We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La divina Thai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #167 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Hermosa Beach Ca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“La divina Thai”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I didn't see reviews for this part of Aldea.
We are staying at La Divina.
Incredible studio w kitchen area. Well appointed, going to go home and try to copy. Didn't hang in pool area, looks nice, so much to to in town, and beach, everything walking distance.
We were worried after reading reviews for Aldea.
We are not on construction side (rm 301a) can here music from clubs if door open, sounds like fun without having to join. Quiet w/ door closed.
Next time in Playa Del Carmen, this would be our choice.
We are our 20th anniversary of 35 years of age ;-D.
Being walking distance to the action is important to us. Great resorts down here, we like to be in the center of action ( even at our age) no worries about drinking and driving.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ttraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    90
    59
    36
    78
See reviews for
76
119
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very loud and constant noise. Cant seem to get away from the noise and relax a bit. There is a weights gym on the 1st floor that runs 6am-10pm with loud music and weights dropping - the noise reverberates through the hotel. Our room shook as weights drop. Pool and beach boom boom music start at noon daily. There are also a lot of loud restaurant/bars around the ground floor so you need to be prepared for that too.
As there are about 25 administrators problems dont get resolve. Expedia (we booked with) deflected our issues

Room Tip: stay away from the first floor rooms. stay away from south side rooms as there is construction next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

St Paul, MN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The good: LOCATION. You can't beat it, right by the beach and steps from 5th ave. However, there is MAJOR construction going on to the south side of the building. Unit 2212 faces the center and we did not hear any construction noise, we also had a view of the ocean. It felt secure. They make you wear bright orange wrist bands so they know you are staying there (we didn't care for the wrist bands though). The desk staff was always accommodating. They helped us find a barber and let us use the phone when we had difficulty dialing out from our room. The full kitchen was great and had the basics needed to cook a meal (coffee maker, blender, toaster, microwave, utensils, 2 wine glasses, plates, pans, and a few storage containers) There were 2 kitchen towels and dish soap provided. There were no condiments (no salt or pepper etc)

The not so good: The hotel is showing signs of age. The reflecting pool (not the main swimming pool) is in tough shape. The view from our balcony showed large spots where the bottom surface were eroding away (very ugly to look at). It took away from the beauty. It needs resurfacing in a big way.
The swimming pool doesn't have enough chairs. You need to get there early and put your towels out to save a chair. We never sat by the pool, we tried but ended up going to the beach instead. (recommend Kool's over Mamita's for sure)

This unit's master bedroom was interior so it didn't have a balcony or view which means the noise from the hallway is right outside where you're sleeping. It's also very dark in the master. There is a window to the interior courtyard but there is very low natural light and anybody walking by can see right into your bedroom, so we kept the curtain shut most of the time. The 2nd bedroom with 2 beds had the balcony and the view. It seems like the bedroom should have been swapped. The faucets were very rusty... must be from the salt in the air?? There were some minor issues like the handle on a bedroom drawer was falling off if you pulled on it. The towel rack and robe hook in the guestroom were very loose and falling off the wall. Also the cable seemed to come a go. It was there most of the time though.

The WiFi was so-so in the unit. There really wasn't any connection inside the bedrooms but the main living area there was a decent signal. If you wanted to surf with WiFi in bed you couldn't.

There is no fitness center but there is gym in the same building. They had some fun cross training classes going on and I was tempted to workout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in Estrella del Mar, Unit 128 for 2 weeks Feb 2012. We paid a premium for a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, ocean facing unit with a private plunge pool & 2 patios.

I knew there was construction going on in the area, as another unit the the building that we attempted to rent offered us a 50% discount due to construction right outside the unit.

North American Standards (NAS) the company representing our unit, didn't warn us of this, so we booked away!

Unfortuntatley on arrival we were met with a wall of construciton across the from our our unit. A new building is being constructed on the beach side, east view of the Aldea's south tower, as well as along the entire south side of the south tower.

While the building on the beach side was only up one storey at that time, our view was blocked by rebar poking up everywhere, and that fact that there were constantly hordes of construciton workers literally feet away from our patio.

What made if worse was that these people are very hard working. Construction started somewhere between 6:30 to 7:30am, every day for 2 weeks, except one Sunday, and continued until past 6:00 most evenings.

If you're a light sleeper like myself, no late morning sleep ins....

To add even more insult, our private plunge pool facing the ocean... well it was empty! Apparently it leaked in to the unit below at some point and was waiting for repair, for how long, who knows.

We also let management know that the shower in the 2nd bathroom had absolutely no pressure, it was almost unusable, and the thermostat for the main area didn't work properly. So by early morning you had icicles forming on your nose.

Other then these items, I have to say it was a lovely unit and we did quite enjoy our stay. It's literally steps to Mamita's Beach, the best in Playa and a stellar location steps from 5th Ave. & 28th.

Aldea overall is beautiful, just be sure to ask which tower your in & where you're facing. For now, the north tower facing the street that the main entrance is on, heading down to Mamita's, is safe, and the front of it overlooking Kool Beach Club is safe... though there's a big empty lot across from it!

Interior units facing the pool, and Penthouse units should be okay as well, though noise might be a concern anywhere on the south facing tower, south or east facing units.

Hope that helps! I wish I'd seen this info before booking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very large and clean condo with wonderful views. Noisy after 7:00am and goes until 7:oopm ... as a Hyatt Hotel is being built to the side of this condohotel. Staff was wonderful and our room was cleaned everyday. The location is excellent on the north end of playa. The beach (Momita)is 1 block away and is the best beach in Playa. Lots of restaurants are very walkable so a car is not needed. The Kool Club is directly in front of these condos and the music there can be a bit loud....but we were in the penthouse so the music didn't bother us. Five people can fit in this condo easily if you rent the 2 bedroom condo.....The hotel has a grand enterance with 2 sets of stairs going into it...but for those who don't or can't do stairs there is an elevator to the right of the stairs..took me a few days to find this;)

Room Tip: There is no restaurant at this location but there are plenty of restaurants close by. We took a cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked this apartment having been wowed by the pictures but were seriously disappointed. The first sign was the fact that despite being promised a local mobile phone and mineral water by BRIC rental, we had none of these things. The receptionist at Aldea Thai was also rude and couldn't answer any of our questions around this. What was worse was that we were then given bright orange wristbands - as if we were at a rock concert rather than paying an expensive rate for a penthouse apartment - because these informed the security guard we were staying at the hotel. We had to wear them at all times. I have never, ever experienced this at any hotel.

Once we got up to the penthouse, we saw a huge construction site in front of the apartment making the loudest din as it worked through the night. We couldn't sit on the beach in the day as construction was going on - and at no point had BRIC rental told us that this had happened.

We called our rep at BRIC, who then promised to find us another apartment (having tried to weasel out of it by saying that we had been told in advance) - all of which faced the construction site. It was a shame as it was a beautiful apartment, but we're really annoyed we weren't told about it, and had such a poor reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel in January, and really enjoyed it. Had trouble with our first room, as it was on the south side of the hotel - right next door to a huge construction site.
Rooms are nice and spacious. Kitchen has an electric stovetop, microwave, and toaster. No oven.
Location is great, a block from the beach, and two blocks from 5th avenue and shopping/night life.
We also had to wear a wristband to show we stayed in the hotel the whole time we were there.
Overall, I would recommend staying here as long as you can avoid the south side with the construction.
The hotel had a nice pool with a bar. No restaurant.
Private pools on the balcony were a nice touch, although we didn't use it since it was in the shade and not heated

Room Tip: Get a room away from the construction. Luxury suite and master suite were both large spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
#123 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,849 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#96 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
Magia Beachside Condo Hotel
#141 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Property: Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Address: Mza. 81 Av. Cozumel Lt. 1 | Entre 26 y 28. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A door to modern luxury, The Thai is a high class condohotel where the sophistication of the Thai-Balinese spirit blends with the laid back soul of the Mexican Caribbean. The creative design of The Thai is constituted of a giant swimming pool, thatched roofs, Asian-fashion decor and outdoor pool fountains while built in commercial venues such as a restaurant and a fitness center added to the comfortable feel of the property. The magnificent suites of Aldea Thai integrate a great number of conveniences such as deluxe furnishings and hi-tech features. Facing the most notorious, sandy beach of Playa del Carmen, The Thai embraces stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the fun environment of Mamitas Beach Club. All of what Aldea Thai has to offer will turn your vacation at the Riviera Maya into an unforgettable experience to enjoy the best of every world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing