We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than expected!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Playa
Ranked #63 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way better than expected!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Plaza Playa for near a month and I have to sy, it was a great base. Cheap and cheerful, staff were fantastic and ha the option of a mini buffet breakfast every morning. About a 10 minute walk to the beach, which I walked most mornings after breakfast. About 20 minutes from the collectivo station where you can go from Cancun to Tulum! It will be a great hotel for people travelling on a budget but still want to be close to the action. I'll be visiting there again soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlaaaaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    208
    54
    5
    4
See reviews for
112
236
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, BC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I have to preface by saying that I think we got upgraded to a suite simply due to luck of the draw, so my review may be biased by the fact I literally got more than I paid for. I couldn't believe what I saw when I walked in the room! It was huge! We had three balconies, a set of couches as well as a small dining table and chairs. The king bed was very comfortable. For the price (which was just over $50 including all taxes, fees and breakfast) I don't believe I've ever had a better value room in all of my travels. I was almost sad that we were only staying there one night!

The breakfast buffet was well worth the money. When booking, I chose the "with breakfast" option because it was only something like $7 more. I wasn't expecting much as it said "continental" somewhere... but I figured even if it was just toast and juice it still was a fair price for the room overall. Instead there's hot food, pastries, a choice of juices and a nice yogurt and granola bowl.

For us, location wasn't an issue. We were at the end of our vacation and our house in Akumal wasn't available for the last night of our trip, so we just needed a room to get us through the night before the airport. We had a rental car, so a priority for us was parking, which this hotel had. However, for those that are in Playa to enjoy the beach or 5th ave shopping, the location may not be ideal. Its not too bad though. We had a < 2 year old baby plus two 60+ seniors in our party of 5 and we still managed the walking. Taxis are readily available but we didn't bother. So its not a particularly bad location either.

The front desk woman (I didn't get her name unfortunately) was exceptionally helpful and friendly. She got us checked in early because our baby needed a nap (that may have been why we got the suite?) and was very good at giving us directions to nearby things we needed (food, shopping, etc). I briefly met the manager (owner?) during breakfast and he seemed very nice as well, with a "whatever makes your stay pleasant" kind of attitude. All the cleaning staff had smiles on their faces when passing. Nothing bad to say about anyone there!

Free wifi worked well in the common areas. Not so well in our room, but we were at the very far end.

If I ever get back that way, I'll stay there again without hesitation!

Room Tip: Room 17 is easily their best room if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeeeeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed with my wife in this hotel for 3 days in May 2013. Playa Plaza hotel is a very nice budget hotel, functional and complete value for money.

I can highlight a few positives:

1. Close to 5th avenue and the beach. You can walk to Cozumel ferry station as well
2. Convenience stores (incl. Walmart) are close
3. Just a block from Walmart (30th Avenue), you will find ATMs for HSBC and Santander bank
4. ADO bus station is a 10 mins walk
5. Free parking space in front of hotel (a big plus if you wish to rent the car, which is highly recommended. Use easyway rental car. Very professional and they even delivered the car to hotel premises)

The room was very spacious and has lots of closet space. The only thing, I expected (and was missing) was a electric kettle for boiling water. But nothing, to complain about.

I would definitely recommend the hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustBugK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is walking distance to the beach and 5th Avenue which is the main tourist area. The Chedraui (huge supermarket) more or less a Walmart is across the street. The rooms were nice and clean and the AC was great! Cable TV and a breakfast buffet (not a casino style buffet obviously, fruit, coffee, fresh juice, pastries, and a few hot items) for 50 pesos! This place is practical for those traveling! I Absolutely recommend staying here! Also some rooms have a balcony! The hotel is very modern in appearance, forget about when it may have been built, it's like new! The shower was great! Safe in room! Enjoy Yourself!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1trackrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is very nice. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. It had a good TV ( we could watch the USA-Mexico futbol match) and has as in-room safe. Large closet area. Air conditioning worked well for when we wanted it. Our room had a good sized bathroom and a large shower area.

The view from the balcony is not great, but it is in a good location with many popular restaurants in the vicinity. It is about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the beach. I was happy to be away from the touristy area, what a zoo Playa is. It is also very close to the ADO station. My bag was getting heavy and I needed a taxi to get there, only 20 pesos.

Others have commented on noise, but I think this is just a matter of bad luck. We stayed four nights and were not bothered by noise at all.

I would have liked a mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This was hotel was clean and just blocks from the beach. The price was good and it included a breakfast and parking. However, we slept terribly because of the noise. There was music and talking until the early hours of the morning. After the music finally stopped we could hear talking and sometimes yelling from people in the halls. The walls are very thin and you can hear everything. If we would have brought ear plugs, this experience would have been much better.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This hotel was great. Our room was not the most comfortable but super clean and very affordable. AC worked great and it was within walking distance from lots of stuff. The staff was very helpful and courteous and there was easy parking for our rental.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnavarro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Armando M, Manager at Hotel Plaza Playa, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you very much for your kind opinion about your stay at the PLAZA PLAYA. Hope to be of serve to you again in the future. Greetings from Playa del Carmen; Heart of the Riviera Maya!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#34 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#70 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#93 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#120 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#184 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
One Playa Del Carmen
One Playa Del Carmen
#74 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Playa

Property: Hotel Plaza Playa
Address: Av 20 entre 25 y 30 | Col. Gonzalo Guerrero, Playa del Carmen 77099, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is run by its owner, Sigfrido Paz Paredes, and has been completely decorated with the artwork of his wife, Raquel Marrero, whose work has become so popular that she will be opening a studio soon in Playa del Carmen. The hotel is not on the beach, nor does it have a pool. Our hotel is for people looking for something different. Affordable and friendly accommodations in Playa del Carmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing