We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but service is lacking”
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great hotel, but service is lacking”
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel itself is VERY nice. Nice design, clean and the top bar is amazing with the nice pool. But being a "design hotel" which just opened a few months ago, that is what you should expect. Have in mind this hotel is situated in the central of town so it can be a bit noisy since most rooms are facing the road, but if you're looking for relaxation, you might better go to Tulum than Playa del Carmen :)

But when it comes to service, I think it's lacking. First, they got our booking wrong (missed 1 day), but luckily they solved it (and luckily we noticed it!!), the reception is often crowded (only one person there), breakfast staff was terribly slow (even though a handful guests), the elevator is not in service even though they opened months ago, the cleaning lady usually missed something every day (forgot to give us new towels, forgot to replace dirty drinking glass etc), the balcony door couldn't be locked).

Hopefully, they'll fix these early problems since they just opened up. So if you're looking for a great design hotel in the central part of Playa del Carmen, this is for you.

Be sure to get tickets for the beach club at the reception if you want a good breach party and the sushi place is great!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbosve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    148
    31
    11
    12
See reviews for
40
334
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Booked originally for 2 nights (when we booked only one review was available on Tripadvisor; a review too good to be true so we prefered to book only the first 2 nights in case we would need to change of hotel), my girlfriend and I stayed in the end 12 amazing nights. The hotel is brand new with very large rooms. We booked the junior suite (room 203) which was amazing. The design (white rooms with wooden floor throughout, flat screen...), the materials, the very large bed are extremely seducing. Our room included a hot tub; it is amazing even if it takes a long time to fill. The shower was very spacious, actually for 2 with 2 shower heads.
The service of the hotel is of great quality with people always smilling and prompt. Front desk is very helpful with all you would need to spend great holidays (information about car rentals, sightseeing, restaurants, beaches,...) and bartenders with great cocktails. Concerning the suhsi restaurant located on the ground floor, I have to admit that we were very sceptical of the quality we would find in Playa Del Carmen. However, overcoming this fear we tried it and loved it.
Location wise (avenida 5th y calle 26) you are only one block from the famous 5th avenue with 10 min walk to the main restaurants and clubs (Avenida 5th y calle 12). The beach is one block after the 5th avenue; white thin sand and deep blue sea.

We are quite picky travellers in terms of hotel and Be Playa checked all the box. We definitely recommend this hotel and will go back again.

Many thanks for the great time we had!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2011
Dear Ludok,

Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to read you had such a good time on our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I stayed here on New Year's Eve December 31, 2010. It was terrific and I am someone who typically travels on business and stays in Ritz Carlton or JW Marriott hotels. The hotel just opened on December 24, 2010. The hotel is of a modern, fashion-conscious, trendy design. It has four floors with rooms on the top three floors. On the first floor there is a terrific sushi restaurant named Sushi Club that looks just like something out of South Beach. On the roof is a bar and a pool with a beautiful view over Playa del Carmen. The pictures on the hotel web site (behoteles.com) are just like the hotel really looks. The hotel is located just one block west of 5th Avenue (the pedestrian-only main street) in Playa del Carmen, at the northeast corner of 26th street. This is the newer, more upscale part of Playa, with a nice beach club just two blocks away.
My room was a standard, which is the smallest they have. But it was huge, with two queen-size beds, plenty of room and special lighting fixtures everywhere (under the bed platform, beside each night stand, high hats over each bed, etc.). There was a large flat-screen tv suspended from the wall so you could easily adjust it to view from either bed. The bathroom had a walk-in shower with frosted glass walls on one side, two separate shower heads in the "rain shower" style, and tile or marble on three sides. The bathroom also had two modern above counter sinks and a toilet enclosed in a frosted glass walled separate side room.
The hotel staff all were very helpful, friendly and extremely service-oriented. Even though the hotel had only been open for a week when I stayed there, the staff were all very professional and experts at their work.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Playa del Carmen. And let me just close by saying this review is coming from a traveler with very high expectations!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mm6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing