We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland decor but great service and prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
One Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #77 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I agree with some other reviewers that this hotel could be mistaken for a hospital. But they do have great rates and great service.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and sheets changed regularly. The rooms are tiny though but it doesn't matter because you are outside enjoying the beach.They have free computers and fast internet at the reception. They have a safe that you can operate anytime. The breakfast is really good (so, when booking on hotels.com choose with breakfast). There is even a free laundry machine (although just 1 washer and 1 drier). It is self service but if you are pressed for time, you can usually hand your clothes to one of the maintenance guys and they will do it for you for a good tip. (20-30 Mexican pesos).

All the front desk people including but not limited to Alonso and Gerardo were great!

There is no pool in the hotel but that didn't bother me. I like staying at business hotels where efficiency and punctuality are the norms. The beach and Quinta Avenida (5th ave) is only 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prav211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

On approach the hotel looks bland and could be mistaken for a hospital
This hotel is more in the mould of a holiday Inn. You know what to expect and they deliver.
The rooms have a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, nice shower with hot water and Air con.
Wifi is also included and i found it to be be fast and efficient.
In addition the price includes breakfast served from 7am to 11am which includes some hot food.....unusual, as most of the breakfasts in Playa included are only continental.
There is also chilled water and coffee availalbe, included in price 24 hours a day.
The downside is that the rooms are very small. However, i stayed here for 3 nights alone and i take comfort over space.

It should also be considered that there is no swimming pool and so this hotel doesnt fit with the typical hotel in playa which is beach orientated. This hotel is more orientated towards business users.

10 mins walk from the beach and handily placed just outside the main strip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Englishman0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here twice. Clean modern rooms and comfortable beds. Friendly front desk staff. Thank you Ernesto and Cindy!

10Min walk to all beach clubs and there is a little cantina near the corner of 10 and 15 that make the best. Quesadillas!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We just left! We only booked 2 nights there at first for our 1 week stay in Playa, as we knew there were hundreds of hotels within blocks we could walk in to check out for the last 4 nights. If you do not need a pool, which we did not, since we were going to water parks everyday, then this is the best value! The bathrooms & rooms are small but clean. It suited our needs perfectly! We left early every morning after a great breakfast here & only returned to sleep! After checking out many hotel rooms within blocks, for double the price (not double the comfort), we decided to stay the entire week at Hotel One! I felt the beds in the other hotels & Hotel Ones beds were more comfortable! The staff was EXTREMELY friendly & helpful, breakfast was great, & everything was clean & quiet. The bus stop & Walmart are within 1 block! The beach & main busy party/restaurant area of 5th Ave are only a few short blocks away to walk (safe even at night). If you are looking for beautiful gardens, courtyards, & pools, then this is NOT the place to stay! If you are out exploring the city, pyramids, & waterparks, & only need a place to sleep, this is THE BEST value in town! OVERALL GREAT PLACE!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DjJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Going to make this short and sweet. Stay at One Hotel, you will not be dissapointed.Right accross the street from the new ADO Bus station, 10 min. strool to the beach, and the best in cluded breakfast i have seen.

Room Tip: Book early, the word is out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldtimer1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel by accident as we were driving up and down the streets trying to find accommodation when we rolled into Playa del Carmen a day early. What set this hotel apart from all of the others and won us over was---1) It had FREE, secure underground/garage parking. 2) The price for rooms is listed on a board behind the front desk (allows you to see the price without the fear of hotels raising the rate on you because they feel they can scam you as a tourist). 3) It had a proximity that was close to the main entertainment area which would allow us to walk to/from the hotel. 4) It had FREE Wifi throughout the building and in the rooms. 5) It included FREE continental breakfast.

The rooms are clean, well lit and as mentioned by others, on the smaller side. But when we get a hotel, we aren't planning on hanging out in the room, we want to explore the city. The room is just a place to put our things, shower and sleep, thus Hotel ONE satisfied our requirements perfectly.

The staff from the front desk clerks to housekeeping to the breakfast attendants were always smiling and friendly. They maybe didn't always understand English the best, but they tried their best, so a basic understanding of Spanish is helpful.

The location is just on the back side of the bus station, next door to a Wal-Mart on one side and a grocery store on the other. It is 4 blocks off of 5th Avenue (the main tourist street with shopping, nightlife and restaurants) and about 5-6 blocks from the beach.

All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better hotel to call 'home base' for our two nights in Playa del Carmen and would easily stay here again should we be in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boystownboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We LOVED it! The city is a great party town if you are into that or just simply perfect for relaxing and a 30 min fairy away for a day trip to cozumel (only good if you are into snorkking really). this hotel is near everything (30-45 min from cancun).

This hotel deserved at least one more star, it was new, clean, and quiet but very accessible and near everything with the amenities of a 3-5 star hotel! We loved it and would surely go back.

Safety etc. This hotel is extremely well-run, safe and clean, with free wifi and two free computers for use (printer/scanner/fax use for a nominal fee) it was so convenient. My iPhone was connected it right away and Hassle free and we always had good and fast interest access even when in our rooms.
Free Breakfast and great staff: great breakfast, staff were extremely helpful, cordial and all spoke English well.

Beds: It was hard for me to find information about the kind of bed (we were two friends and needed to ensure we get two separate double beds) and this was another advantage of this hotel that at the time of booking you could choose the beds/rooms and be sure what you are getting. The beds were comfy and clean :)

One playa del Carmen will be where I stay next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#53 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#116 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#110 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Playa Del Carmen

Address: 25 Avenida Norte Mz 97 Lt 01 S/N, Entre Av. 12 Norte y 12 Bis Col. Centro | entre Av. 12 Norte y 12 Bis, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £45 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Playa Del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Caribbean Sea and the Mayan Riviera with its stunning flora and beautiful beaches. Playa del Carmen, a popular tourist destination strategically located between Cancun and Tulum, is one of the most beautiful spots in the region. Choose to stay at One Playa del Carmen, an affordable hotel that guarantees a safe and comfortable stay. One Playa del Carmen is located within the Xop Inn Shopping Center on Calle 12 Norte (12th North Street), behind the ADO Alternate bus station, only a few streets away from Playa Mamitas and four blocks from la Quinta Avenida. A fabulous location that will let you easily discover the most beautiful spots in the city. The hotel is located on a street that connects to Playa del Carmen's most popular restaurants, bars, and night clubs. The ferry to Cozumel, an island that's a water-sport destination, is also located very close by. We remind you that the check-in time is from 3:00 PM. Check-out is at 1:00 PM. We suggest you use our express check-out service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your One Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing