We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was my second visit to Gran Porto Real and this was even more enjoyable than the first. The new GM (Mr. Barragan) has raised the bar to ensure that all guests are viewed as VIP's. The facility and beach are being continually improved and the hospitality is second to none.
Arturo, Verlin and other members of the guest entertainment staff ensure that there is always plenty of fun activities for everyone and you can tell that they appreciate that you selected Gran Porto Real for your vacation.
The food was delicious at each of their restaurants under the direction of Chief Chef Gerardo Sommelier.
However, the most outstanding dining experience was the Italian restaurant that is part of the
resort. The quality and presentation of the food under Chef Ruperto Cerda Rojas equaled the finest restaurants that I have experienced in New York, Paris or Tokyo.
I hope to return next year!

Room Tip: Choose ocean view or ocean front rooms for a more relaxing trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Mr. Howard T

GRAN PORTO REAL Playa del Carmen thanks you for your time for writing such a positive review as well as we thank you for being able to host such distinguished guests as you are!

Nothing is more satisfying than to know that you received exceptional service! We will make sure to tell all the staff members you mentioned in your review your kind and encouraging words.
We look forward to hosting you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,198
    2,029
    642
    365
    258
See reviews for
3,171
2,872
136
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,692)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My family really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were very clean and on the large size. The service was excellant and all the workers were very friendly and accommodating. The pool was amazing and the all inclusive food and drinks were great, too. The manager Jordan was very helpful and provided great service to us!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWendel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mr. CWendel2014

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at "your home away from home".

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

It was our 25th anniversary family vacation. When we arrived we got a warm welcome from concierge Mayela she right away made you feel at home. She even arrange a special dinner with chef Maurico the food was delicioso. All the restaurant served excellent food. Then there was Eric who's in charge of the entertainment and made my husband get up on stage for a little show it was funny. There was a beautiful beach party on the white sands and beautiful ocean where we all danced. Hats off to amelia who kept our rooms clean. I loved the sushi bar that's right off the second floor pool and Hugo who kept serving us drinks Thanks to Samuel who's a part of security. thanks to everyone.. I will come back.

Room Tip: Book early hotel fills fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Ms. Maria F

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen staff and myself we want to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for such a positive review. We will make sure to tell all our staff members that you have mentioned what a great job they are doing and to keep up the good work!
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Gran Porto Real Hotel for a week with my family It was really fun, i loved the activities and the drinks and everything was really cool i made a lot of friends and it was a great experience, i'd love to come back really soon, and play Waterpolo with the sport & entrainment team (( Verlain, Omar, Eric, Arturo, Cristobal, etc. )) lol.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreams C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Ms. Dreams C

On behalf of Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us your positive review. It puts a smile to our face knowing that you have enjoyed our restaurants, services, staff and our property in general. It is our biggest joy knowing that we exceeded your expectations and we truly hope to have the pleasure of doing it once again!

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Myself and my daughter have just returned from this amazing resort .They have the most warm and friendly staff .We visited all the restaurants and all are outstanding and the italian is definitely worth a book.On one particular evening it was 9pm people were still in the pool ,and there was a bazaar selling local products around the pool area. Guests were dinning in the restaurant and the hotel lobby had a show band on. I was under the mushroom as i called it above the pool working my way through the cocktail list .My only regret is we didnt book a front sea view room as all the beds are at a angle to see the sea .Be aware it dose get dark quite early we walked around the resort between 5-7pm for this reason. Escaret is certainly worth a day out as well which can be booked at guest relations in lobby.
. .

Room Tip: The rooms at the front could be noisey for young families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patreesha18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Ms. Patreesha18

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive review! It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and want to also thank you for granting us with the opportunity to host you.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you here at "your home away from home".

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Let's start by saying that renovations have taken place and you can easily notice them in the Lobby. Checked in with Concierge since it was my second time in this resort. They make you feel at home. Thank you girls. Great food in all restaurants. Great drinks especially in the lobby bar. Pool was crowded but there where plenty of beach chairs. The beach is the only thing I don't like but there's nothing they can do. My room was kept clean and all areas too. Can't get enough of been spoiled and looked after. Thank you again to all the staff. Will definitely come back soon!
One more thing, Mayela at the Concierge desk invited me to join a special dinner with the chef in the kitchen... Totally agreed and had an amazing experience. Hopefully they'll invite me again next time I'm there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheretogothismonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Mr. Wheretogothismonth

It is our true pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed our beautiful resort. Thank you in particular for mentioning the attentiveness of our staff as they are our key factor in creating a most memorable experience.
We certainly hope to able to welcoming you back soon and wend you our warmest regards.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Made good friends with the staff during pool volley ball. Activities are amazing. Great food, great shows like the white beach party and the mexican show. Moguel the lifeguard helped me with my cut and nursed me back to health. I want to thank King Arturo, verlan, chris, omar and eric for keeping everyone so entertained. King Arturo is my favourite because taught me how to salsa! :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darian240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwin B, Gerente at Gran Porto Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ms. Darian240

We would first of all like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us and the rest of the T.A reviewers such an enthusiastic review! We are overjoyed knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom I`m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments and for granting us with the opportunity to host you at Gran Porto Real Playa del Carmen.

Sincerely,

Edwin Barragán
General Manager
Hotel Gran Porto Real & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,322 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing