We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel of its category!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Real del Mayab

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Real del Mayab
Ranked #15 of 175 Playa del Carmen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best hotel of its category!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a great hotel. Familiar ambience, fair prices, GREAT LOCATION and friendly staff. I spent a week there with my friends as we visited not only playa del Carmen, but also made one-day-tirps to Tulum, Cozumel, Sian-Ka'an, etc. The hotel's convenient location served our purpose extremely well, as it makes it confortable to discover Playa del Carmen and all the beautiful places near it. The ADO bus station is 8 minutes away by foot and offers connections to numerous places such as Cancun, Cancun airport, Tulum, Xel-Ha, etc. It's hard to complain... go and check it out yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisloosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
77
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed last May in that hotel in Playa. It is a good choice if you want to be in a quiet place. The room was simple but comfortable and clean. There is a patio with plants in the middle where we could seat and get access to wifi. We appreciated to be just a few meters from the 5th avenue (la quinta), the beach and the bus (ADO) station. Carlos and his wife were really nice and welcoming during our stay. Definitely we will be back there next time we go to Playa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenMexic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here for a week when touring the east coast of Mexico. It is close to the main ADO station, beach, Cozumel ferry and main 5th Avenue road. The staff are friendly and the room was comfortable and large. We had two double beds, plenty of storage space and a decent bathroom. There is chilled water always available downstairs which was very convenient, and the breakfast was basic with toast, cereal, juice etc. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Just spent a week at the hotel and really enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The location is fantastic for a cheaper hotel, literally round the corner from the main avenue. Carlos and his team are very friendly and helpful, I was able to arrange tickets to attractions through hin and when I was ill they arranged an English speaking doctor to visit the hotel and were able to help me find a local English speaking pharmacy. Great place to stop :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kaatiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I will add to those who have written good reviews here. It is a budget hotel, but when I travel I'm not in my hotel room much. Beds a bit firm, but quiet, clean, decent lodgings, good AC. Bathrooms could use some grouting, but the 5-star I stayed in later wasn't much better. Wifi was good.

Most important was the service. Carlos was excellent, allowing me to store baggage multiple times, always friendly and helpful. I had to catch an early ferry, and the breakfast opened spot on 0730. Very handy to the south end of 5th Ave and the ferry if you cut through the mall that anchors the end of 5th. A great find.

Room Tip: Room 3 on the first floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nahhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I just needed to stay in Playa for an early am departure and this was the most reasonably priced hotel I could find. What a pleasant surprise! I wasn't expecting much, but the rooms were very clean, the staff looked high and low for me for a wine opener and found one! The kicker for me though, was when I was informed that the included continental breakfast starts at 7:30am, I was devastated as I needed to leave by 7-ish, and the staff got up and at 'em early so that I could get my coffee fix! They are stars! Even found a movie in english on the tv, all in all, a really great deal.

Room Tip: I believe there are only 11 rooms, 4 downstairs. I would book early enough to get a downstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoryFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

when i checked in late night the guy in charge smiled and gave me the keys without even asking me for any id. i got a large room with two beds and a large bathroom. the hotel is clean and well run by a very friendly mexican owner.
a negative incident happened when the cleaning staff threw away my contact lens container. i told the owner, he apologised and ten minutes later he knocked on my door with a new container that he had bought somewhere in the neighborhood.
free breakfast was good and plentiful: fruits, toast, marmelade, honey,nutella, cereals, premium filtered coffee and real orange juice
playa is so small that you can walk almost anywhere within 10 minutes, even to walmart.
real de mayab is located at the end of the runway of the small airport-dont worry, there is no noise during nighttime and during the day you will hardly notice the occasional small aircraft.

real de mayab is probably the best value in carmen and the owner one of the nicest people there

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#35 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 196 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real del Mayab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real del Mayab

Property: Hotel Real del Mayab
Address: 3 sur #153 Entre Av. 10 y Av. 15 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Real del Mayab 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Real del Mayab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Real Del Mayab Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing