We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #38 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went to the hotel few year back for a family wedding. It was very nice, the scenery was amazing. Would definitely return. Food was amazing definitely something for everyone. Only downside being that when we checked in supposedly our room was not ready and we we're made to pay more for another room. The other room was bigger and better with a mini bar inside free of charge but still they knew we were coming so our room should have been ready.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Abbeylou93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ms. Abbeylou93

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a truly unique vacation experience.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,434 - 3,440 of 10,216 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wow! What an Amazing resort with great location and outstanding service! All the staff did their best to make our stay truly amazing!! Il Pescatore is the great place to eat, Maria's Restaurant.. Buffet.! We were even invited by Angie to be special part of the VIP dinner! Eight of us got to experience the food from the menu made by Chef in charge...traditional & unique Mexican cuisine that I never tried before! Chef in charge joined us, explained all about the food served & answered all the questions!That was an amazing experience;) Keep up the good work! thanks for the invite! All the food prepared with so much love!
The room was clean and spacious..houskeeping does a great job....hotels grounds kept neat & clean!
Pool area great, awesome beach view! They do their best to make you happy & satisfied!
Animation team kindly recommended Coco Bongo! That show was amazing!
The only thing that needs fixing is the beach, I love to swim in the sea...and swimmimg is almost impossible at the hotel's beach. So we went for a swim in front of The Royal resort which is next to Gran Porto Real Resort.
Sergio Aveitua customer service representative was great & really helpful!
Overall would gladly come back to this resort!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Goca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ms. Goca2013

Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your experience. It is always so rewarding to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your vacation memorable. Please rest assured that the staff members you have mentioned in your review will all know what an outstanding job they are doing for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Sincerely

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We will be headed to Gran Porto Real in October for our 8th (?) visit. We love it! The staff is awesome! When we arrive several of them have become our good friends and they are there to greet us with hugs. In October we will be taking our 4 grandchildren ages 18,16,14 and 10. See you soon, Javier, Alexis, Teresa, Eliazor, Felipe, Ivan and Delia and everyone else!!

Room Tip: If you want ocean front pick a room on second or third floor. We have always had a room on ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bullock51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ms. Bullock51

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review. We will make sure to tell all our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing and to keep up the good work!
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at "your home away from home".

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wanted an inexpensive all-inclusive trip for 5 days just to relax. Our weather for the first 2 days was rainy and windy, so we were unable to access the beach or pool, but the staff was incredible, the adult beverages delicious. They offered indoor entertainment from board games to no stakes gambling. Never once were we board, the cocktail menu alone at the covered pool side bar was enough to entertain us for a day!
I was traveling with a friend so our room, Ocean Front Junior Suite, was so large that even with two double beds we were never on top of each other. There was more than enough room for all of our things. The view was stunning from our balcony, where we spent a great deal of time. The bathroom had a large walk in shower, and plenty of counter space. The beds were firm and very comfortable, and the linens were nice. House keeping was stellar.
I have a c-pap machine, and needed distilled water for the humidifier. I went to Walmart and couldn't find it (although I read that they may have had it in the baby food aisle and packaged as nursery humidifier water), but the next day two different staff members had stopped on their way into work and brought me some. Additionally they had foam pillows in the room for me when I arrived as I am allergic to feather pillows(I'm a lot more fun than all that sounds HA!)
I cannot say enough about how kind the staff was from the bellmen to the security guards and every single one in between.
All that said, the property itself is a little tired, clean but needs some updating and I did notice some refurbishing going on. The beach has suffered some erosion so it's a bit of a walk if you want to get into the water, and the coast looked a bit on the rocky side. Since I'm not a beach and ocean person I was ok with it. One other thing it bear in mind is that this is a family resort so their are kids around, make of that what you will.
I have never been to an all-inclusive before but my friend had and she thought this was one of the funner resorts she has been too. While it may not be as a fancy as other resorts this was an enjoyable and comfortable experience and I would definitely recommend it and will be going back again!

Room Tip: Definitely get an Ocean Front room! Close to the lobby and pool, unless you are someone who goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Mr. Jaxpgh

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We went to Il Pescatore Restaurant three times while visiting Playa Del Carmen this
past May. Our first experience dinning there was in December 2013.

Jaime Serrano was our server in December and we requested him for our most recent
visits. Jaime is by far the most attentive, sophisticated, personable and professional server we’ve ever had. He remembered us from our previous visit and even remembered our drink preference. He made our dining experience by far one of the best we’ve ever had anywhere.

The restaurant is exceptional! Chef Ruperto is an artist of food. Every dish is so
flavorful and prepared to perfection. Eleazar Gonzales keeps the restaurant running
smoothly and his care of service and professionalism is apparent the minute you walk in.

We highly recommend the Il Pescatore Restaurant for one of the best dining experiences in Playa Del Carman.

Russ and Carol

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Ms. carol p

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful time with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to serve you.

We sincerely hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The resort had everything we needed or wanted. The staff is friendly, helpful and willing to get you anything you want. The entire property was extremely beautiful and clean. We had a ocean front junior suite with a gorgeous view and was cleaned spotless every day. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in at a hotel. It was very nice just to sit out on the breezy balcony and enjoy a cocktail from the liquor dispenser or the mini bar. The restaurants were very good and easy to make reservations. Check in and check out was also a breeze.

Room Tip: Spend the few extra dollars and get an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotx13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Mr. cotx13

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. A very special thank you to Arturo Blancas, who was the AC and coordinated the events at the pool and in the hotel. Not only did Arturo take the time to get to know us - me, my sister, and my friend) - but we would see him socializing with several of the hotel guests to make sure they were having a good time. Of the 6 days we spent at Gran Porto Real, 2 of which were travel days, it rained 4 days straight. But Arturo, Jose, Angie, and the rest of the staff saved the trip with their kindness, suggestions (thanks Jose for recommending CocoBongo! So much fun), and friendship. Another thank you to Elias and Jose Arcos, who served our last meal at the hotel. It was a perfect ending to a very exciting trip, and the fact that I can write "exciting" after 4 days of rain in my opinion says a lot about the staff, the resort and general experience. We're already planning our next trip to Mexico and will most likely stay at Gran Porto Real again. The resort was beautiful, clean, the spa had a jacuzzi (we spent a lot of time at the jacuzzi), a sauna and steam room, and the food/drinks were delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Ms. Nicole M

We would first of all like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us and the rest of the T.A reviewers such an enthusiastic review! We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#40 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £143 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Porto Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing