We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly over rated!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #71 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beautiful beach!!!! But this is nothing more than a two star resort. The rooms are clean but dated and have no balconies to sit out and enjoy the view. The location is excellent and within walking distance to the famous 5th Avenue. The service is not great. There are great resorts along the Mayan Riviera this is not one of them:(

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations during your recent visit to the Riviera Maya.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to convince you of our services on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

I just spent last week at the Azteca and I enjoyed it immensely. Right from the airport I was handled politely and efficiently, check-in/check-out was a breeze and not once was there a face that was not smiling. The hotel, grounds and beach are kept immaculate. My room was right next to the beach and more than adequate with a comfortable bed. I kept a busy schedule so I never actually tried the a la carte restaurants, but I can tell you that no matter what time of day I could always find something I could eat at the buffets or the snack bar. I thought the location was great, a scenic 10 minute walk down the beach to PDC or a 2 minute $5 cab ride if you were travelling later at night yet far enough away from the 5th Avenue that you felt you had your own private piece of Paradise. I came here to certify in scuba diving and was able to handle everything right from my hotel. Tours are really easy to book as well. You will usually pay more for things like this through a hotel, but I found the prices comparable and the convenience a great relief. The diving was amazing with a courteous, knowledgeable and professional staff that made the experience that much better. (Thank you Odin and all) I will dive here again and would not hesitate to stay at the resort. All in all I found the Azteca a friendly, quiet, enjoyable resort. If I had any complaint at all it would be that the showers weren't always warm, but after +31 and 100% humidity I didn't mind that so much

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Viva Wyndham Azteca. It is very nice to read your good remarks about our services and facilities. Also we are very happy to know that you were able to enjoy our excellent location.

We look forward to your next stay at our resort and thank you for recommending us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We was two weeks Azteca Feb. 4 to Feb. 18. First I must say that the hotel was expensive for three-star hotel. At that price should include at least free Wi-Fi in the room and a safe deposit box. We expected more value for our money. We were four adults and two rooms (1123 and 1124) ground floor. A hotel rooms needs improvements, the bed was too hard to sleep and mattress was dirty, the room had a bad smell, maybe there is moisture damage and mildew because the roof was cracks and it was a bit soft. The shower floor is not well sealed.

STOLEN MONEY LOCKED SAFE DEPOSIT BOX

And now the worst part what happen to us. While we were away from the hotel the whole day excursion, our money was stolen from the locked safe deposit box for both rooms. It happen two different days when we was full day away from the hotel. Before full day excursion we counted our money many times what we have and wrote it down and lock the back door and we took a picture that the door was locked. After trip we counted our money again and we notice that some of the cash was stolen and one of the locks of the door was open (door has two locks). Then we contacted the travel agency and the hotel front desk.

Front desk lady print some report if anyone else has been in our room than cleaner, and only the cleaner has been in our rooms once a day. Then she ask a few questions if we have drop our money by mistake, but it is not possible because the money has been all the time safety deposit box, and we didn't need those money (euros) because we had pesos. Then she smiled sarcastically and said that it's not possible that some of the staff can get there. She was very rude, we wonder why she smiling things like that what happen to us.

Then we spoke with the hotel manager, who also did not lead to anything. There was no evidence of forced entry. The only option was to do a police report to the insurance company. We lost money total 550 euros and it's about 9000 pesos, so someone got a good money. We were stupid because we put the code to the safe in our date of birth and year. After all this, we changed a code and then our money didn't stolen anymore. Thief takes the money in small amounts that you don't maybe notice that at all. Similar case has been happen this hotel before, if you read tripadvisor feedbacks.

We think that someone at the front desk and somebody else is untruthful at the hotel. Maybe someone from the front desk tell customers date of birth and someone tries it to the box or hotel had a system for when guests check out that they can cancel the cable and neutralize the safe.
There is some system how they do this, without breaking marks and it is well-organized. Hotel should be ashamed, but they only smiling.

OTHER THINGS
- Food was good (once the meat was raw)
- Beach was excellent
- Music is playing too loud
- Not always enough beach chairs
- Weak coffee service at the buffet (dinner time, we were not served coffee without asking)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pinja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Your comments will be forwarded to the responsible department but please note that the investigation of the report submitted by you was carried out according to the established procedures. We are sorry for any inconvenience or annoyance that you might have experienced during your last visit with us. In case you would have any further questions regarding the information that was provided to you please do not hesitate to contact us.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We recently stayed at Viva Wyndham Azteca with our 13 and 10 year old and had a great time! This is a great resort for families - small enough that we didn't worry if the kids weren't in sight, lots of activities, and a bonus for us was no swim up bar, only because then the kids didn't have to see the people that sit there all day and get pretty sloppy. The one bar was close enough to the pool and beach that it wasn't hard to go grab a drink. Lots of variety of alcohol and the kids enjoyed all the kids/virgin drinks. The staff was excellent, very friendly and great service. Our 10 year old only went in the kids club the last day, but he had a great time. I think the only reason he didn't join them at pool games earlier as their were no English speaking kids in the club. The entertainment staff was excellent, very friendly and there were always a variety of activities to choose from. The food at the buffet was fine - not wonderful but not terrible either. We only ate at the Italian a la carte but it was very good, best meal we had. We went to the Mexican a la carte at the Viva Wyndham Maya and it wasn't actually a great meal, but the service and atmosphere were excellent. We did watch the trapeze at that resort, and the kids did the climbing wall and archery. It was nice, bigger and busier then the Azteca. The rooms at Azteca were very clean and we always saw staff busy scrubbing something! The beach was amazing, not rocky at all and you could walk out a really long way before it became deep. Location was excellent, about a 15-20 minute walk into Playa del Carmen or $7 taxi ride. The one downfall for us was there were a lot of smokers and they didn't seem to care about the non smokers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1237, second floor right by stairs so it did get a little noisy. I would request p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate you choosing Mexico and especially our resort for your family vacation. We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent time with your family and that you were able to enjoy the activities offered at both our properties. Our customer’s satisfaction is our constant goal. Knowing we reached this goal in your recent stay is very rewarding for all our hard working staff members and it will reinforce their commitment to provide quality service to all of our guests.

Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

As a whole the hotel is a decent value as a 3 star resort, but there is very little to receive as a VIP Service upgrade. I spent the whole 7 days first trying to get the special gift offered as a VIP upgrade but never did get the bottle of wine and fruit basket. Upon arrival VIP quests had to stand in line with the other quests to receive their rooms even though there was a sign for VIP quests at the front desks. There was not one offer of a room upgrade offer for the 3 rooms my family booked. The isonly two VIP areas in the resort: 6 tables in the maining dinning room with nicer wine glasses and napkins and approx 24 beach lounges roped off on the beach. Ensure the replacement of room amenties daily was a constant battle with housekeeping. Late check out was a joke as we were offered only 2 hours until 2 pm which left you with no place to change or shower after hanging around waiting for the bus which came at 5pm and this was only offered to us on the day of departure. If I had paid another $25.00 US I could have a room guaranted earlier in the week.
Of all the staff, the front desk clerk Brisa was the worst I ever dealth with. She was very rude, unhelpful and disrespectfull constantly

Room Tip: Do Not Pay Extra For The GRANDE VIP SERVICE Upgrade Package, there is very lillte extras for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnStormy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent vacation at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We regret the inconveniences that you might have experienced during your recent vacation at our resort. We take our guest’s opinions very serious and therefore rest assured that your comments will be taken as valid points that will assist us in our commitment to continue improving the quality of our services for our future guest.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort and we remain at your entire disposal.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Resort was as advertised. Your basic 3 star, good food, drinks, rooms clean and staff friendly with lots of activities. Very much an European clientele
We were a family of 4 staying with 1 other who had bought the VIP package,so we decided when we got to the resort that we would also buy this package. What a mistake, first Brisa the front desk attendant charged us $45 a night when the package and their website says it is $45 for 3 days and then $10 a night after. After a very long argument with Brisa, she finally acknowledged that it was $45 for 3 nights not per night. By then we had decided to not bother( the package is not really worth it). She told us we could not cancel it as Irene who is her boss would not be in for 2 days and therefor we had to take it. So took it we did. As I have mentioned its not worth buying and gave us nothing but stress for the first 2 days of our week long trip. After the third day we were told to turn in our VIP bracelets or they were going to charge us an addition $20 per person extra.Brisa was probably the most rude front desk staff I have ever dealt with. Upon leaving we had to sign a release or Brisa said that they were going to charge us an other $45 each. What a bunch of bunk. So far we have not received our refund and I would advise travelers to be very wary of any packages that the Viva Wyndham Azteca offers.

Room Tip: Don't buy the VIP package
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BeachSeeker_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

We regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Top 3 good:
1. Friendly, courteous cleaning, bar, and restaraunt staff, worked hard to make you happy
2. Great beach and proximity to town
3. Good food quality in buffet

Top 3 bad:
1. Cannot escape the smokers (and it seemed like there were a lot of smokers) and second hand smoke. No designated smoke areas or enforcement of designated smoke areas. Small venues made it worse. It was even bad in beach areas.
2. Have to compete with hotel workers for use of very small gym, no hygiene control in gym, TV seems to be there for the staff to watch, old, rusty antiquated equipment.
3. Accomodations : too noisy as close to bar/show, no water supplied in rooms after your first bottle, bed as hard as a board and VERY hard to get good night's sleep, maintenance was scheduled on 3 seperate days in our room (inconvenient and thinking this could be planned better).

Some advice:
1. Do not accept a room close to the bar/show if you want to sleep before 12:30 am. Very noisy between 9:30 pm -12:30 am.
2. Gym is quieter after 9:30 am after staff get to work, but I like to be out before this.
3. Keep your empty bottles, you will have to fill them at the various water coolers throughout the resort.

In general, it was a lot of money (5 star cost) for a 2.5 to 3 star resort. Wouldn't return on the cost versus value basis.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of Viva Wyndham Azteca we would like to thank you for choosing our Resort as the destination for your recent vacation.

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring these points to our attention. Your insightful comments are highly appreciated and will be shared with the corresponding departments. Your experience and the information you are providing will help us to continually improve our services.
It is our priority to completely satisfy all of our clients and we can assure you that we work every day with great efforts to optimize our services.

We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,979 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#40 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#88 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#78 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Avenida Xaman Ha Manzana 8, Lote 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £124 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing