We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for timeshare racket and rampant dishonesty!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #167 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Watch out for timeshare racket and rampant dishonesty!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My family and I have been traveling to Playa del Carmen every year since 2006 and we love all things about Playa. In August 2011, we went to a timeshare presentation at Aldea Thai. The hotel itself appears to be beautiful and is in a great part of Playa. As a result, we were excited - as it turns out, we were foolish - when the sales person at Aldea Thai offered us a great price on a "resale" to assume the final set of payments for a widow who currently owns 4 fixed weeks at Aldea Thai. We signed the paperwork and, over the next few days, we were constantly checking our email to get our membership information so we could book a Thanksgiving stay at Aldea Thai.

A week or so later, while we were still in Mexico, we received an email containing information about a Gold Crown Resort membership, which is apparently what we had been sold. As a previous reviewer mentioned, we could not find Aldea Thai on the Gold Crown Resort Website, at which time we went back to Aldea Thai to confront the folks who sold us our membership. After making a total of 4 in-person visits to Aldea Thai over the span of 2 days, during which time we were told a bunch of bold-faced lies by 4 different representatives of the hotel (including promises of a free Thanksgiving week stay at the hotel), we were finally told that we did not actually have any access to make reservations at the hotel. Even though we should have been more careful about accepting an offer which seemed too good to be true, the depth and breadth of the lies we were told during our numerous interactions with the folks at the hotel should serve as a strong word of caution for anyone who wants to buy or stay at the hotel. PLEASE BE VERY, VERY CAREFUL AND WARY!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tyduval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    90
    59
    36
    78
See reviews for
76
119
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placencia, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Our first room had a dead rat sort of smell that seemed to be coming from the a.c vents.Called for someone to come and check, waited for half an hour, then called again. Eventually a maintenance guy shows up with a plunger! He looks around cannot find anything. We also tell him about slime in the plunge pool. He then finds a plastic bag of rotting fish in the pool 's pump cupboard!! They also don't clean the pool veranda area either as there are cigarette butts and dried tea bags lying around. We continue to complain until they move us to another room. This other room still has a smell coming from the a.c, but we are too tired to make a fuss so we just cover our heads under the sheets and try to sleep. The next morning we decide to take a plunge in our pool, and there is dried vomit all over the ledge and side of the pool! Also more dried tea bags and cigarette butts! When we called to complain again, they kept saying they would send someone, but didn't, so we took photos and took it down to the front desk. They smiled and politely told us that it was not their fault, and condos were cleaned by different companies, and they would see what they could do! They took a day to sweep up the deck, then another day to clean. Or wipe off the dried vomit on the ledge of the pool, but left the side with it still stuck on !! We complained but to no avail, not even a discount, up-grade or refund was offered! Un believable! Even the tickets for free beach chairs and discounts on food and drinks at the beach club did not work, we still had to pay for everything on the beach too, !!
We even bought plug in air fresheners for the rooms and left them there! ,hopefully the next person to rent that room will find it fresher! Would never stay ther again, poor customer service, it's like once they took your money they didn't,t care if you were satisfied or not!
I feel bad for the actual condo owners because they are not keeping up the standard for what they must have paid for it.

Room Tip: Generic zen, minimalist looking room with bad smell coming from a.c vents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Niagara Falls, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great location, unbelievable rooms and ocean views, right off fifth and right on mamitas beach. worth every penny! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hortiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We really loved our stay in this hotel. It is located just steps from the beautiful Playa Mamitas and a few blocks from the 5ta Avenida, close enough to walk there and get access to all the different options to shop, dine and party but far enough to enjoy a peaceful and silent night sleep. Hotel rooms are really nice and include a full kitchenette which is a great bonus in a place like Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Had an 8 night stay at the Hotel for First Time. Our First impression was really good,since everything looks amazing once you Go up The stairways.
The ambiance is really calm and you get a good sense of it right away.

Things Get bad at night. The music is louds at The beach clubs and The hallways are very echo.

Clean is one good thing.
Location is Ok.
Service is just Ok. Mexico style!
Rooms are very Nice. Go for The rooms with pools!

Clean clean clean.....nothing bad to say.

The site is beautiful. The pool is very Nice and you also Get an amzing breakfast at The Cool beach club!

Poooooor on AC. It works one Day and not The next!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

First impression of this hotel was - ohhh, it looks so beautiful. At the check in we were upgraded to nice room with living room, terrace and private pool. That far we were so happy. We notice AC doesn't work, notice on the table informed, that there wont be AC until 6pm. Ok, 6 past, 7, 8 ...still no air. 12am...nothing. Contacted front desk, maintenance guys came twice - still no air. We were offered to change the room, but, what a surprise, there is no AC also in other room!!!!! And we weren't only guests with this issue. Finlay, we moved 3rd time and then AC was ok, but very loud, but you can live with it - better then 85F:).
Our safe was not possible twice - but maintenance came quick and resolve it. The same problem with door:(. And light in the bathroom and so on.
It seems, that management tries to keep this place upscale, it even looks so, but there is so many issues, that next time we would stay somewhere else.
Front desk was always very accommodating and king - great guys.
Hotel is close to beach, but there is not hotel beach chairs, you need to rent it from Beach club Mamitas or Kool - but those places are crowded.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dacens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

What I liked: large, well-appointed rooms, very nice grounds with beautiful pools. Very clean. Nice kitchen in the room.

What I didn't like so much: service was friendly but uneven. Cheap toilet seat broke and they weren't going to replace it until a day later--we had to insist because we had no toilet seat to sit on. One wing of hotel did not have hot water. We ran out of toilet paper and it took a while to get more. Noise travels effortlessly between connected rooms (rooms where a door could be opened up so that it is a two-room accommodation).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
#123 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,844 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#97 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#19 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
#146 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Property: Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Address: Mza. 81 Av. Cozumel Lt. 1 | Entre 26 y 28. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A door to modern luxury, The Thai is a high class condohotel where the sophistication of the Thai-Balinese spirit blends with the laid back soul of the Mexican Caribbean. The creative design of The Thai is constituted of a giant swimming pool, thatched roofs, Asian-fashion decor and outdoor pool fountains while built in commercial venues such as a restaurant and a fitness center added to the comfortable feel of the property. The magnificent suites of Aldea Thai integrate a great number of conveniences such as deluxe furnishings and hi-tech features. Facing the most notorious, sandy beach of Playa del Carmen, The Thai embraces stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the fun environment of Mamitas Beach Club. All of what Aldea Thai has to offer will turn your vacation at the Riviera Maya into an unforgettable experience to enjoy the best of every world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing