We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed”
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Ranked #45 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Average restaurant in a cool setting. Nothing spectacular here; not the food or the service was particularly good or bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lockard_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    127
    31
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Playa”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Best meal in PDC means it was absolutely fantastic! If you've visited here you will know how many great places there are to eat. I think Trip Advisor lists over 600, I have eaten at probably 50 of them. This was a great place all the way from the atmosphere..to the service...to the price...and of course to the food. Everything was excellent.
It's just at the end of the block on 22nd off of 5th Avenue. This is almost exactly in the middle of the main shopping area in Playa. Very close yet just secluded enough to feel like you are the only ones there. Very romantic place, and yet casual enough for anyone.
We had 2 entres, 1 cocktail and 2 waters, our bill was $42 usd. (+ tip)
Try it..and enjoy :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeK174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Restaurant off the Main Street”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Excellent food and service at the Mayan Bistro in Playa Del Carmen! One block off the 5th street is this quaint little restaurant that you must visit! It is only 1 block off of 5th street but it is like you walked into a different place altogether. Atmosphere is quiet and the service and food were excellent. Recommendation came from another guest at our resort and we were not disappointed. It is located in a great little hotel, Hotel Aventura Mexicana which provides a great atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I were actually staying at the hotel for this vacation which was very nice. We started off our holiday by having cocktails at the Mayan Bistro as our arrival was at night time. The service and ambience was the perfect start to our holiday. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I was alittle under the weather so I decided to have the chicken soup with rice, it was delicious! As it turned out we had several meals there. Instead of walking all over town to find a place to eat we had found a hidden gem right at our doorstep. The restaurant is aptly named as this is what Mexican food really is all about. Several of our meals were served by a gentleman named Nicholas, what a gracious host. He was always very attentive to our needs and definetly enhanced our dining experience. Thanks again and give my love to Olivia!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah, United States
1 review
“A Jewel of a restaurant.”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Outstanding food and service. We were looking for a good dinner having just arrived and checked into our hotel, as it turns out we did not have to go far. Highly recommend the house specialties, delicious examples of mayan cooking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing