We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vacation to Remember....”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We just returned from an 8 day stay at the Gran Porto Real and couldnt be more pleased with the Hotel, food and the SERVICE!

My wife, two daughters and additional family (total party of 10) spent the week in Playa del Carmen and LOVED the Gran Porto Real. I would not consider myself a "world traveler" by any means, but have stayed in upscale resorts/hotels such as the Intercontinental, the 4 Seasons and the Ritz. While not too many establishments could rival the amenities of the above mentioned hotels, the service at the Gran Porto Real, not only rivaled, but surpassed these hotels.

From the moment we entered the hotel and checked in, we were treated with "world-class" service. From Aaron, who brought up our bags, to Victoria who kept room 267 "spotless", we couldn't have been treated better.

While out by the pool Bernardo gave us helpful hints for excursions and shopping, but by far our favorite staff member was Pablo Heredia who worked tirelessly in the hot sun to keep us refreshed and entertained. He always had a smile on his face and had wonderful words of encouragement and advice for my teenage daughters. (We thank you Pablo!!)

The rooms were spotless and the jr. suite that we were in was very spacious and comfortable. It even had a hammock in the patio that we enjoyed in the evening breeze.

The food was fantastic and plentiful! The Albatross (buffet) was excellent! We had read some lukewarm reviews about the food here on Trip Advisor, but they couldn't be farther from the truth! The selection, variety and quality was incredible at each meal, and the preparation and presentation was first class.

Maria's Mexican restaurant and Il Pescador were excellent! We went as a group of 10 and were treated with great service and everyone loved their food!

The resort has a true "warm" feeling and feels comfortable wherever you are. From the pool, to the beach, to the Spa, to the gym, it was always clean and welcoming. The workers are always cleaning or available to serve your needs. Our entire party had the time of our lives and we are already discussing which dates we will be coming next year. The only drawback was booking for only 8 days! Next year we will book for at least 10 days...the Gran Porto Real rocks!!!

Some more helpful observations for any one considering the Gran Porto Real. This is not one of the "huge" "sterile" resorts that you will find dotted along the coast in Cancun. This hotel is not "small", but it feels very "quaint"....you see very familiar staff faces if you are here more than 2 days and it is nice to be recognized and even called by name!
The pool area is great....some young children, but definitely not filled with kids, which I liked. I also liked that this resort is not crawling with 20-somethings who drink way too much and are way too loud. This is a perfect resort for the family with teens or extended family vacations.
-Never had to wait for food
-Never had to wait for a drink
-Never had to wait for a towel
-Never had to wait for service
-Never had a need for anything that was immediately addressed by some staff member at the Gran Porto Real. If you cant tell, we loved this hotel!!! Thank you Gran Porto Real!

Room Tip: We had room 267 which was a Jr. Suite. Outside opened to courtyard that had tables and chairs sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jimp634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mr. jimp634

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our facilities and the service and recognition by our people. It is indeed our most important mission to create lasting memories and feedback like yours is truly encouraging for all of us. We have passed on your comments to all the staff members that you mention, who were very happy to hear that they were mentioned by you in particular.
Thank you for taking the time and hopefully your travels will soon bring you back to Gran Porto Real & SPA.

I send you my warmest regards,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,254 - 3,260 of 10,076 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was amazing. The staff were very nice and polite. Eric, Verlin, cristobal, Omar, and arturo made our stay that much better. The bike ride into town, the mini soccer match, and the water aerobics was an awesome touch to the all the inclusive. Cant wait to go back!! Marvin in the opened dining room got me some guavas that was special.. AMAZING experience, my kids didn't want to come home...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Urane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mr. Urane R

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our services and staff. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We vacationed with a large group July 11-15 and had an excellent trip. We had a lot of kids with us and the Entertainment group of Omar, Verlain, Eric, Crystoball and Arturo were outstanding. They had a blast all day with kids and adults alike, from water activities and games to beach volleyball. They really made the trip for all. Additionally, seek out Dario and Pablo for beverage service as they took great care of us all week. They were very friendly, helpful and efficient.

The resort was in a great location just two blocks from Fifth Avenue. The Beach walk out suites were very nice and well maintained. Some of the nicer rooms we have stayed in in MX. I would recommend getting the package/room that allows access to the nearby sister hotel, The Royal. The pool and food service there is outstanding. The one complaint we had at Gran Porto (as many have already pointed out) was the beach and ability to swim. Near impossible, but the beach in front of the Royal was great and only about 150 yards away. With right package, you can use their chairs and cabanas also, which are plentiful.

The pool at Real was nice but did not have swim up bar. However the bar service staff are very efficient and you never had to get out of pool to get a drink and there is the open air grill and pool bar right next to the pool. It is in convenient location for all guests and is fairly large pool.

All of the staff from check in to departure were very friendly and helpful. Food was average but Maria's and II Pescatore were good. The 24 Hour All Inclusive area was always stocked with good snacks and full bar service and great coffee machine. Overall would certainly recommend giving this a shot, especially with kids.

Room Tip: Pick the walk out beach suites if you can. Great view and access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JARottner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mr. JARottner

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our facilities and the service and recognition by our people. It is indeed our most important mission to create lasting memories and feedback like yours is truly encouraging for all of us. Thank you for taking the time and hopefully your travels will soon bring you back to Gran Porto Real & SPA.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent a few days at Gran Porto Real to celebrate our anniversary. From top to bottom everything about the trip was exceptional.

When we got to the hotel our room was ready and as expected. The ocean view jr suite was very clean and had a nice ocean view. The room backed to a fairly main thoroughfare for beach access but noise from the road was a not an issue.

The customer service at gran Porto is exceptional. Everyone is always happy to help and very quick. We enjoyed the restaurants and felt like the food and service was good. We especially enjoyed the sushi bar where David and Martin we're always pleased to help (we went to sushi most every day for lunch). There's not a ton of variety, but we didn't get bored with the food after a 5 day trip.

The entertainment and activity staff was great. We didn't do any excursions or tours and chose to fill our days hanging out by the pool. Verlain, Omar, and Eric were always a pleasure to talk with and did a great job organizing lots of fun things to do, soccer and volleyball on the beach was a blast. Even the water aerobics was fun.

The nightly shows were nice and a good way to break up the day and get out of the heat. We went to the coco bongo one night and had a blast.

The location of gran Porto is unbeatable. Walking distance to shops and restaurants but right on the beach also. The beach at gran Porto was in rough shape. The sand was nice but got pretty rocky as you got in the water. Thankfully there were great stretches of beaches just a short walk away where the water was great.

We left our kids at home this time, but will definitely bring them next time. There were plenty of kids having a good time in a fun and safe environment.

Overall, our trip was an absolute pleasure. We'll definitely consist booking gran Porto for our next trip to playa

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rgsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Mr. Rgsims

Thank you for your lovely and detailed comments about your most recent family vacation here at Gran Porto Real & SPA. It is indeed our pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the natural surroundings of our resort and in particular the service provided by our people. We have passed on your comments to all the staff members that you mention, who were very happy to hear that they were mentioned by you in particular.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a group from ages 5-45
And had a blast! The teens played hours of beach volleyball with the entertainment staff- Verlain, eric, crystoball, Omar and Arturo Pablo was an awesome waiter around the pool

They all went above an beyond!
Great trip

Thank you from Team Texas
Andrew Kelli Alisha Dylan Sydney Tyler Jimmy Stef Dylan Addison Mikey Lindsy Han Reagan Camp Wade Teela Ty

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Texas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr. 1Texas2

It is our true pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed our beautiful resort. Thank you in particular for mentioning the attentiveness of our staff as they are our key factor in creating a most memorable experience.
We certainly hope to able to welcoming you back soon and wend you our warmest regards.

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My girlfriend (now fiancée) and I went to Playa and stayed at the Gran Porto Friday 7/11 thru Mon 7/14. As I wanted to propose to her on a beach, I did a lot of research for an extended weekend in either Playa, Cancun, or Cozumel that was nice but affordable. The Gran Porto and the staff met all my expectations. I booked a travel package through Expedia.

I had been to Cancun with friends in March 2013, but had never been to Playa. I found Playa to be less “touristy” than Cancun, and in a sense more “authentic” in terms of experiencing the culture.

I booked in early June, and immediately contacted the concierge, Mayela, via email with my ideas and the assistance I would need in proposing on the beach the Friday evening we were to arrive. Mayela was awesome in helping me, as we corresponded for a month via email as I wanted everything to be perfect. As I wanted to make sure and surprise my girlfriend, I needed hotel staff assistance for some set up when we arrived, and arranged for the Romantic Dinner offered on the beach by the resort. I also arranged for flowers, wine, and chocolates in our room that evening. Everything was perfect, in large part due to Mayela’s excellent service, along with Martin and Sebastian, who served us at dinner.

Our room (Junior Suite Ocean View) was extremely clean, and the small patio was set with a small table and two chairs where we enjoyed a room service breakfast one morning. The landscaping around the patios and the resort itself is magnificent.

The room was equipped with a liquor cabinet including 4 liquors (we never used), and a small refrigerator with sodas and a beer I didn’t recognize. That’s ok – we enjoyed our adult beverages out by the pool or the beach the majority of the time anyway.

The lobby and the hallways to the rooms are open air, and as a result, rather warm, but it is Mexico, folks. Again, the landscaping even within the lobby and hallways is beautiful, with trees reaching up over three floors tall.

Service – all staff we came into contact was friendly. Like any place, some appear more caring than others, but we had no complaints, and found staff to be willingly helpful.

Restaurants – to be honest the food was good, but not spectacular. Again, no complaints…definitely a lot of variety in the Albatross buffet. Limited options available in the 24 hour café, but okay for snacking during the day. We dined one evening in the Italian restaurant, and the food and service were definitely good, but not remarkable. We did not dine in the Mexican restaurant, Maria’s, although we walked by several times and it was always full and the food looked good. The grill between the beach and the pool met our needs for lunches by the pool, and included hamburgers, hot dogs, and a chicken dish as options. We did not try the sushi by the upstairs pool, as the one time we went to check out the pool, it was closed. Our meal for the Romantic Dinner was the best food we enjoyed at the resort.

Bars – these were okay as well. We got most of our drinks in the outdoor bar over the bridge above the pool, and the drinks were decent.

Pool – the pool was good, but full of kids. Remember it is a family resort rather than adults only, and nowhere is that more evident than by the pool. Again, not a problem, but know what to expect. We did not spend time in the “quiet” pool upstairs, as when we were familiarizing ourselves with the resort upon arrival, we walked by it, and there wasn’t much going on, including any food or drink options. The bar was closed.

Beach – not a usable beach directly behind the resort from a swimming in the ocean perspective. There are lounges, cabanas, chairs to enjoy the beach, but it is eroding (as mentioned in other reviews), and there are sandbags to help ease the effect. It’s also very rocky, making swimming impossible. We went next door to the Royal, and while it was better, it was still rocky. We also could not use chairs there. So we got our beach fix briefly, and spent the better part of our “beach” day cooling off in the pool.

Location – we found it ideal. Within walking distance of the hustle/bustle of Fifth Ave, we enjoyed an evening having dinner at one of the off-resort restaurants, some chips and salsa and a couple beers at an open air bar/restaurant (they are plentiful along the avenue), and sight-seeing the clubs, people, shops, and restaurants along the avenue. All within walking distance.

All in all, the weekend was perfect, and the resort met all of our expectations. I am noting a few minor things that might improve some.

Pro’s
Service
Landscaping
All inclusive
Location (lots of options)
Cleanliness of rooms/bathrooms
Add-on’s (romantic dinner, flowers in the room)

Con’s
Small details (sugar/creamer in the rooms, light bulb that was out in our bathroom)
Could use a swim-up bar
Wifi speed/access was sporadic
Beach – if you want to swim (beyond the resort’s control)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Layne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Mr. CPALayne

First of all we want to congratulate you on your recent engagement! We want to thank your for allowing us to be part of such an emotional moment.
Nothing is more satisfying than to know that you received exceptional service! We will make sure to tell all the staff members you mentioned in your review your kind and encouraging words.
We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My fiance, daughter (6) and I enjoyed our holidays last week (Jul 4-11) at Gran Porto Real.
We found the staff of this resort to be caring, kind, and hardworking. There is a kids club which our daughter always enjoyed spending a couple hours at (you can not leave resort if you leave your child there). We found the property quite busy and never did manage to get a poolside bed with an umbrella :( as there were so few and they always got taken by people putting their towels down (and sometimes never coming back). We enjoyed the food at buffet and a la carte's and found the 24-hour snack bar very convenient.

The one negative, was the time share-like sales pitch they put us through on my birthday (of all days). Yuck - it was not fun and the pitch was super pushy and we ended up standing and leaving. Just avoid this; unless, of course, you are in the market to pay $20K+ for they "points" memberships.

Anyway, one of the GM's (Eduardo) treating my fiance and I to a lovely private romantic dinner on the beach which was a gem of a time and made up for the sales pitch morning.

There is not much of a beach front at this property. It is lined with sandbags, thick seaweed, and high drops not making it at all possible o use the beachfront. We walked along the shore to other beaches (Mamitas, I think it is called) to enjoy the beach.

Hopefully this helps.
Our waiter, Carlos in the buffet was wonderful, as were a lot of the other staff.

Lastly, it is worth the upgrade to a Jr. Suite as the regular rooms are very small and for the most part do not have balconies. Our suite was gorgeous and everyday new animals were made with the towels which made my little girl light up with delight.

All-in-all, a wonderfully memorable holiday and we may go back.

Room Tip: Junior Suite and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Ms. SaraDow

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to first of all congratulate you for your wedding! We also want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.
We want to let you know that the comments and observations we receive from our guests are always taken very seriously, as they tell us what we are doing right, wrong, and how we can improve it, which is why we truly appreciate your willingness to share your impressions.
We will be delighted to host you once more and exceed you expectations.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,807 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £140 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Porto Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing