We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach in Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Ranked #71 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

One of best vacations ever! We spent one amazing week at Viva Wyndham Azteca. We were impressed with this small hotel, how clean the room was, how courteous and attentive the staff was and what great service everyone provided. The food was very good, the fruits extremely fresh and the menu was varied. Enjoyed the pasta station very much (mostly prepared by an Italian native cook). Great idea to have outdoor dining. Enjoyed dining al fresco every day. The beach is great, with crystal clear water. Plenty of chairs and shade, not only because of the multiple palapas, but of all the beautiful palm trees. The hotel also has beautiful and very well maintained gardens. Enjoyed a la carte dinners at the Maya and Italian restaurants. Highly recommend the Mayan cuisine. Excellent maid service and everyone is friendly, polite and professional. We would definitely return to this beautiful and charming hotel. Thanks to everyone for making our stay at your hotel so wonderful!

Room Tip: Ground floor near the gardens. The have chairs to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Manuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for publishing your positive review on TripAdvisor.

It is a joy to hear that we achieved our constant goal of offering our guests an unforgettable stay at our property. Your positive comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms, the freshness of our food and the excellent customer services provided by our employees truly honor us. Rest assured that we will share these comments with our dedicated staff members.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 3,888 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent place for the family. Great people. Animation group is very helpful. Is our 6 time we visit the hotel and every time is better!!! The best time for visiting the hotel is June. In July is full. But even that is "great". Hope we can come in December for the holidays and check how is the service in that month...

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Pollo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Reading your positive review about your sixth visit to our hotel is a real reward for the entire team here at Viva Wyndham Resorts.

We are delighted to know that we have achieved our goal of offering you another memorable stay at our Viva Wyndham Azteca Resort. Furthermore we look forward to your upcoming visit in December. The month of December will be filled with the magic that surrounds the Christmas and New Years season. Combined with the beautiful settings of our Resort it will be a guaranteed success.

Thank you for recommending the Viva Wyndham Azteca on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

In general, the Trip Advisor reviews I read described this property accurately. For our group of six, by far, the best aspect of the Azteca is the beautiful beach. If you are a beach lover, as we are, you won't be disappointed by the broad clean beach. The water was warm and clear and on 2 days there was enough of a surf for the kids to use the boogie boards provided by the resort. Other days found the water to be very calm. Plenty of beach chairs to use and room to spread out. We also took a catamaran ride from the beachfront one day which also is free of charge and they will send a "captain" with you if you are inexperienced.
The pool was clean and not overly crowded. The water was a bit warm to my taste---but what do you expect in Mexico in July? Plenty of activities and games orchestrated by the happy young people who comprised the animation team if you wished to join in. Or not.
The grounds were very clean and well maintained and most of the staff were pleasant and polite, especially if you said hello (in any language).
Our room had a balcony overlooking the beach (2201). We didn't spend much time in the room but it was clean and satisfactory. My daughter loved the towels folded into various animals each day when we returned to our room.
The food was OK. Not a gourmet dining experience (we knew that before arriving) but you won't starve either. Just OK.
The bartenders were happy and helpful. I found if you were very specific about how you liked your drink they would accommodate you. Otherwise, you get a standard, slightly weak version of a Margarita, etc.. A nice tip for your bartender at the beginning of the day was appreciated and remembered by them.
So, overall, a nice property for a relaxing beach vacation. For those looking for a small, non-pretentious property with a nice beach, this resort would fit the bill.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fettucine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your review regarding the Viva Wyndham Azteca.

It is very nice to read your good remarks about our services and facilities. Also we are very happy to know that we were able to comply with all of your expectations. Your special mention regarding the towel animals sculptured by our maids is very much appreciated. We hope that this small but lovely detail made you feel welcome to our Resort.

We look forward to your next stay at our Resort and thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We chose this resort because of the price and pictures of the beach area. My husband and I were here with our 14 year old son. We had an issue with the air conditioning in our room (top floor) not cooling too good but we did get moved to ground floor next day and air worked fine. Room was very clean. Maid service was excellent. We would ask for extra water and they always left it. There was always plenty of chairs at the beach. Chairs by the pool was another story, you would have to get up pretty early to "reserve" one if you wanted one. That didn't bother us though because we spent our time at the beach. The beach was excellent, the water was beautiful. We didn't think the smoking was an issue. The food was good. The Italian restaurant was very good. The pizza at the snack bar by the pool was also very good. It is a small resort but nice and very clean. The pool was like taking a hot bath. We stayed from June 20th to the 25th so it was very hot and humid. Didn't like having to pay to use the safe or paying for wifi in the room. Another thing that was hard to get used to, there was no air conditioning in the lobby or main buffet restaurant or bar. I guess I am a spoiled American. lol I just have never been to a resort without air. Everyone was nice and friendly. We did go to the 5th Avenue shopping area. The whole area was nice and safe. We would stay here again. The beaches and sea are worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you were able to enjoy our services and facilities. Our customer’s satisfaction is our constant goal. On the other hand rest assured that we will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.

Thank you for choosing our Resort and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Friendly staff, great food and drinks. Can't beat the view and the amenities, the beach and the water are spectacular! The animation staff is also quiet entertaining and enhance the stay! The only negative is you have to walk down the beach a few hotels to get on the dive boat.

Room Tip: Near the pool bar is my favorite place. You can see the pool and ocean at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Azteca during your recent vacations. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending our Resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a two week stay here. The first room we were given overlooked a 24 hr generator. Management were able to move us to another room but not until the next day. After that all was fine. Food was good but nothing fantastic. There was a 24 hr bar and international brands were on offer. Not far from 5th avenue. If you want a balcony then none of the upstairs will suit as there are only about 30cms wide... Overall enjoyed it.

Room Tip: If you want to sit outside your room, then it will have to be a ground floor one. Ask for a garden/p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on your recent vacation at the Riviera Maya.

We assure you that all of our clients’ opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to continuously improve our services and facilities. Therefore all of your comments, both pros and cons, will be taken into consideration.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Wyndham Viva Azteca. The service was great, the room was spotless, and the grounds was beautiful. The food was decent. We were upgraded to a honeymoon suite upon arrival, and it was very nice with a Jacuzzi tub. It also had a walk in shower. We even had washclothes in the room. We ate the buffet the first night, and it was pretty good (we are picky eaters). The second night we went into town and ate at a local restaurant. The third night we ate at the specialty Italian restaurant, and was impressed. We both had the beef filet medialions, and they melted in our mouths. We visited the Wyndham Viva Maya, and it appeared as though they had a lot more children at that resort. The beach was gorgeous. I would return to this property.
The room 2301 was on the top floor, so it did not get as cool as I would have liked. The view was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent-and-Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamAzteca, Director General at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your wife at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

It is a pleasure to know that you were able to enjoy our services and facilities. Our customer’s satisfaction is our constant goal and knowing we reached this goal in your recent stay is very rewarding for all our hard working staff members and it will reinforce their commitment to provide a quality service to all of our guests.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Azteca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,979 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#40 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#88 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#78 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Avenida Xaman Ha Manzana 8, Lote 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#62 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £124 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing