We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is the issue, everything else is great”
Review of La Casa del Habano

La Casa del Habano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Here at La Casa del Habano, you'll find all things Cuban - from some of the best Cuban rum in Playa to the finest Cuban cigars. Cigars are our specialty, we carry only Cuban cigars and are one of the only outlets officially certified by Habanos S.A. to carry their cigars. Our barstaff have created 8 different fresh fruit mojito's to complement your choice of Stogie, we also specialise in Hookah's and we carry over 15 different flavoured tobaccos. You don't have to be a smoker to enjoy our hospitality, our drinks are mixed by hand from fresh ingredients and we make a mean Marguerita and Piña Colada too.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Price is the issue, everything else is great”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Well, let me get this out of the way: I smoke Cuban cigars fairly regularly as they are available in my country, I frequently buy boxes too. I use these prices as benchmarks for any and all Cuban cigars I buy when out of the country.

With that out of the way, I do understand the allure for the people visiting from the USA to buy the "forbidden" sticks at outrageous prices.

However, here is a pro-tip: Go to Cozumel(around 20ish dollars for a return ticket) for a day and once you get off the ferry, go to the La Casa Del Habano there, you get the real prices of Cuban cigars(meaning not 16$ for a Montecristo 5 or a Meilleur Fleur)

If the price is no objection, have a blast at La Casa Del Habano in Playa.

The service and the atmosphere and everything else is amazing, I just can't justify the fact that sticks that fly to Europe, gets import taxed and still cost almost half than the one in Playa Del Carmen, which is really a "short" (90ish or so miles) swim away from Cuba.(fine, 250-300 miles to Havana)

Other than that, everything is terrific!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank La_TacheGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    4
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“La Casa Del Habano”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

If you're looking for Cuban cigars...look no further. The store is on 5th Ave between 26th and 28th. It's small but easy to find. Grab a stick a cool drink and enjoy. Great place to people watch. Words of advice: Bring cash. They take America Express. No Visa or MasterCard; however; cash is strongly...keyword: Strongly...encouraged. Ask for a discount. Make sure you understand the exchange rate and plan to spend on average $20 USD a stick. Some can be puchased for less...some for much much more.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great selection and ambiance”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a great place to sit, enjoy a cigar and watch passers by on 5th avenue. However, their prices are ridiculously high. Nice for a special Cuban you haven't smoked but, for larger quantities, head south.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PShankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“People watching & hookah time.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Great place to relax after a good meal with a hookah, a cold drink and great people watching on 5th ave. one of the few places to buy REAL Cubans. Not the fake ones on the street. Prices for Cubans are not cheap, but what did you expect for quality. The hookahs were awesome. Service was good. We come here every trip to Playa.

Helpful?
Thank Dougiemac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The only place to buy real cubans in PDC”
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

I walked all up and down 5ta avenida and every single store including both Casa Partagas (supposedly an official habanos retailer) had fakes. LCDH was the only one where I didn't see a single fishy label. I have a friend that works at LCDH in Hermosillo, Sonora (just south of Arizona) and i had a list of prices and everything matched almost exactly with the prices they had here. It's located east of calle Constituyentes and it is on the south side of the street.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brochacho21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa del Habano also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Casa del Habano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing