We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Ranked #45 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The food here was incredible, even the plain-old chichen quesadillas we had for lunch one day. During the day the service was fantastic - servers were very attentive, friendly and helpful. One evening however we dropped in and it seemed like the staff was more interested in the television than paying attention to the guests. Aside from that it would have been a 5 star review.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lissa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    126
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent some time down in Playa. Always stay at the Aventura which houses this restaurant. There has been a change in the management here and what an improvement! Christopher, the manager, is a breath of fresh air. He is friendly, available, always has a smile on his face and a warm greeting for all. The staff, Nicholas and Gabby in particular, are wonderful, the food is much improved. I had the grilled fish one night, grouper, and it was delicious. The Pina Coladas are to die for, had to have at least two each day. I was very happy to see such an improvement in the atmosphere and food. Check it out next time you're down there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bananners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2 for one happy hour”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The staff and location were just a bonus
The food was excelent I had chicken mole both visits
Do not miss the coconut ice cream

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick4913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food, Some Excellent Staff And A Superb Bartender”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

First off the service was great apart from when one of the staff was on a day off. Nicolas, who waited at breakfast and lunch was excellent and his cheery disposition was a joy to behold. Gaby, who waited the evening meal was also excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The menu is only a few pages long and covers most dishes, however, if you want something in particular and it is not on the menu then ask and the chef will oblige providing the ingredients are in. I found the food very good but not overly spicy as you would get in an English/American chain restaurant. The Celery & Gorganzola soup was a particular passion.
Jorges, the bartender, was fantastic. His professionalism and expertise are second to none and one of his cocktails is a must. The Sangria is a work of art!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thotspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I found this place taking a walk through town and stopped in for a couple of beers (2-4-1 Negro Modelos for 40p). I was greeted by and chatted with Chris and Nicholas and decided my wife and I would have lunch.

I had chicken tacos and she had a fish sandwich which were quite good. My wife likes red wine and this was one of the few places we found a decent selection with a good price for the portion. The restaurant has an indoor seating area and an outside area behind the restaurant. What I appreciated was the quiet as it was off the hustle and bustle of Quinta (5th Avenue).

I stopped by a couple of other times to just have a couple of beers and was remembered and welcomed by Chris and Nicholas. The friendliness of the staff and ambience were great. My wife and I will put this on our short list of must eat places for our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryk1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing