We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonably priced considering its location”

La Patrona de Playa
Ranked #216 of 1,289 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced considering its location”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

For being so close to 5th Avenue in Playa, this little restaurant is surprisingly reasonable. I had quesadillas, tacos al pasor (10 pesos each), and agua de horchata to drink and the bill came to 96 pesos ( a little over $7) I'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    64
    20
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Pros:
Location is one block away from 5th Avenue and across Coco Bongos
Extensive menu -burritos, tacos, quesadillas, etc.

Cons:
The food was mediocre
Not a good value for your money

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinationLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant a bit of the tourist area”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was visiting friends and this is one of their favourite restaurants. As it was my first day in Mexico and I wanted to be cautious (learned my lesson the previous trip) I wanted to make sure that we ate somewhere clean and safe. My (Canadian) friends eat here on a regular basis and I had nothing to worry about. The food is well cooked, the service pleasant, and quite a good selection for the price-which is great. Taco's were good, sopa's good and I would return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TishVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Best tacos in town”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I love this place excellent food and service. I have tried many of the taquerias that are around and by far La Patrona is the best it has the best quality, taste and service and the prices are very good. Forgot to mention that i had 2 margaritas for $7.00 dls ($80.00 pesos). Don't miss this place If you come to Playa del Carmen



Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pavo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, but the tacos are not good”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I had tacos here. The taco meat looked like leftover scraps they dug up from the waste bin. The food at this place is low cost, but I won't return because of the poor quality of the meat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FREEDRACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Patrona de Playa also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Patrona de Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing