We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Plaza Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Playa
Ranked #66 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

Not on the 5th avenue, the hotel thus avoids the excessive noise of the tourist crowd. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the amenities like wifi, free bottles of water, enormously large windows which let in the fresh evening breeze and the proximity to a large grocery store make it a great choice for the traveler.

The doors are somewhat thin though, as sound from the floor lobby easily passes through - never a good thing in the morning when families with screaming kids pass through.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faisaltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    204
    54
    5
    4
See reviews for
111
232
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Hotel Plaza Playa is a lovely place to stay. The entire hotel is very clean, modern and minimalistic style. The rooms are basic but very clean and fresh, with fantastic en-suite and awesome shower.
The breakfast is also fantastic, with a different selection of hot food everyday, plenty of fresh fruit and lots of tea and coffee.
The location is set back from the main area so it's nice and quiet, but an easy 10 minute walk to the main shops/restaurants/bars and beach.

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel; definitely recommend anyone stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The room and the all hotel are very clean, the personnel is friendly and profi. The breakfast is delicious, and more than enough :) The center is enough close (5-7 minutes only by walk), so the hotel area is very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Koka888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 6 weeks!! It was so clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was a great base for our activities on the Mayan Riviera. I highly recommend this place for long or short stays you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vidalocca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The most important thing was that the hotel was very clean. The room was large and the three of us fit there very comfortably. The staff was very friendly and helped us a lot with directions, top sites to see and food options. The breakfast every morning was delicious. All home made Mexican fare as well as cereal, fruits, yogurt. The family that runs the hotel were very warm and made us feel like we had a home not just a hotel.
It was just a 10 minute walk to the beach which honestly felt like nothing at all because it was a really nice walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank uanand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Here's the deal: it's no fancy, beautiful hacienda, BUT talk about affordable and convenient. I went to Playa Del Carmen Mexico for the BPM music festival, which is one of the most popular events in the area, and we had a hard time finding ANY hotel availability, never mind deals. Hotel Plaza Playa is not loaded with amenities and it is far from scenic or dreamy, but it has what you need at an amazing rate. We booked on hotels.com for about $50 a night, during the most popular nights of the festival!!

PROS: clean (towels, sheets, overall room), walking distance from prime party area (approx 10 blocks or so), friendly staff (extremely helpful, and bilingual), internet (not best connection, but fairly consistent), around the block from THE BEST taco spot "El Fagon" (recommended by all the locals) as well as La Mega (like Wal-Mart), elevator, close to public transport, balconies in most rooms (for smokers), plenty of parking, easy going staff (not all up in your business, trying to charge you for visitors (like hotels on the strip do), and generally safe (two single girls in our party, never had any issues walking alone late night).

CONS: WORST shower I have ever had in my life (requires some kind of secret code of mechanics in order to get hot water), no safe, no room phones, no pool, no amenities, and construction going on across the street (while we were there). Also lengthy walk to beach, and everything scenic.

If you are looking for a place to keep your stuff safe, and only utilize the room for sleeping and preparing to party then this is your best bet. It's not far from the strip, plenty of convenient shopping and transport, and best of all the price is low as can be for an area that is starting to bang out tourists for every single convenience.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a beverage refrigerator, might have to ask for it. Also, some rooms only have one be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PinkNeve31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
130 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed one night here on business in early January. Mid priced hotel, clean rooms, good shower, comfortable beds. Included breakfast was good, with good choice and quantity. Only annoyance was that the wireless internet signal was only available in public areas of the hotel not in the rooms, meaning that to work, I had to lurk around the area near the elevators... which had seating, presumably for that purpose. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El-Yuca-Ingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#37 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#69 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#73 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#89 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#86 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Playa

Property: Hotel Plaza Playa
Address: Av 20 entre 25 y 30 | Col. Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77099, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is run by its owner, Sigfrido Paz Paredes, and has been completely decorated with the artwork of his wife, Raquel Marrero, whose work has become so popular that she will be opening a studio soon in Playa del Carmen. The hotel is not on the beach, nor does it have a pool. Our hotel is for people looking for something different. Affordable and friendly accommodations in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing