We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Celine

Chez Celine
Ranked #1 of 41 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$7
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Follow the smell of freshly baked bread and find our authentic French bakery on the 5th avenue! We offer typical French products like Baguette bread, croissants, pastries, sandwiches, quiches and salads. Try our specials of the night, to pare with a glass of wine: cheeses and cold meats platters, terrines, vol-au-vent and their savory & sweets crepes! Natural products, 100% homemade, high quality ingredients and lots of love...!
Monterrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Playa Del Carmen. Whether you go for breakfast, lunch or dinner, or even just for a delicious bread / pastry.
they made all bread in-house.
You should try these omelettes in your breakfast.
this is a must in Playa del Carmen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabian_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,340
    482
    99
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Croissants, baguettes, pastry...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Chez Celine has delicious croissants and pastries along with baguettes just out of the oven. It is an excellent place for breakfast or lunch or a light dinner. I am particularly fond of the smoked salmon sandwich on whole grain baguette. There are lots of choices and all with a European flair. Good food made with top notch ingredients. It is a favorite of the expat and local community.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorraine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
2 reviews
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This restaurant has a typical French ambiance and the food is really nice. A croissant, 1/2 baguette with marmelade and butter, jus d´ orange and a hot drink for only 70 pesos! Also the crepes are really good. The service is great and everyone is really friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! Best croissant ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I just ate my second chocolate almond croissant this week. Even though I was tired, I waked down to get one for my morning coffee. I licked up a little Chocolate cake rectangle to eat after dinner that melted in my mouth! I might have to run down again before we depart.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 797Wendy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty sandwich & good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

While waiting for transportation, decided to get a small snack to share and carry out. When you walk in the smell of fresh pastry fills your nostrils. While tempted to get pastry, we opted for a sandwich. We speak limited Spanish and the staff limited English. They found an English menu and we pointed to the turkey sandwich. We didn't ask questions. The sandwich came out quickly. The turkey was on a foot long fresh baguette with tomatoes, lettuce and a mustard seed spread. Very good and enough to share. It was well worth the $6 US dollars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Celine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Chez Celine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing