We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Real del Mayab
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$356
US$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$517
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$397
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$242
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$2,204
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$682
US$541
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,001
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,474
US$1,080
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$453
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
82
58
15
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
58
15
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtquinta avenidaado bus stationcozumel ferrynice budget hotelweak wifimanager carlosbreakfast was delicioushotel stayfree breakfastexcellent locationspent a weekquiet at nightcomfortable bedsminute walkfridgenoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice experience! The hotel is cheap but clean, with nice and big rooms, friendly personnel, well located close to the beginning of the 5th avenue. The breakfast was really good and free parking slots are available in front of the hotel. The only problem was the weak wifi in our room. Surely recommendable!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naspen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We just spent a couple of days in that small nice hotel and we are very satisfied. If you're looking for a luxury resort where you can spend your entire day, than it's not your choice. But if you're on a budget, and you would like to stay at a safe, clean, nice hotel during the night, you'll like it. They offer a light breakfast (again, if you're expecting fresh made omlette with shrimps, then you'll be disappointed, but if you're fine with some cereals, bred and fruit, then you get that). So the value for price is great. The location is good, although not at the beach, but you can easily walk there. Ferry, taxi station, bus station, a small grocery store are all within a few blocks, very convenient. The WIFI didn't work in our room, but if I ventured out to the nice inside yard (with a big banana tree), it worked perfectly. The bathroom was also pretty small, actually you need to step into the shower to close the door, and the water flow was weak from the shower, but that was our biggest problem, so you get the idea. A fridge in the room would have been nice, but we could use the fridge in the common kitchen. Staff were really friendly and helpful. So taken together we are really satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolorado7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had spent 7 weeks at this hotel. It would be difficult to find another place with such high value for money deal. To start with hotel has only eleven rooms and within few days you know all the staff and most of guests that stay for a week or more. One cannot praise enough the staff, starting with Manager Carlos, the crew Esteban, Esperanca, Rosa and Arturo evening manager. Always smiling, in good mood, and happy to fulfill your requests. Breakfast is not overwhelming but there are a lot of choices, cereal, toast, cheese, jams, yogurt, Nuttela, peanut butter and honey. Coffee is exceptional, particularly in Mexico. The rooms are fairly big with two double beds and they changed all matrasses when we were there, new ones have foam top and are very comfortable. The location is "par excelence" everything you want is 5 minutes away. One inconvenience was a fairly small bathroom in our room and we were not the first people that mentioned that. To our pleasant surprise Carlos showed us the first room that is completely renovated. We would easily class this room as **** at ** prices. He mentioned that it'll take about 2 years to renovate all 11 rooms. There is also some inkling that the small airport, where the small planes take off few times a day but not in the night, may be moved. WI-FI is not good in the rooms but Carlos set up my D-Link booster, which I bought in Canada for about 30 $, so we could access internet in our room that was the furthest from their router. just to make sure this hotel is not for people who are used to 4 and 5 star hotels but it was such a pleasant experience that we did not have in many more expensive places.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the upper floor and without view of the street.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugCanada2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed one night at the hotel. It was clean & comfortable and just on the edge of downtown Playa Del Carmen. A great hotel for a few nights stay with in walking distance to 5th ave, and the night life of 5th ave. The hotel also provided a breakfast in the price of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hotel with no frills, very clean, with parking lot, a few steps of 5th avenue, a few steps of the pier to Cozumel and a few steps of the beach. A taxi station and a mini market OXXO, very close the hotel Perfect location.
People of the hotel very kind and helpful.
The only point to increase the value could be a fridge inside the room.
All these things for USD40.00/day, with breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TORUGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews