We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #28 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We liked everything about our vacations at this resort - food, service, drinks, entertainment and special - location!

Room Tip: Standart rooms are much much smaller , ask for ocean view suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmoral99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,118
    2,013
    636
    363
    258
See reviews for
3,116
2,841
134
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,667)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We just returned from our daughter's wedding 9-10-11. We had fifty guests that attended and everyone (I am not joking) said that this was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been at. The location,the staff, the wedding coordinator,the servers, the front desk, the pool people, the hostesses, house keeping were absolutely the best. The food was excellent. The resort was clean and if a small problem did arise (and I mean small) it was taken care of immediately. I have names of some of the staff that were particularly helpfull but all could not have been more caring. Thank you for a wonderful five days.

Room Tip: stay on the 3rd floor view of Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandpupa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

El hotel es impecablemente limpio, la atencion de su personal es muy buena y no se diga de Christian en recepcion exelente pues nos ayudo para tomar la suite deseada al dia siguiente,Marco en el lobby bar muy accesible y servicial asi como Tilo el bellboy,en el Marias remarcable el servicio y atencion de Sergio, Salvador, Moy, Mariano, Manuel. En Albatros Yuliana, muy esmerada y servicial, por lo demas instalaciones, shows,servicios y la ubicacion inolvidables, definitivamente recomiendo este hotel en playa del carmen para quien desee tener unas exelentes e inolvidables vacaciones.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JORGE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was told about this resort from a friend of mine. It was by far the BEST experience for the price!! We loved the food, activities and mostly the LOCATION!!! Playa is such a fun place to vacation. One of the best parts about this hotel is you can walk to 5th ave. I have found that many of the hotels are way off the beaten path (especially the closer you get to Cancun) this one is not. You can walk to 5th ave in about 5 min.
There is so much to do here, they always have the FABULOUS activities crew out and about, getting you going. My husband was kept busy with water aerobics, water volleyball, water polo, water basketball, relay races, sand volley ball...and much more. They have a theme night after dinner each night and they put on different performances.
We will be going back for sure!!
ONE THING TO KNOW>>>>KIDS ARE FREE HERE SO THERE ARE A TON OF THEM. If you want a relaxing trip with NO kids...try the sister resort across the street. :)

Room Tip: They always want to try and upgrade you to the next better room. Don't feel pressured unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is very clean. The restaurants are very clean, they offer a variety of good food options. The hotel reception staffs are very professional, we had a minor problem with the Junior Suite room we were first given, we were promptly moved to another even bigger room with a better view, thanks to Jose (supervisor).
This hotel was recommended to me by another family and I would definitely recommend it to other families with kids.
One disappointing factor about this hotel is the beach. It is not that pretty compared to another hotel we stayed in at Playa Del Carmen. When we were there the hotel maintenance staffs were cleaning tons algae that had washed off on the sand, it maybe because of the time of the year we went, but it was a disappointment for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms on the ground level along the long hallway behind you when facing the reception desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I would definitely come back to Gran Porto. Excellent location. The staff is wonderful. One superior team of waiters were Pako and Rodivor. Most attentive and went out of their way to accomodate our table. The room maids were awesome. They kept everything tidy. The event and entertianment team really engage the guest. They were wonderful. I went to a spanish lesson, stretching, pilates, and water aerobics. Cesear,Victor-aka: Chicken just to name a few members, all were excellent and wish I could remember all their names to give full credit. As mentioned previously I would stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

After seeing the dark halls, limited dining,street view from the room and that the beach and pool seemed abandoned, we decided to move next door. That wasn't worth the upgrade cost. I would suggest this place only if you intend to spend a lot of time in town, and if so, why pay for A/I?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julestravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#43 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing