We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kids Club!”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Kids Club!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We just came back from our family vacation at Gran Porto Real. From the moment my kids, Josh (7 yrs old) & Kaleb (4 Yrs old) stepped in to the club they loved it.The girls that work there were so friendly that my kids immediately became comfortable staying there. In the morning they would wake up talking about the different activities and when it was time to leave they would be upset. Having my kids enteretained gave my husband and I the opportunity to enjoy our vacation. Thank You Kika, Linda, Joss, Ema & Gina you did a great job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Ms. Diana C

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,436
    2,087
    655
    379
    265
See reviews for
3,341
2,948
140
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,734)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Awesome view of pool and ocean from our 3rd floor room. Pablo Heredia in the pool/beach area was the best! He made our days on resort so much fun with his kindness and attention and refreshments were so yummie. Also, Manuel that cleaned our room did a wonderful job and room looked spectacular every time we returned. Roger at Best Days desk helped booked our trip to Xplor and Catamaran. He was so kind and helpful. I would definately return to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alainacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Mr. Alainacar

Thank you so much for such a wonderful comments. We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My friends and I went to playa del carmen and had an amazing time staying at Gran Porto Real. The staff is amazing, especially Teodora Chi who was the housekeeping in our room. She did a wonderful job in always keeping the room clean. The food is amazing and the service was impeccable. We picked Playa del Carmen out on a whim and we are so happy we did. It's walking distance from everything and we felt very safe walking around town at night. The waiters at the restaurant are awesome. We came back to NY very sad because our 6 days in Mexico were not enough. Hands down this vacation was better than my trip to london, paris, ecuador, and anywhere else I have been to. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephyf819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Ms. stephyf819

Your wonderful comments make to all at Gran Porto Real really very happy. We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at "your home away from home".

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We just returned from spending a week at Gran Porto Real. As usual, our stay was lovely and trouble-free. Because we were at the resort during a slow time, we were able to eat at the Restaurante Il Pescatore three different times. Each time our waiter, Renzo, provided excellent service. The food prepared by Chef Ruperto Cerda Rojas was wonderful. Not only do we highly recommend the Gran Porto Real for a vacation get away, we also highly recommend the Restaurante Il Pescatore.

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite with an ocean view. Prices are not as high as with an ocean side room, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Ms. Mary W

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to have the opportunity of serve you in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just wanted to take time make note of the exceptional service we received from all of the staff at Il Pescatore for my sister in law,s 50th Birthday dinner. Especially our servers Albert and Gustavo. They were fun and friendly and on top of every request we had made. They did it with a smile and everything was promptly attended to as well. The capitan was Eliazar who managed the whole experience, even down to getting an awesome 5 layer chocolate cake for her birthday. Vanessa was the name of the hostess if i remember correctly and she was very nice first impression upon walking in to meet our reservations. Bravisimo to all the staff

Room Tip: Did not stay at this resort, just went to this restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stegman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Mr. Stegman84

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review!
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique experience.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRAYSON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were first time visitor to the Gran Porto Real and found it to be an excellent choice. Facility and grounds very well kept. Our Housekeeper, Sarai Jimenez, keep our room impeccable and was very artistic with her towel art. We looked forward to breakfast each morning, our server Leo was on top of his game. Plenty of options for food choices,( would have like to have seen more options at the dinner buffet) bars and nightly entertainment. All within walking distance to 5th Avenue where your choices (food, bars, entertainment, shopping) are multiplied 10 times over. We felt very safe and totally enjoyed our stay and will be back again. Highly recommend the Gran Porto Real Resort.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a pool or ocean view room, we enjoyed our walkout ocean view junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mr. MICHAEL K

Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen wants to thank you for your warm hearted review. It was a true pleasure to be able to host such distinguished guests.Your kind comments we surely be shared with all the staff members you have mentioned.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed all of the amenities this place has to offer. Enjoyed the food but felt there needed to be a seafood restaurant. Waiters, room attendants, bartenders, and security, Victor Notario, were awesome. They catered to our every need and went out of their way to make our stay happy. Great location, quick beach and pool access without walking a mile. Resort was perfect size. I would go back again. Kelley-Nashville,Tn

Room Tip: Get no less than an oceanfront suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ms. Kelley B

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and all other TA readers. Nothing puts a bigger smile on our face than to know that our guests experienced a beautiful and unforgettable experience.
Once again thank you and we look forward to pampering you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,776 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#48 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,359 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,865 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing