We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service & food :-(”
Review of El Sazon de Mexico

El Sazon de Mexico
Ranked #709 of 1,257 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad service & food :-(”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were on a trip to several cities in Yucatan, and we came about this restaurant on our way to Cozumel. I typically don't write negative reviews, but this restaurant had several areas for improvement:

- The food was not good at all :-( Six of us ordered a variety of dishes: We had an early lunch...our pozole never made it to our table. Took so long we had to cancel. Eggs with chorizo were not good (our friend only had about half of the serving). Chilaquiles not good either...

- Service was very slow...even for restaurants in Playa del Carmen. We had to cancel one of our dishes since it was taking very long (5 of us were already almost done eating).

- Bathroom was really bad...but I'm not basing my review rating on this...this is just an FYI.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivang3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warba, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dont waste your time or money”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our taxi driver talked us into this place and he was obviously paid by the place because what a total disappointment! This was actually the worst food I have ever ate in my life. Although the food was horrible the waiter was excellent and very attentive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serris, France
Level Contributor
173 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Desayuno at El Sazon”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We tried a breakfast here and I wasn't disappointed.

They start at 38$ and all included a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice and either coffee or tea.
We had the El Sazon at 43$ - so orange juice, coffee and a plat of Chilaquiles with chicken (you could have with eggs instead) and salsa roja (you could choose salsa verde).

It was a decent portion made to order in the open kitchen and was more than enough for me.

The service was good and everything looked really clean. The restaurant is nicely decorated and feels homely.

I would go back for one of their set meals or to try some of the a la carte dishes as they seemed to have a wide range of typical dishes to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charliehonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This restaurant has good value, especially for the price. Their food is always good. We go there often for a reliable, delicious meal. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good meal. You also feel at home eating here.

We normally have fish or beef with ham, pepper, and onion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alenushka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“El Sazon de Mexico - I miss you”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

El Sazon de Mexico was recommended to us by a local. It’s not a ”touristy” place at all. We stayed in Playa del Carmen for 5 weeks, and this restaurant has become one of our favourite spots. Their food is always fresh, simple (in a good way!) and tasty. The service is great and friendly. The prices are very affordable. Their cooks and staff are real people with genuine smiles. I wish I could go back and have another taste of fish; however, my husband might disagree with me and order one of HIS favourite dishes or perhaps all of them at once! :)

To the staff of El Sazon de Mexico, if they ever see this:
Thank you for your hospitality and for the chaya plant you gave me! Hello from Canada.
Gracias por su hospitalidad y gracias por la planta chaya que me diste!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank idti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Sazon de Mexico also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Sazon de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing