We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get your act together!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #71 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get your act together!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The biggest problem with this resort is that it seems the management hadn't finished Hotel Hospitality 101. From booking to transportation to check-in to problem resolution the whole experience was disappointing. We were treated as 2nd class. Amenities were NOT as stated on their website. Room lacked tissues, clock, toiletries, robes, horrible lighting, tried to charge us for the in-room safe use. The entertainment seemed grade school quality. Restaurants were not exceptional. Best part about this resort was the friendly staff. Everyone said "Hola!" all the time. May have potential if management finishes their degree in Hotel Management.

Room Tip: No elevators so choose lower level floors if you don't mind climbing 39 steps one way each time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,457
    1,463
    439
    129
    87
See reviews for
1,158
1,387
65
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halfmoon Bay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Just came back from holidays with a friend and had a wonderful time, but...the bugs were unbelievable! I have never experienced as many mosquitoe bites in one week as I did that week - and being in rural Canada - I know my bugs (you could see them on the walls and flying around). Even though I enjoyed the resort itself and have no complaints about the food or anything, I would not return there due to the discomfort of itching that ensued. There is nothing that ruins a great-looking tan faster than a bunch of ugly red welts. If you"re planning to stay here (and it is a nice place), bring your bug spray!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We traveled as a family and this was our first time to Mexico (Ages 40's 20 and 14). Many people told us it was unsafe anywhere we go in Mexico but we still decided to come to Viva Azteca. Wow, were we surprised from the moment we arrived at the airport. We booked the roundtrip airport transfers from the cancun airport website and they were great! Check in was quick and smooth. The rooms we were given were right by the beach which was even better. The beach was BEAUTIFUL and you didn't have to fight over the loungers. Grounds of the hotel were spectacular. Alcohol was not watered down and they serve Sol for beer which was great! The A La Carte restaurants and the buffet all were delicious. Some food was greasy but I didn't mind it. Entertainment was great at all times. They tried to include you into everything they do. After the shows at night they have a mini disco at the lobby bar for all guests which was fun. We for sure will recommend friends to this resort and will be back in the future. Only things we didn't like was that the pool was right out in the sun and by 2PM the water was boiling but hey thats what the beach is for and that the walls in the rooms are really thin that you can hear people next door to you or outside. Thanks Viva Azteca for the great memories!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpirytusNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was our first visit to this lovely all-inclusive resort, Jan 4-18, 2012. Beautiful grounds, immaculate in every way, and from rooms to grounds always evident were the housekeeping and maintenance staff working at keeping it that way. All the Azteca staff are very friendly and we were always greeted with a smile and a "hola". This is a smaller resort (which is always our preference), cozy and very relaxing, with many photo ops on the grounds and on the beach, which is also beautiful. We were on the second floor of the 2000 building which allowed us to enjoy a view of the grounds and the warm night breezes with patio doors open. Buffet food good, great variety for all meals, and Italian a la carte was our favourite. Special thanks to the animation young people (Enzo, Christel, Martin, Carolina, Martina), the bar staff, (Luis, Roberto), and Buffet supervisor (Jose and his staff), who made our trip so enjoyable. We hope to make a return visit next winter.

Room Tip: We liked room 2222, which had a lovely view of the grounds, but made for easy walking to the buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StoneybrookAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I have traveled to the Azteca three times in the last few years. It is a small charming property that is well kept, relaxing and an overall welcoming atmosphere. The only reason we're not returning this year is that we thought we should try something new. Here's my list of pros and cons:
Pros
-Small property, easy access to all of the amenities
-Clean, comfortable rooms, maintained daily and a quick response to anything that may be out of sorts.
-Beautiful beach, lots of clean white sand and clear water
-Within walking distance to Playa Del Carmen (5th Ave shopping, ferry to Cozumel) or an even shorter bike ride (bikes available at the front gate to use for the day)
-Food is good, variety is good, buffet was better than the a la cartes in my opinion
-Top shelf liquor, just make sure you ask for it specifically or you'll get the generic brands out of a hose.
-Best coffee I've had hands down!
-Beach vendors discouraged from trying to sell their wares. You may get a few, but they move quickly to avoid getting in trouble with the security
Cons
-Beach and pool side chairs can be a bit of a problem unless you get up before the sun and stake out a spot. It's a shame that people put towels/shoes and other belongings on chairs to secure a spot and it can sit that way for the whole day, no one ever using them
-Evening entertainment is a bit cheesy, the entertainment staff is the same group of people that organize the sport etc. through the day. Not a problem for us, but if you're expecting Broadway, you'll be disappointed.
-The ride from Cancun can take anywhere from an hour to almost 2 depending on how many other hotels they are dropping off other guests to. A number of other hotels we had to stop at weren't designed with large buses in mind. We had to endure our bus driver inching back and forth for 20 minutes in an attempt to get the bus pulled into the front entrance.

Well, those are the things that come to mind, happy to answer any questions about the property or the area for anyone going there this year. Have a great trip, I'm slightly envious of those of you going, but we're going to try Jamaica this year instead.

Room Tip: We prefer ground floor, next to the pool area. The bar is open 24 hours and there's always food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirabel, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Our room in the 2000's was really ordinairy, but the location close to the pool and bar was nice. The beach is really nice and quiet(no to many children) but lots of trash and cigarettes butch on the beach. No music even at the pool so if you want to relax this is the place. It would be nice to have a little entertainment in the afternoon. Food at buffet really repetitive except at night and very greasy. The restaurant food was on the other hand very good and good service. Would not pay more than 800$ for that resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickardville, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Booked the Azteca for work vacation and loved it!
This hotel has something for everyone and is close to all amenities.
Good food, great service and clean rooms. The beach is fantastic and the staff are friendly and energetic.
Would definately book again in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBS-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#83 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
6,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,458 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Property: Viva Wyndham Azteca
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing