We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent attention from the staff's lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
One Playa Del Carmen
Ranked #80 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I spent 12 days, the staff in the reception is excellent, friendly, smart and very attent.
The rooms are pretty basic, small. For the price it should include a fridge.
There is always a wierd smell in the room due that when you remove the card the air cc is not on. I understand but since there is not ventilation at least a fan it would be nice.
The shower was nice, some times at 7 PM there was not hot water.
It is nice to have the possibility to do the laundry.
Very good breakfast but to late, It opens at 7 AM, to late if you are there for business.
The position is excellent, in the middle of Playa del Carmen but I find the price toooooo expensive. having travelled a lot I would say is an hotel for 50 usd a day no 73 usd!
It is in front at the bus station and you can frequently hear the noise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scubaandsurf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is off the beaten path, but if you are looking for a quiet, clean hotel at a good price, you could not ask for better. We walk a lot, so it was a very reasonable distance to the main drag and the collectiva terminal. One bus station is right next door. The rooms are a decent enough size and the bed was very comfortable. At first the room smelled horrible, like very bad body odor, but it cleared out after we ran the AC for awhile. The AC never worked right, but the hotel did try to fix it. Staff was nice and helpful.
Breakfast was fresh and great! Simply the best breakfast from a hotel since we stayed in Istanbul. We were able to have such a big breakfast that we could snorkel until 3pm without getting hungry.
For the price and what you get, this is a great deal.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the center, but I do not think road noise would be too much of an issue here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MigiMigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

A bit small rooms, but here you get a new hotelroom in quiet environments. Breakfast included. Not the most advanced breakfast, but scrambled eggs and fresh fruits & musli. Walking distance to la quinta main street. Excellent wifi connection:)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (Christmas). This is not where you want to go if you expect to stay in a comfortable , warm environment. it's more business style. plastic chairs and tables, white and blue colours, very small rooms,... all make you feel you just want to sleep and then leave this environment.
Breakfast is limited.
cleanliness was average. don't expect to get shining towels and linens; our towels were somehow yellow and torn linens. in bathroom and shower only small soap and shampoo were provided.
towels and pillows were not for 2 people.
front desk staff hardly speak English and cleaning staff don't at all.
good points: staff TRY to help and provide what you need. it's close to walmart and 2 other big store. next to bus terminal. everyday cleaning.
4 blocks from center (5th ave), I don't know if it is good or bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeMand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I agree with some other reviewers that this hotel could be mistaken for a hospital. But they do have great rates and great service.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and sheets changed regularly. The rooms are tiny though but it doesn't matter because you are outside enjoying the beach.They have free computers and fast internet at the reception. They have a safe that you can operate anytime. The breakfast is really good (so, when booking on hotels.com choose with breakfast). There is even a free laundry machine (although just 1 washer and 1 drier). It is self service but if you are pressed for time, you can usually hand your clothes to one of the maintenance guys and they will do it for you for a good tip. (20-30 Mexican pesos).

All the front desk people including but not limited to Alonso and Gerardo were great!

There is no pool in the hotel but that didn't bother me. I like staying at business hotels where efficiency and punctuality are the norms. The beach and Quinta Avenida (5th ave) is only 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prav211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

On approach the hotel looks bland and could be mistaken for a hospital
This hotel is more in the mould of a holiday Inn. You know what to expect and they deliver.
The rooms have a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, nice shower with hot water and Air con.
Wifi is also included and i found it to be be fast and efficient.
In addition the price includes breakfast served from 7am to 11am which includes some hot food.....unusual, as most of the breakfasts in Playa included are only continental.
There is also chilled water and coffee availalbe, included in price 24 hours a day.
The downside is that the rooms are very small. However, i stayed here for 3 nights alone and i take comfort over space.

It should also be considered that there is no swimming pool and so this hotel doesnt fit with the typical hotel in playa which is beach orientated. This hotel is more orientated towards business users.

10 mins walk from the beach and handily placed just outside the main strip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Englishman0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here twice. Clean modern rooms and comfortable beds. Friendly front desk staff. Thank you Ernesto and Cindy!

10Min walk to all beach clubs and there is a little cantina near the corner of 10 and 15 that make the best. Quesadillas!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#81 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#69 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#60 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Express Playa del Carmen
City Express Playa del Carmen
#116 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#115 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#103 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Playa Del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Playa Del Carmen

Address: 25 Avenida Norte Mz 97 Lt 01 S/N, Entre Av. 12 Norte y 12 Bis Col. Centro | entre Av. 12 Norte y 12 Bis, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £44 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — One Playa Del Carmen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the Caribbean Sea and the Mayan Riviera with its stunning flora and beautiful beaches. Playa del Carmen, a popular tourist destination strategically located between Cancun and Tulum, is one of the most beautiful spots in the region. Choose to stay at One Playa del Carmen, an affordable hotel that guarantees a safe and comfortable stay. One Playa del Carmen is located within the Xop Inn Shopping Center on Calle 12 Norte (12th North Street), behind the ADO Alternate bus station, only a few streets away from Playa Mamitas and four blocks from la Quinta Avenida. A fabulous location that will let you easily discover the most beautiful spots in the city. The hotel is located on a street that connects to Playa del Carmen's most popular restaurants, bars, and night clubs. The ferry to Cozumel, an island that's a water-sport destination, is also located very close by. We remind you that the check-in time is from 3:00 PM. Check-out is at 1:00 PM. We suggest you use our express check-out service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your One Playa Del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Playa Del Carmen Mexico/Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing