We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best meals from our holiday!”
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“one of the best meals from our holiday!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was our last night on holiday and we wanted to eat somewear special, and we were more than delighted when we choose this place!, the restaurant is attached to a hotel so not on the main 5th avenue strip but it well worth the walk the next block over to visit this place. The food was absolutely excerelent & the service was the best we had in the entire of Mexcio! would highly recomend this to anyone to or through playa del carmen. very reasonably priced just sad we didnt discover it sooner than our last night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0sh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    127
    31
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Dined here 4 times whilst staying at the hotel opposite
Staff,service and food were all really good
Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busytraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“The best!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been to this restuarnt 3 times in our short visit and were never dissapointed! The food was amazing and the service even better! Very recommended the waitres Gaby and Nicolas are the nicest and most pacient we met. Thank you for great food and amazing serivce(: may

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmaayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Aventura Mexicana and the Mayan Bistro is on the hotel property. We enjoyed the fish tacos for our first meal (lunch) during our vacation in Playa del Carmen. The fish is cooked just right, super moist and full of flavor. We went back one evening for dinner. I was disappointed that the fish tacos were not on the menu at dinner time. Fortunately they will serve them by request. We tried other places that served fish tacos in PDC, but none of them compared to the Mayan Bistro.

As part of our hotel package, we had a continental breakfast here every morning before going scuba diving. The continental breakfast is pretty plain with no frills, but they do offer a breakfast menu for those that want something heartier that you pay for.

One evening we went to the Bistro for dessert. The Bananas Foster was outstanding!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holy Mole'!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a treasure this find was. After reading the TA reviews we wanted to check it out. Great decision. Truly surprising. I mean the food was not just good, it was off the chart great. Started with the Crab tostadas. YUM. I love chicken mole' and this was the best I've ever had. Tried something new, Rojas Poblanos, Yum Yum!
Our waiter was charming and attentive. Service was perfect.
There is such pride in this place, The manager and waiter bought expounded upon the talents of their over qualified chef and kitchen staff. Rightfully so. The detail to presentation and taste was really evident in all dishes.
Notes: The house white was a nice Sauvignon Blanc with a big pour.
We ate in the open air dining room, but the garden area looked cute too.
Go, go, go! you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing