We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and an unforgettable vacation”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort and an unforgettable vacation”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My sons, a friend and I recently vacationed at the Gran Porto Real early April, 2014.

Overall, it was a heavenly vacation with the outstanding service, food, accommodation, cleanliness and an added bonus of great weather!

The Gran Porto is within walking distance of the town, shops on 5th avenue and a selection of restaurants and Coco Bongo club, which is a must visit!

Food:
Pretty good - The main Albatross buffet and outdoor grill, included Sushi, Mexican and Italian restaurants adjacent to the resort with flowing alcoholic drinks at the resort and on the beach.
The main buffet was pretty good with daily variety. The Italian restaurant Il Pescatore, a-la-carte, was our favourite. Reservations required for this restaurant through Guest Services. The steak was truly outstanding and Jaime provided excellent service!!! The Mexican restaurant, Maria’s, was pretty good with César’s good service, no reservations required.
The 24hr internet/bar area that had snack food at all times was an added availability.

Staff:
Warm, friendly, helpful and courteous!

RIGOBERTO
special mention to Rigoberto, a server in the Albatross buffet area. If you enjoy special coffees, please make sure and ask for Rigoberto, who was the only one to offer us a choice of Mayan, Irish, Spanish coffees when we had dinner 2 nights at the main buffet restaurant. It was a real treat\show to see the flaming process and it added to the enjoyment of the coffees for all of us.

Special thanks to the other staff who served us at the main buffet area.
Orlando at Guest Services was extremely helpful
Arturo, one of the Entertainment crew was very friendly and the nightly shows were enjoyable
Emanuel who kept our room immaculate and made the outstanding towel creations daily
The smiling Ezequiel at the towel station and Mario at BD Travel.

Accommodation:
We had a Junior Suite Ocean front overlooking the bar\pool. What an incredible view we had from the balcony. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The towel creations were creative and a wonderful surprise to walk into every night.

Downside:
Upon late arrival at Gran Porto Real after a 2-hour flight delay, due to the hotel overbooking, it took a while before we were able to go to The Royal, which turned out to be a fabulous resort in every way. The waiting inconvenience to go over to the Royal and waiting for our rooms at Gran Porto the following day, created a lot of wasted time and was unsettling.

Beach
Love the white sand but what a BIG disappointment to find out that there was no swimming area in front of Gran Porto Real. Don't really care for the pool. There are sandbags placed along the beach front and the swimming area is full of rocks, due to Hurricane Wilma. However, a little walk to the neighbouring resorts (The Royal) and beyond, saved the days.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the Ocean front, not Ocean view. There is a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jentee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Ms. jentee14

Thank you for staying with us. We take a lot of pride in our hotel and services and it really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacations unforgettable.
As you will know, at “Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen” our mission is to exceed your expectations, providing the best in service and high quality standards and safety, going beyond to anticipate any customer’s need.
Once again thank you for staying with us and remember… “Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen” is your second home.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,330
    2,060
    652
    373
    261
See reviews for
3,250
2,929
139
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,724)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillett Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This resort was excellent!! The staff was wonderful to us!! Arturo,Jesus,Angie,Angel,Omar,and Verlan of the activities staff were so much fun!! Marco the bartender....well he will be remembered for a long time!! Pablo our waiter took great care in making us comfortable and Theo our housekeeper and her great towel designs!! This is a place we were be coming back again and again!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie5887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ms. Josie5887

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review. We will make sure to tell all our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing and to keep up the good work!
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just arrived home from Gran Porto Real Resort and have plans to go back - I am truly perplexed by some of the low ratings or negative comments - Even trying to come up with negativities is impossible - the food was excellent, staff were excellent, the room we had was beautiful, hotel is very, very clean. All the staff right from the servers, to entertainment, to the hotel store and cleaners are very friendly always with an pleasant "Hola" and they go out of their way to be helpful. The beach is a bit of an issue but by no means takes away from the vacation whatsoever. I had some concerns after booking due to some of the reviews on here but once we arrived any concerns I started out with were completely gone. One thing to note about the rooms; ocean view is ocean view which is very different from ocean front - it's not too complicated to figure out if you want to be right on the beach, book an ocean front room - Ocean view rooms will afford you just that, a view. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ms. Karen S

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at "your home away from home".

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This resort did not live up to my expectations by any means. I will start with the good things as they did have some good points. The beds were heaven, they were so comfortable, only complaint is our room had 3 additional beds and we were only supplied with one additional blanket in the room and no sheets for the beds. The room itself was actually very nice also and the animals they left on the bed were adored by our children. Large in size, great deck that overlooked the ocean. The pool was one of our favorite spots as it was big and had great bar service delivered to you while you were swimming. Right next to 5th Avenue which has some great shopping and entertainment. I definitely suggest stopping at the Gelatto place Aldo. Fantastic!

Now to the disappointing aspects. This resort should NOT advertise they are beach front. They are not, They have a small strip of water in front of the resort which is between two docks. This area is NOT usable. It has boats docked in the water and you have a drop of about 4 feet from the resort where the chairs are to get to the water. Sandbags cover the entire beach and stick out so you can see them while walking. The water that is there is all covered in seaweed and other ocean debris a good 20 feet into the water. The stench this causes while out at the pool and beach is awful. You have to walk all the way past this resort, then past the next resort to finally find a stretch of beach that is usable. At this point you have no chairs to lounge in and no shade unless you want to pay for it.

The food is nothing like we expected. The food here was just not very good at all. The buffet restaurant was just awful. The only good things were the omelet and pasta stations offered during breakfast and lunch. The service some days was so slow that after getting our food from the buffet we still didnt have drinks and my husband would go up and get them himself. The food at the actual buffet was not good and we didnt eat much of it. The other two dinner restaurants were good, not amazing.

The worst part was our check out experience. The night before we left for some odd reason they decided to do construction in the restaurant which was just below our room. We were awoken at 11:36pm by the pounding sound of a hammer slamming against a wall. This happened until 12:45am waking up everyone in our room. My husband actually went downstairs to see what the noise was and that was when he found out what they were doing. After complaining in the morning we were offered a $40.00 credit and was made to sign a paper saying we would not complain to our travel agent or the parent company of the resort. THEN when we came down to check out the $40.00 wasnt even credited on our bill and we had to go back to the room to locate our copy of the document we signed (even tho the kept the original) to show that we were indeed telling the truth. Oh and to top it off this is like the only place in all of Playa Del Carmon that does not take USD. They have a money exchange window right next to the front desk and they make you pay a higher price to exchange USD. Makes no sense, For what we paid to come to this resort it was not at all worth it. We have stayed in Mexico before, actually at the resort right across the street and we had a fantastic time which is why we chose this resort specifically thinking we would have a similar experience. We were very wrong.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Krystine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Ms. Krystine H

We really appreciate this review. We are truly sorry to read that you did not experience our remarkable service and hospitality, on behalf of all of the staff at Gran Porto Real Playa I would like to express my sincere apology if our service did not fulfill your expectations; as we are deeply committed to assist our guests at all times and provide them with an exceptional service be sure we will sharing your comments with our staff in order to improve and take actions to give an exceptional service..
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have a list of people to speak of:
1) Pool hosts...Jesus,Angel, Arturo...These three were very good with their english so therefore they understood our needs very well. Jesus especially was very informative about our questions regarding local nature of the town PLAYA DEL CARMEN and surrounding areas. He sold us tix to Coco Bongo and he also escorted us into the club. He promised us full express access into the club but not a table or waiter service. Yet he gave us more than expected. He provided us a personal table and our own waiter. As he promised...a great show and it was. I cant say enough about Jesus. lol our savior?
Now Angel and Arturo were just perfect gentleman. They made us feel we were their longtime friends and for that we are greatful. Very charming hosts. Goodluck to all of you.
2) Our chambermaid Lorena could not speak english. Yet with open hearts we communicated. We promised her on our first day we would reward her daily if she gave us perfect attention. We spoiled her!
3) Our beach Grillada waitresses Emma and Reyna were just so sweet we wanted to take them home with us! Thankyou to them. Great service and personalities.
4) Enrique Vazquel!!!! Our restaurant evening Captain Host. We express our deepest gratitude for your special attention. We only spoke and met a few times yet he traeted us as royalty. He may have treated us as normal in his eyes but it felt personal to us. He gave us our last meal and knowing it was he instructed his chef to prepare a custom seafood meal for us. He instructed his servers to turn up special service for us. They all then came to us with great attention. Enrique is truly a great Matridee Captain of hosts. Dont let his stern face confuse you...he is running a restaurant and is very concerned of the streamline of servers and food. Good man you are Enrique!!
-And thankyou Daniela Collado for your awesome attention. Keep up your great smile.
- Sarain our waiter...what can i say?you are just the best servicewaiter ever. Your efforts exceed our expectations. Thankyou for your friendship and you are welcome in my home anytime. As a matter of fact....contact me if you have any wishes at Christmas.
-Lucy Batun thankyou for your smiles and your spanish lessons. Even in long lines your attention extended to us personally.
5) Front deskstaff...thankyou for your promt service and attention.
6)GM of Hotel EDWIN BARRAGAN!!! I see you always asking everybody if they are ok. You have a masterplan and it is unfolding as planned. You gave us special attention when i was sad one day not to your hotels fault. So you gave me a free 1hr massage. You instructed Mayela to care for us and she did with grace.
Thankyou for explaining to us your business plans as if i was involved. You will get what you are planning for your hotel. I see you are a serious man.
7) Mentionables..all hotel staff including the lil guys like the housemen and maintenance staff. They were very prompt.
8) Finally thankyou Gran Porto Real for a great trip! This was our honeymoon and it was a great time!!!!
April 29-May 9/2014
Room#234 Jeremy and Tara SC.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Ms. Tara I

Thank you so much for those kind words, my mission in life is always to do things with love, like all the staff who works on this beautiful resort. For me it is always a pleasure to receive such distinguished guests as you are. We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at your second home Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Spent 10 days here April / May 2014, we stayed at the sister resort The Royal 5 years ago and this resort was a much better vacation despite the lower star rating.

The size of this resort allowed us to meet and make new friends along with great vacation memories. We were a group of 10 and we never had a problem getting a table set up to fit all of us at any meal.
Y
Food was excellent highly recommend Maria's we ate there 3 nights.

Drinks were good and wait staff was excellent . No swim up bar but poolside service was prompt Pablo the pool server was excellent and knew your favourite drink on day 1 and never forgot all week.

The buffet was good with several stations for grilling , pasta etc. if looking for bacon in Como siempre amiguito envidia de la buena con ese trabajo ..!morning ask the chef at the omelet station it is kept warm behind the grill. GAlejandro was our server for breakfast and lunch and if you wanted something not in the buffet he would have kitchen prepare it for you. He always had a brain teaser each morning and had a great sense of humour.

The sports and entertainment team here is beyond excellent. They do not pressure you to take part but make your day enjoyable. This was our 14th trip south and our 5th to Mexico, this by far is the best activity team we have ever experienced. At other resorts they would come out do activity then retreat to their area. Here the staff interacted with guests all day , often sitting and talking with guests around the pool. By day 2 they knew your name and would warmly greet you each day. Arturo (King Arthur) made you feel welcome and would go out of his away to ensure your day was great. Angie has to be the sweetest girl next door you ever meet, her cheerful disposition is infectious and she never seems to have a bad day. All in all the whole entertainment team makes you feel like family and that you are the only person that matters.

I will return to the Gran Porto Real without question.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr. David E

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our restaurants, services, staff and our property in general. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I travel frequently throughout Mexico and South America and I am very understanding of what you get for your money, especially in an all-inclusive resort. I was here last week for a wedding and I can honestly say without a doubt, that this was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever stayed at.

But I'll start with the good first, because not everything was terrible.

The location is amazing. One of the best locations in Playa in my opinion. The hotel was walking distance to just about everything and was ideally located.

My room was ok, even though they promised me an ocean view, which I didn't get, and I ended up actually overlooking the street and into the hotel across the street. But the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All in all, the room was not bad and I had no complaints.

The next good thing was the drinks. The bar service throughout the hotel was very good and they were always helpful and checking in on you, especially at the pool. They had most everything you could want and were good pours.

Now for the not so good. And I am holding back a lot here.

I am telling you with 100% honesty that the food at this resort was awful and not even edible. Mexico has some of the best food in the world, so it was even more disappointing not to be able eat some of the wonderful cuisines that are made locally. I spoke to many other hotel guests just to ask their opinion on the food and I heard the same thing over and over. I understand it is an all-exclusive vacation, and I can't always expect 5-star meals, but I would have expected much, much more. Instead, I spent every meal on 5th street eating at some of the amazing restaurants in town, which were delicious. I just should not have had to pay for every meal with an all-inclusive vacation.


The other thing that was really upsetting to me was the fact that I was literally blocked from hanging out with my friends and family staying across the street in the other hotel, Royal Playa, which by the way is owned by the same resort. Even though its the same hotel owners, they would not let me visit the Royal Playa and see the people I went on actually went there to go on vacation with.

There were security guards at the front that refused to let us in and didn't tell us why, just being rude and not helpful. I actually would have happily paid for my own drinks but they didn't want to hear any of it and asked us to leave. We finally figured out that if we pay $120 to the front desk, we were then granted access. But they hold your charge your credit card and hold your ID, so beware if you plan on going out later, because you won't have them in your wallet. I learned the hard way.

So I will never go back to this hotel, but plan on going back to Playa Del Carmen very soon and hope to stay at one of the small boutique hotels in the neighborhood, which look very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you see your room before you check in. They promised me an oceanfront room and I ended up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Mr. Josh S

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are truly sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback with our team for our improvement and in order to achieve our guest’s entire satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing