We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS”
Review of Hostel Rio Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Rio Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEDBUGS”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Me and a friend sleept here for 4 nights. It was a good location and nice staff but...
It is one of the most noisy places i've sleept in, the hostel is between one nightclub and a karaokebar!!
If u wanna sleep, wrong place..if u wanna party, right place!
But the worst thing, my two last nights both me and my friend saw BEDBUGS crawling on the wall and in the bed. And then i had gotten bites both on one arm and both legs, only on my arm i had almost 40 bites, totall around 80!
Horrible experience!!! This was in the big dorm, right of the kitchenarea!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Swedenbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    65
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
1
22
76
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great hostel for solo backpackers or party loving travelers. My boyfriend and i ended our dive trip here and had a good time. Great atmosphere. Wifi constantly was going out and had to sit in one area to have it work the entire time we were there. Wouldnt recommend the general tours they have since you are loaded with about 100 other travelers and its just not worth it. the hostel hosted their own day trip though to cenote jardin del eden and then went to AKUMAL! AMAZING! hostel and tour staff were young, fun and full of info. Breakfast wasnt great, AC wasnt great but ultimately we were there for the atmosphere and people.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just came from there, me and my friend stayed there for 4 nights, in a room with 14 beds. The staff was friendly, and it's a good location. But that's pretty much the only good things. Very hard to sleep there, extremely noisy. And the last day we spent there, we saw bedbugs crawling on the wall, i have a few bitemarks on my body from bedbugs and my friend have 30 bitemarks from bedbugs on her right arm, and that's only her arm. Not to mention her legs... So never this hostel again! Disguisting!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank african89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

if your looking for a party place this is the spot however if your on your way or just come from the airport and need rest before you fly or after you fly do not stay here there is a karaoke bar right underneath the room i stayed in and let's just say I did not get a blink of sleep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank georgie953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Have just left Hostel Rio after staying for five nights. It was a great hostel, met so many cool people and it just had an overall great vibe. The staff were so friendly and added to our fantastic time. We will never forget Sergio!! The room was good and the facilities were always clean. The included breakfast was great too. We were very sad to leave!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitted4lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

In many hostels you find that the proprietors have attempted to squeeze as many bunks as is humanly possible into the dorm rooms. This was not the case at Rio Playa. I came without a reservation but on the suggestion of other travelers I'd met in Mexico and was put in a 4 bed dorm. There was plenty of room, the bed was comfortable, the lockers adequate, and the temperature very comfortable for sleeping. The place is in nice condition and the bar and pool are a wonderful touch, particularly for those of us traveling alone. Most of the staff offered a warm welcome and a smile, which is always appreciated. The kitchen was a bit cramped, but I think most people traveling through Playa del Carmen are spending more time going out than perhaps in other destinations. It is noisy, but I think that has less to do with the hostel and more to do with the general area. Just a couple blocks to the beach.

Room Tip: I was in room 6A (or maybe B?). I'd definitely recommend this room. There is a little nook about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpottieOttie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

You could not ask for a better location. The staff is AMAZING, super friendly. The rooms are constantly being clean. They even store your stuff if the room is not ready. That was my downside. I had to wait a while before the room was ready even though I had made reservations.

The AC is on at night and off around 9/10am. Don't expect to sleep late because the cleaning ladies are very loud. Coming from NYC, I'm use to noise all the time.

The beach is, literally, one block away. The ferry to Cozumel is walking distance (about 4/5 blocks away). Cozumel should be a one day trip. I went early in the morning and took the last ferry (~9pm) back.

I met amazing people at Rio. I'm still in touch with a lot them. I would certainly stay again but would probably go for a less crowded room.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#111 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
#3 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
Hostal MX Playa del Carmen
#21 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enjoy Playa Hostel
Enjoy Playa Hostel
#16 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Rio Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Rio Playa

Property: Hostel Rio Playa
Address: Avenida 5, Norte 119 | Entre 5ta avenida y avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 201 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Rio Playa is located one block from the beach and half block from the famous '5ta Avenida' Fifth Avenue downtownWe offer the perfect blend of elegance and tropical flare for a unique experienceWe are welcoming you in a fusion of Asian/Italian decor and architectural style, focusing on personalized service and detail. Come prepared for an unforgettable vacation...We know that a hostel is much more than just a place to sleep. Therefore we offer you all the necessary amenities to allow you to get to know and enjoy this extraordinary town, especially the region's stunning Mayan archaeological sties staged in lush jungle settings.We offer you specialized information regarding transportation, distances, costs, tourism and more in order for you to experience these alternative Mayan routes at the right price and with the proper resources.Additional InformationWe have a private bar just for hostel guest (beer is just 1 dlls for the guest)20Mts walk distance to the beach.24 hrs reception.No smoking inside of building. (plenty of space where you can smoke)Be happy always. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Rio Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hostel Rio Playa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing