We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation for our 10th anniversary”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation for our 10th anniversary”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The resort had everything we needed or wanted. The staff is friendly, helpful and willing to get you anything you want. The entire property was extremely beautiful and clean. We had a ocean front junior suite with a gorgeous view and was cleaned spotless every day. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in at a hotel. It was very nice just to sit out on the breezy balcony and enjoy a cocktail from the liquor dispenser or the mini bar. The restaurants were very good and easy to make reservations. Check in and check out was also a breeze.

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars and get an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Mr. cotx13

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,495
    2,102
    659
    380
    267
See reviews for
3,391
2,959
140
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,743)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. A very special thank you to Arturo Blancas, who was the AC and coordinated the events at the pool and in the hotel. Not only did Arturo take the time to get to know us - me, my sister, and my friend) - but we would see him socializing with several of the hotel guests to make sure they were having a good time. Of the 6 days we spent at Gran Porto Real, 2 of which were travel days, it rained 4 days straight. But Arturo, Jose, Angie, and the rest of the staff saved the trip with their kindness, suggestions (thanks Jose for recommending CocoBongo! So much fun), and friendship. Another thank you to Elias and Jose Arcos, who served our last meal at the hotel. It was a perfect ending to a very exciting trip, and the fact that I can write "exciting" after 4 days of rain in my opinion says a lot about the staff, the resort and general experience. We're already planning our next trip to Mexico and will most likely stay at Gran Porto Real again. The resort was beautiful, clean, the spa had a jacuzzi (we spent a lot of time at the jacuzzi), a sauna and steam room, and the food/drinks were delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ms. Nicole M

We would first of all like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us and the rest of the T.A reviewers such an enthusiastic review! We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Will write a thorough review later on. We are here until Friday. We were tricked into paying for upgrade, only to be awoke our first morning to hammering, chisels and saws next to our heads. After complain, we're given an upgrade additional and awoke this morning to hammering and pounding and saws. I did not pay to stay at a construction site. I paid to stay at a functional resort. We are scarborough and Scott and need this issue rectified immediately.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettyjane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Ms. Bettyjane S

At this time we will be getting in touch with you to give you the best possible solution to your concerns.

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Gran Porto for 5 days. Because it was all inclusive we did not purchase anything that was not already included as part of our package.
When we left Mexico we discovered that we were charged a couple hundred dollars. We checked out mid April and until today we have been unable to ring and contact this hotel. I have tried emailing online but have not heard back..
My husband and I did not sign for any items as we did not purchase anything but were charged for something we are unsure of.
Very disapointed as the hotel itself is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Ms. Joanna L

We are really sorry to read your report. Please feel free to contact me directly and it will be my pleasure to assist you. (gpragerencia@realresorts.com)

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon last august. The hotel was fantastic the staff couldn't be nicer. Always someone asking if we needed anything. Nothing was to much for them. We upgraded to an oceanfront junior suite. Highly recommend you do this. The view over the ocean is amazing. The waiters on the beach were great. Pablo and Jesus were always on hand for cocktails plus the two of them are hilarious. The restaurants were superb both the choice and quality of food. Would love to return to this hotel. The hotel is great for families as well. Plenty to do.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mr. James B

We really appreciate your wonderful comments. We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is the first time I write a review here, I had a wonderful experience in this hotel in Playa del Carmen, location, food, facilities, all perfect, service was outstanding, really 5 star hotel, front desk was really nice and helpful, especially receptionist *Christyan* congratulations and I definetely will recommend you to all my friends, I will go back next year for sure. Thanks

Room Tip: no need for tips, it is a perfect hotel,,,, and excellent service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PierreGuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mr. PierreGuti

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groves, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just came back from our holidays and can't wait to go back! The location couldn't be better and the staff is so friendly! We had so much fun with the entertainment team! This guys work so unbelievable hard! The aqua fitness class with Angie is amazing, she's always dancing and has such a positive attitude all the time! Bike tours with sexy Omar were so much fun. Verlan is the best volleyball player I've seen and Arturo dances salsa like no one else! Alina the yoga instructor will wow you! Everyone at the kids club is really kind too, Emma, joss, kika, linda, and Gina keep all the kids entertained! Thank you all, this has been hands down the best holidays ever! Hope to come back really soon :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylerthib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Ms. Taylerthib

GRAN PORTO REAL Playa del Carmen wants to thank you for your warm hearted review. It was a true pleasure to be able to host such distinguished guests and being able to make your stay memorable. Your kind comments we surely be shared with all the staff members you have mentioned.
We look forward to having the opportunity to host you again the near future.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,848 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#33 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,578 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,984 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing