We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza by Phocea
Ranked #189 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 26 February 2014

If you are looking for a place to sleep with out much comfort this place would be fine. There is nothing special about the hotel, it is just convenient t to the dive shop and the beach. However, staff are friendly and it is in a convenient location.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaPhocea, Gerente at Hotel Plaza by Phocea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thanks for your comment, it helps us improve our services. Sure it is not a luxury hotel but we try to do the best in order to satisfy our clients. I am glad you appreciated it. See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here for 17 nights. It's a nice basic hotel, if you look at the price/quality-ratio for the location. Very close to the beach, nightclubs, restaurants and the big 5th Avenue. Bright and clean room, with basic equipment (AC, roof-fan, fridge, lcd-tv with cable, and a safe). But I didn't feel insecure there, even left the balcony door open a couple of times at day and night. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The only complaint I really have is the noise from the nightclubs that keeps on til 4-5 in the morning. Hard to get a good night sleep if you plan a dive 7.30 in the morning. The hotel provides a pair of earplugs. But if you want to be close to these things I guess this is the price you pay.
The hotel don't have a restaurant or bar, but there is a another company in the same building that provides has a restaurant, bar and a pizza-place, and there is also in the building a convenient store. So you can get breakfast, lunch, dinner, a beer, or even a late night snack.

I can recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: I stayed in 311 and it's at the 3'd floor along the 1st Avenue, no ocean view (no ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N_Sageland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaPhocea, Gerente at Hotel Plaza by Phocea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Mr Sageland thank you so much for your coments about the Hotel. We are glad you spend a nice stay with us. Regarding the noise we do our best to eliminate the problem. Thanks again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed just over a week in this hotel for Christmas and New Year and although it is a simple hotel the atmosphere created by the staff was simply fantastic! There was a little bit of noise due to some renovations but will be exciting to see it all done up in our next diving trip to playa del Carmen! The diving centre opposite the hotel is part of it and the guys are great, really friendly and make sure you ask them for tips on the best bars and restaurants in the area they know the coolest ones! Plus the hotel is about 2 mns from the beach and just off the Quinta (main high street) so an ideal location. All in all really happy with the service so thanks Hotel Plaza!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Anthonylancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaPhocea, Gerente at Hotel Plaza by Phocea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thanks Anthony for this great opinion. We are happy you spend a nice stay with us. We hope to see you again very quickly. Renovations are not finished, we are always improving our services and equipments so that our clients spend the most enjoyable stay. See you soon at the Hotel Plaza by Phocea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We picked this hotel because of the positive reviews of Phocea dive centre and it being right across makes it really convenient for my husband who is a dive enthusiaste.On arriving after a long day of travel around 7pm, no smiles at reception and were asked to pay the total booking of 3 days upfront in only cash . Felt slightly peeved by the blunt manner in which we were received, but we let it passed as after one tiring day of travel we couldn't wait to get to the room. On arriving on our floor, we found our room door wide opened, which is rather unusual. There was a smell of paint and pairs of air-plugs next to the bed, the few pathetic pieces of furniture there were looked like 'salvation army' quality.There was no Wi-fi except on the reception floor. I checked the towels and they were both stained, so went down and got that changed, so no big issue there. As it is located in the heart of PDC, the noise from the neighbouring pubs and clubs can be disturbing....We have to close the balcony doors and have the aircon turned on or the room would be too stuffy. The beds were set up with just one layer of thin bedsheet as cover, no bedspread nor blankets( nothing like the better pictures I saw prior to booking this hotel). My husband caught a cold because of this and was unwell for several days after. There was a lapse in the morning when water was cut off. So again down and up 3 flrs to point out the problem. Someone forgot to get the pump working??? When we approached the reception on the subject of 'blanket' or bed cover, she fended a look of surprise that there isn't any in our room, went to the store and brought out a folded bundle that 'looks' like bedspread. On reaching our room, we realised she had handed us one folded curtain! How ridiculous can this get??? Again up down 3 flrs to get that sorted out. On the 2nd night , the 'fresh towels' again had stains on them, 'blood and urine'???yellowish and dried blood stains... Went down to reception and tried to get them replaced and there was only a night shift guard with the most hostile look ' like he is guarding a prison'. Claimed that he did not have access to the store can't do anything abt it as it is too late. Too late to change "fresh" but badly stain towels??? We were not expecting Hilton nor Hyatt ,we wanted a basic but clean hotel close to the dive center, not a rat hole for nearly US$140 a night !!!! Please go elsewhere, there were a lot more better options, our erreur was, thinking that it was owned by Phocea Dive, it must be a well managed hotel even though basic, as there were a lot positive feedback on their well managed dive operations....... were we WRONG...........they should just appoint someone more COMPETENT for the job of running a HOTEL !!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bambou971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaPhocea, Gerente at Hotel Plaza by Phocea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience, it is important for us. I am so sorry about what happened during your stay, it is unusual. My priority is to deal with these problems so that this situation does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A really nice hotel with a good price-quality ratio, well situated, between the beach and the 5th with shops and restaurants. Our room was quite large, with 2 double beds, TV, A/C, fridge. It is a friendly hotel, no luxury, just simplicity. The most important : our room was really clean, every day. For divers, there is a dive center just front of the hotel, a really good experience ! We will come back to the Hotel Plaza !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaPhocea, Gérant at Hotel Plaza by Phocea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Hola Lisa, Thanks a lot, we are happy you spend a good stay with us. See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hotel Plaza is conveniently located for the beach, "The Gym", Phocea dive centre, 5th Avenue and the booming nightclubs on 12th.

The hotel is clean with good size rooms, free wifi in the lobby, a small shop on site and a small restaurant and bar attached to the front. The best rates can be had when booking a dive package through Phocea directly opposite. However we paid 600 pesos per night,Munich was still good value for money.

The only criticism I have is that the noise from the clubs on 12th penetrate the rooms somewhat, although the hotel do try to alleviate this by having two sets of doors with double glazing leading to the balconies.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the hotel will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvertonBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a great place to crash. Jose the manager is just great and the rooms are spacious but nothing special-the huge point is that you are in the middle of everything for a fraction of what other hotels charge-a great deal for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: ask for the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eclipse
Hotel Eclipse
#158 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#113 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
237 reviews
0 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#108 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#119 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#145 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#154 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza by Phocea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza by Phocea

Address: Calle 10 Entre 1era y Quinta, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £74 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Plaza by Phocea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to spend your vacations in heaven?Then come and visit us at the Plaza Phocea Hotel where you will be able to have a rest and relax!The Plaza Phocea Hotel offers a pleasant and cosy atmosphere in a typical Caribbean style, between the beach and the 5th avenue (shops and restaurants). The charming comfortable rooms will make you feel at home immediately.The hotel has 30 recently renovated and decorated rooms equipped with 2 double beds, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, bathroom, safety deposit box, TV and mini-bar. Some of the rooms are ideal for families as they have 3 double beds and a kitchenette. Rooms have a private terrace or direct access to the interior hotel patio, a refuge from the heat, where you can have a rest.The Plaza Phocea hotel is the ideal place to relax in a quiet, laid-back atmosphere after a diving experience in the turquoise-blue Caribbean Sea.An experience you will undoubtedly love ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza by Phocea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza By Phocea Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing