We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit card reader doesnt work, huh?”
Review of Aldo's Gelato

Aldo's Gelato
Ranked #8 of 43 Dessert in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Why do you have a credit card reader when you don't accept credit cards? Didn't feel bad leaving the already scooped gelato.

Thank marcjma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelatoexperience, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldo's Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Hi, we are so sorry for the inconvinience. Unfortunatly the internet service in playa del carmen falls down oftenly, more at this season period. We do accept all credit cards except american express. We are very sad to get a low review for that inconvinience that actually is out of our hands. Playa del carmen is the most growing city in mexico and that brings along structural problems of unplanned growth. So all business are dealing with water, electricity, internet, etc problems. For sure the credit card problem was solved very quickly, as the internet cane back.
Hope to be able to serve you and give you the service you deserve and expect soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Not quite sure what all the fuss is about...there is an Aldo's on almost every corner and it felt/tasted very commercial. Amorino's is so much tastier, creamier....and makes a very pretty flower cone.

Thank rsb1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

One of my favourites Italian Gelato here in playa. Lots of great flavours of fruits, chocolate and vanilla. They also offer coffee and crepes for breakfast in some locations . Must try if you visit.

Thank 857manolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We got two huge ice creams here for the equivalent of around £3GB. The ice cream was the tastiest I've ever had but very rich, I only managed to eat about 70% of it!

Thank AndrewG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelatoexperience, Director Comercial at Aldo's Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

We loved your comment!! Thank you so much, we enjoy so much inventing new flavors and love it when our costumers like it too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

While visiting Playa del Carmen we enjoyed gelato at Aldo three times during our two week stay. So many flavors to choose many. Really great that servers are happy to let you try as many flavors as you like with samples on small plastic spoons. Although I would try different flavors I also ended up with the pistachio. It was delicious. Nice to sit at table, eating gelato and people-watching.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PLS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gelatoexperience, Director Comercial at Aldo's Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

We are very happy you enjoyed our gelato. There is nothing better than a satisfied client. Hope to see you in our gelato stores soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldo's Gelato also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aldo's Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing