our roof-top!! This place just feels so much like home! Thanks again Ron & Crystal, we will be planning our 4th round for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice to have the private terrace upstairs for more space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pwiltse
Westerose, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I rented Casa Dorothea for most of the month of February 2015 and loved it so much that I have already signed on for 2016,
This condo is within a short walking distance to Walmart and Mega. It is one block from 5th avenue and so close to my favourite bars and restaurants. It is well equipped even down to spices in the cupboard....no need to have to go out and purchase the little things.
The real gem is the roof top patio! You are going to love it! It's so spacious, private and beautiful...we practically lived up there.
Another bonus is the condo owners. They are very involved and take pride in their property. I met them for coffee on day and lunch another. If I had any issues I could text Ron and the problem was fixed immediately. I almost hated to write a review so that I could keep this little gem to myself but these owners are such a wonderful couple I had to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof top patio and location
Liked least: The twin beds
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“rest and relaxation is alway a must in Playa”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have gone to Playa Del Carmen for a few years now and stay at the same location. Super people to rent from. They always share good tips on travel, and eating locations. We have tried the majority of the eating establishment and added a few more. Location is located to where we can walk to take a taxi. Close to the beach and everything else.

Always make the trip to Manny's for prime rib, its a must, this tip came from our property
owner...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quietness
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayfaring...
St. Paul MN
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“CASA DOROTHEA at Playa Kaan in Playa del Carmen, QR, Mexico”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This condo is on the third and fourth floor inside the Playa Kaan complex.
We took USA Transfer and our two friends from Canada took the ADO bus from the CUN airport. They had no problem with the bus, which has a depot an 5th Avenue. Although this was our first time at Casa Dorothea, we had to help our shuttle driver get to Playa Kaan; luckily, I had studied the map online.
We entered, learned how to get our keys, and went past the pool, up the steps, and into the condo. It was exactly as pictured, and we had beer and pop in the ‘fridge, and fruit on the counter. We checked out our private rooftop area, and we would enjoy eating and card playing up there our entire stay. Lots of colorful birds visited us to have their pictures taken. The sleeping accommodations were separated enough in the condo to give quiet rest. Though we were a block and a half from 5th Avenue, we had no noise at night from any club. The only thing we didn’t see were Ron and Crystal, who are mentioned in every other review we have read. They were not in town at the time we were there.
The walk to Walmart was easy, and there is an OXXO store just around the corner for quick item purchases. We walked around the ‘non-tourist’ areas of PdC as well. We have been coming to PdC for several years, but this is the first time we have stayed this far north in town. We quickly learned to eat some meals on 10th instead of 5th, where the locals eat; the food is good, and much cheaper than tourist prices on 5th.
We stayed 9 days, and the cleaning staff did come through the condo and completely cleaned. The unit is excellent as long as you can go up and down 33 steps.
We cannot speak to use of the beach, as we went to other properties after we left Casa Dorothea, and had plenty of beach time there. We hope to stay at Casa Dorothea next year, and get to meet Ron & Crystal!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 1. Clean 2. Many amenities 3. Great location 4. Plenty of room in the condo
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THEWESTSE...
Esterhazy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could not ask for better!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ron & Crystal you did it again!! You made our Home Away from Home the BEST Vacation! This was our 3rd time staying at Casa Dorathea and would not want to stay at any other!! The booking process is very easy and we were well taken care of once again!! The first day we got to the Condo there was a basket full of FRESH Fruit and a few cold beverages in the fridge, as the previous times!! I'm also very happy to see our shooter glasses that we have left from the 1st year are still there!! The Condo is in such a great location, close to Wal-Mart or Mega Mart and steps away to the main part of 5th Ave and the beach!! The private roof-top is a great way to relax with a cold water jucuzzi and a 3rd toilet and shower!! The roof-top is such an asset, as the friends we have met over the years were able to come and have a few cold beverages on our roof-top!! This place just feels so much like home! Thanks again Ron & Crystal, we will be planning our 4th round for next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISD1961
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like Home!”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Ron and Crystal's property for 12 days together with another couple - very close friends. The apartment is beautifully arranged and perfectly located with easy access to the beach and all good restaurants and bars. The nearby located Wall Mart and Mega are very convenient for grocery shopping. The apartment have good speed Wi-Fi and telephone as well as a roof terrace with spa, BBQ, toilet and shower - we could not find anything amiss. The apartment is extremely well maintained by Vimex and we will definitely be going back. The most important feature, though, is Ron and Crystal's hospitality and friendly advice - thank you, guys. Our stay could have not been better!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing