We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational & Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayans' Explorers

Mayans' Explorers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Mayan Experience Tour: Chichen Itza, Valladolid and Ek Balam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the real Mayaland! Small and private groups, all inclusive tours. Certified guides will provide you with info on the way to the places we visit and inside them. We always try to avoid the crowds. The perfect mix of culture, nature and adventure. Come join the experts! Also: snorkeling, zip lines, archaeology, natural reserves, airport transfers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Educational & Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked two day long tours with Mayans' Explorers in advance of going out to Playa del Carmen. And both days turned out excellently.

Email contact was easy and simple, and were were able to pay a deposit via PayPal. The remainder we chose to pay in cash at the start of each tour. We were in a party of eight for the first day; the Chichen Itza tour, and then just three of us (we chose to pay more for a smaller party) to visit Tulum and Coba.

We had the same guide for both tours and he was fantastic. If you get Enrique you will learn so much. He knew loads about the things he was showing us given his background in the area. He had been involved in uncovering some of the sites!

Pick up and drop off via minibus at our hotel was simple and easy, with of course stops at other hotels as is the way with shared tours. There was more than enough free chilled water as part of the price of the tour. Plenty of opportunity for toilet stops if needed too. Going around all the sites was done in a relaxed manner so at no point did you feel rushed. Enrique was also good about stopping in areas of shade when telling us information.

We thoroughly enjoyed both the tours we did and would have no hesitation in using Mayans' Explorers again for another tour if (when?!) we come back to Playa del Carmen.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank krider2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    33
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Two trips booked, had a wonderful time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Visited Playa during July 2014. We pre-booked our two trips with Mayan Explorers via the internet ahead of time. We saved 10% by doing a credit deposit then paying the rest in cash when we got there. We booked both the Tulum/Coba trip and the Chichen Itza trip.

Both trips were wonderful and we had an amazing time. This tour group is sorta pricey but in my opinion it was definitely worth it. Both guides had amazing knowledge on the local area and did a great job of both entertaining us and keeping us involved in the trip. I also liked how this place gets an early start in the morning and gets you directly to the ruin sites early, before all the crowds show up.

Overall, my friend and I were completely satisfied with our trips with Mayan explorers, we are glad they did their best to accommodate us during a slow season.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SDJay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

There were eight of us in our private tour. Enrique was our guide. He was excellent! His knowledge and passion for the Mayan ruins was evident. We were well taken care of, the driver and Enrique were very attentive and plenty of cold water was provided. It was very hot and humid. We visited Chichen Itza, Ek Balam, a Cenote and the bustling town of Valladolid. Lunch was provided and everyone enjoyed it. I would suggest everyone going to wear comfortable, covered shoes! I stupidly wore sandals....FLIPFLOPS! and it was the stupidest thing I did on our trip. It prevented me from climbing the ruins in Ek Balam...safely!

We had a lot of questions before this trip AND even up to the morning of pick up and emailing Mayan Explorers was the way to go! They were always PROMPT in replying and of being of assistance. They were prompt in pick up and dropping us off. I would highly recommend Mayan Explorers! (We also booked the Captain Hook Ship excursion through them and they were prompt in pick up and drop off also!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JHCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mayan's Explorers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

IF WE COULD GIVE A HIGHER RATING, WE WOULD!!!! We booked the Mayan Experience trip last Friday, July 4th. Our driver Diego, was safe, courteous and kind. I had left my phone (hence email connect at home) and was a bit panicked about a confirmation email the night before we were to be picked up. I contacted them via their website and phone # and received almost immediate communication about our pick up time (I also had the info on my phone at home from several days prior to our excursion). They were very prompt, 7:10! It was a small group, just our family of four and two others. We arrived earlier than almost anyone and had the greatest experience free from the crowds! They constantly had water available for us and even a snack for on the way home! Our guide Jose was simply amazing!! He was very personable, unbelievably knowledgeable (my head is still swimming from all the info), and so very attentive to all of us including the kids! Chichen Itza truly is a 7th wonder of the world! We will most definitely visit again and use Mayan's Explorers for any excursions, airport transfers etc!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We did the Mayan Experience tour as a private group of 8 (with 4 kids ages 5-10). Murux was the best tour guide you could possibly hope for, an absolute wealth of information and engaging throughout the whole day. He was able to provide a lot of information for both the adults and the kids. He was very patient in explaining things in a way that they could understand--and answering a million questions!! His expertise on the Mayan culture and the archeological significance of the sites provided a truly unique experience for all of us. His background in archaeology and with the site in particular were incredible. We got an early start, which allowed us to arrive at Chichen Itza before all of the crowds. The site was amazing, and learning more about what is still left to be uncovered made it even more impressive. Swimming in the cenote was a big hit with the whole group--including jumping from the platform (all but the littlest of the group gave it a go). Lunch was good, especially the tacos, which Murux recommended. Ek Balam was incredible and the view from the top of the pyramid was truly breathtaking. I'm afraid of heights, so the climb down was a little rough for me, but everyone else was fine--little kids included. By the end of the day the kids were really worn out, so we opted to just drive through Valladolid instead of getting out to walk around. It was a very long day, but we all had an amazing time. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience! The driver was very professional and took good care of us throughout the day, getting us quickly and safely to all of our stops. They also provide plenty of cold water throughout the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank corilisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayans' Explorers also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayans' Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing