We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lobster meal”
Review of La Mission

La Mission
Reserve with OpenTable
La Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 1,258 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Soups, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The popular Cozumel Restaurants Casa Mission, La Mission and Parilla Mission have brought their concept to Playa del Carmen. La Mission offers generous portions of seafood, steaks and Mexican specialities at affordable prices. And their "If you don't like it, you don't pay it" slogan is hard to beat. Proof of this is the preference of locals and visitors.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great lobster meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We saw the lobster display while walking past, and had to try it. The meal comes with a lime soup starter that was great. The lobster is 250gm and while the visual appearance was unusual, the flavour was awesome. The dessert was ok. However all in all this was outstanding value meal, as the lobster was $23.00

There is an outdoor courtyard, but it was not being used in the evening, however it was very pretty to look at, and we were seated alongside it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    284
    70
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great lime soup?”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Ate here twice during our week in Playa. Loved the soup that came with our meal. Best guacamole that we had all week and we loved our waiter! Had steak and lobster for $24 usd. It was awesome! 7 in our group and each time we ate there everyone loved their meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunwithstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Ceviche and Tortilla Soup!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went here twice while in PDC upon a recommendation from a local. Food was fresh, delicious, seasoned perfectly. We loved the ceviche, had it twice and it was fantastic. Nice amount of shrimp and fish. Chicken Mole was fantastic too, lots of good drinks as well. Service was very professional, but not stuck up. Facilities were clean, open grill area lets you see whats cooking.

I'd go back here in a heartbeat!

TIP - Ask for the Habanero salsa if you dare... few drops in the ceviche makes it even better (if possible)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
223 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

It is a little off 5th avenue but worth the walk. I had the Mission shrimp that came on a platter. Hugh shrimp wrapped in bacon on top of onion ring and rice, could not finish. Hubby had the Tampico tampequena (skirt steak, marinated the Best ever). Ate at the La Mission in Cozumel also and had the Lobster for $23.00. Delicious and a great value- Don't miss this long time mexican restaurant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grannyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The perfect lunch!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a nice surprise on Avenida 10!
The restaurant is much bigger than it first looks from outside, clean, very nicely decorated, complete with seats outside in an interior courtyard. The waiter seemed very happy to be there and the service was fast and courteous. The food was delicious, I can recommend the Lime Soup and the Pollo en Molle as well as the Filete a la Tampiquena. At the end, we got a surprise desert on the house!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brindusa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mission also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing