We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aldea anxieties alleviated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #159 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Aldea anxieties alleviated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

After reading some negative reviews, I kept returning to my Orbitz confirmation to be sure we had the "junior suite," with kitchen, balcony, etc. Indeed, that's what we got. The 'condo-tel' is pretty quiet, which was nice. The room was huge. The only problem was a sort of musty smell in the bathroom, but it was not constant. The staff was very friendly, attentive. We didn't hang out much near the Aldea end of Avenida 5ta, preferring to use the Mosquito Beach club, which was fantastic. If we return, we might actually try the Mosquito Beach Hotel. The room would likely be smaller, but the location more convenient. Also, for any lgbt travelers considering Aldea's proximity to Wana Bana Bar, be advised that it closed in 2007. Playa 69 is the only specifically gay venue.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiFo_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    84
    60
    33
    74
See reviews for
72
113
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aquatine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

I had a great time at Aldea Thai. The location was perfect, right behind Kool Beach Club. We had a studio room, which I found to be quite spacious, with high ceilings and comfortable beds. The bathroom was very convenient with frosted glass doors on the shower and toilet, so you could be in the shower and another person could come in and use the toilet without bothering you. Staff was very friendly and gave us champagne on our arrival, and were quick to respond to any requests we had. We didn't have any problems with hot water, and were able to take long, hot showers. The housekeepers made towel animals (like on cruise ships) with flower petals on our beds on our second day there, which was cute. The pool is nice, and has a shallow section where you can lay out and sunbathe in the water.

We got a great price on orbitz.com, I don't think I've stayed anywhere as nice for what we paid. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our four night stay at Aldea Thai. I was a little anxious about my stay because of limited reviews and information, but all of those fears were alleviated once we arrived. We were greeted with a "hola" and two glasses of wine. Check in was a breeze and we were given the exact type of room we requested. The location is near perfect. The hotel sits directly in front of Mamitas Beach and is a quick walk to 5th avenue.

If you are looking to be pampered, this is not for you. However, if you appreciate a chic hotel that has nicely appointed and clean rooms then you will enjoy Aldea Thai. They have a few things that they can add that will definitely increase the appeal of this property. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly especially Karina and Gabriel. I loved the fact that we received personal greetings each time we arrived or left the hotel grounds. Also, the security out front is diligent in making sure that those who enter the hotel are guests or accompanied by guests. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browneyes208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

The location is great (right near the beach), staff is friendly, the grounds are beautiful and clean but the superior 4star room definitely not worth it!!! Room faces indoors (had to ask to switch 2 times to finally get some natural light. The first room we were shown faced a dark indoor corridor inside the lobby. The second one faced an indoor stairway. Window doesn't open so room feels kind of humid. The superior room is really an adjoining room to the suites they offer. Our room did not have many of the amenities they claim (hairdryer...) we even had to wait while they installed and drilled in the safe after we told them there wasn't one in our room. There was also a loud constant buzzing sound 24hours a day, not sure from where but quite annoying to sleep. The suites looked much better, had we known.
The Superior room truly not worth it!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariiamontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

washington dc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

We loved our stay at Aldea Thai. There weren't many reviews when we booked our stay on Orbitz ($124/night), but we decided to take a chance, and I am so glad we did! The hotel itself is beautiful, with obviously new construction and cool Asian touches everywhere. And it's perfectly situated: at the northern tip of the tourist area, 2 blocks off of 5th - close enough to walk to everything on 5th or even into town, but completely peaceful at night. We found the service to be extremely friendly, from the valets to the concierge to the front desk. Gabriel was particularly helpful (and he's always there - we wondered if management ever gives him a day off!).

We had only booked a King room (those are the small ones), but were graciously offered an upgrade to a larger double room with a pool view when we checked in. My only concern was the noise from the pool, but I needn't have worried - the window panes are so thick that you can't hear a peep from the outside, even when the pool bartender is playing music. The hotel has all the amenities that are so common in America but not always a given in a foreign country: free parking, free wireless, a hairdryer, etc. Our bathroom was large and we even had a little hallway area with lots of closet space. The hotel is less than a block from the beach, and the concierge can give you 50% off coupons for chairs and a palapa at Mamita's Beach Club (knocking the price down from 90 mx to 45 mx).

The criticisms we had were all small and easily fixable, and I'm confident that as the hotel matures, some or all of these will be addressed:

- In the bathroom: showers lack sufficient hot water (at full blast, you've got about 5 minutes), no shower soap is provided (just tiny facial soaps that work as hand soaps), and the sinks are more form than function (the previous reviewer was spot-on when he said the water gets all over the counter)

- At the pool: I get that they don't want a silent pool area, but techno music at 2 pm (particularly at the volume the bartender plays) isn't what most tourists are looking for. Frank Sinatra/Tony Bennett (or even American top 40) would be better, and at a lower volume so that people can nap or read peacefully if they wish. Also, beach towels would be a really nice addition so that guests don't have to re-use the bath towels (I think beach towels are included in the high-end rooms, but not the others).

- Not a grumble, just a suggestion: Even if a restaurant isn't possible, an onsite bar that would be available to guests in the evening would be a great addition. There's a beautiful lounge near check-in, but we didn't ever see anyone using it; we would have loved to grab drinks there before heading out for dinner. But of course, there are so many nearby bars and restaurants that the lack of one onsite is hardly a problem - it would just be nice to have.

Given those very minor complaints, I suppose this is technically a 4.5 star review rather than a 5 star. But given the amazing price we paid, I felt that Aldea Thai more than exceeded our expectations. We are already thinking about when we can come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

I like writing reviews and love rewarding good service. However, the service at this place was horrible and they misrepresent themselves. I will mention pros and cons.

Pros: 1) Place looks chic. Like a Thai spa. 2) The shared grounds are well kept and maintained. The glass is clean, the doors and lobby are clean. 3) The location two blocks from the beach, but Club Kool blocks direct access. 4) There is parking included in the room rate, which was important to us. 5) The maids were great and tried to go above and beyond.

Cons: 1) We were given a room in the basement even though the hotel was empty. 2) The smell. The horrible smell. The bathroom had a drain built into the bottom, as many bathrooms do in Mexico, but the smell emanating from it smelled like horrible sewage. We could not breathe in the room. We kept the door closed. 3) The room rate advertises a DVD player. Our room did not have one. (We normally stay in budget locations without a TV or without other amenities, but we want what we pay for). When we went to speak to the receptionist about it, he did nothing the first night of our stay. We went again and asked why our room did not have the DVD player as per Expedia or their own data. They told us we were wrong. They did not even try to fix it nor even explain it - they just told us we were wrong. I speak fluent Spanish so I made sure what they said was what I was hearing in both English and Spanish. I told them I saw it on the website. They said we were wrong and that Expedia was wrong. I told them that they were the ones who put the information on Expedia and the room descriptions in the first place. They still were rude and not conciliatory at all. 4) The sewage pipe that runs through the underground parking leaked all over our rental car. 5) The in-room safe was completely broken and it took them 2 days to respond to our request. After they came, it was still broken. 6) The construction was poor. There were leaks and puddles everywhere. The electric outlets in the room did not work. There were cracks in the ceiling. (We could deal with this in a low budget, older hotel, but this hotel was constructed in 2009). 7) Please note that the hotel was empty and there were only three other rooms filled when we were there. We went on vacation during a busy time of year. 8) The main objective of Aldea Thai is to sell rooms and not be a hotel or have common customer service. This is not a good hotel and should not be used as one.

There are so many wonderful options in Playa del Carmen. The whole Maya Riviera is great. I have been to the Yucatan three times in the past few years (twice this year). We are going back to the Yucatan in two days! After having stayed in low end hostels in the region and 4 star hotels throughout Mexico, this hotel was truly disappointing and not as advertised. Pick one of the way better options available in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JDC-HKK_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

We booked throught Orbitz a 4 star superior hotel and ended up with a 10 X 13 bedroom and bathroom. It is not a hotel room - it is a bedroom with a king sized bed and no room for other amenities. It is a lock-off bedroom from a condo and the room was on an inside hall with no natural light.. The reservation manager was rude and unhelpful, and after 2 days we ended up paying a large ($150.00 per night) upgrade fee for a larger suite because he would not refund us our money.
The Orbitz and Aldea Thai websites misrepresent this room and set you up for disappointment.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JBDCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
#113 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#97 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Property: Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Address: Mza. 81 Av. Cozumel Lt. 1 | Entre 26 y 28. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A door to modern luxury, The Thai is a high class condohotel where the sophistication of the Thai-Balinese spirit blends with the laid back soul of the Mexican Caribbean. The creative design of The Thai is constituted of a giant swimming pool, thatched roofs, Asian-fashion decor and outdoor pool fountains while built in commercial venues such as a restaurant and a fitness center added to the comfortable feel of the property. The magnificent suites of Aldea Thai integrate a great number of conveniences such as deluxe furnishings and hi-tech features. Facing the most notorious, sandy beach of Playa del Carmen, The Thai embraces stunning views of the Caribbean Sea and the fun environment of Mamitas Beach Club. All of what Aldea Thai has to offer will turn your vacation at the Riviera Maya into an unforgettable experience to enjoy the best of every world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing