We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this hotel if you have the opportunity”
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #29 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I loved it - a hotel that offers fantastic comfort in a stylish setting. The Junior Suite is great - comfortable bed, great shower and everything is functional. The balcony is a really nice spot to relax also but the jewel in the crown is the stunning and spacious roof terrace. The website photos do not do it justice. It is a huge space with four seperate corner areas, a precariously placed swimming pool and fabulous views. Drinks are also served.

The service in the hotel is discreet but very good (sometimes slow at the bar in the evening though) although I am not sure if there is room service. The breakfast is delicious. The wireless connection is reasonable.

All in all this is a very relaxed accomodating place to stay either as somewhere to totally relax in or as a plush place to treat as a crash pad - it is only 5 minutes from ace beaches, restaurants, bars and clubs. Apparently the Sushi served in the restaurant is the best in the area and so disappointed not to have tried it.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear "AntWill",

Thank you for your nice words! It is always a joy to know that our guests had a good time with us!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

We booked this hotel on a gamble, at the time there had only been one review and it was positive so we thought we would give it a chance.

Firstly the good points:
- free wi-fi in rooms
- professional ever present staff
- AMAZING rooftop bar and chillout area
- great bed and sheets
- overall clean, modern , pleasing rooms
- great location if you want to be in the thick of things
- even free apples in the hallways

Bad points
- the NOISE especially the noise of people om the staircase, out of three nights we did not once get a full nights sleep.
- a very very wet floor in the shower/bathroom area as it's not completely sealed off
- we only got 1 bottle of water each for the three nights we were there!

So over all this hotel was lovely to look at, nice rooms, rooftop, restaurant, professional service and good location but if you value your sleep highly this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Away from the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherwoodbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear "sherwoodbaby",

Thanks for the positive review! Playa del Carmen is a very dynamic place, and people is coming and going all the time. This is a lively place, with a bit of noise sometimes. We are sorry about that!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We chose Be Playa because of it’s funky modern décor. I would consider it more shabby chic, but interesting and we thoroughy enjoyed our stay here.

We took advantage of the 4 night stay which included one night at Be Tulum. Our first part of the stay was for 2 nights at Be Playa, and we had a room with two queen beds. We prefer King, but this worked out well. The room was well appointed with a fun Jacuzzi, small sitting area, hammock on the balcony, two sinks, two person shower, and a separate toilet area. Because of the modern bowl type sinks, the counter space was a little limited, but we made due. The room included two free bottles of water (per stay apparently, not per day), and a frig with pay as you use items. Shampoo and soap was supplied, but you might want to bring your own shampoo. Always hot running water in the large showers. A/C worked great.

One thing we did have to bring to the attention at check out was that our patio door did not lock and anyone from another room could have hopped over on the balcony easily and gotten in to our room. The other issue we had with this first room was that even tho it had a room safe, it wasn’t bolted to anything! You could simply walk away with it. I considered it a major security issue, and the front desk seemed concerned when I told them.

There was a cute rooftop pool/bar/ and lounge area with beds for sunbathing. We never saw anyone up there, and the bar was always closed. I asked at the front desk if we could get drink service up there and was told “of course”, but I guess you’d have to go down and order it yourself, or order it before you went up. That also brings up a point that they don’t have elevators. If they do, they weren’t working or available yet.

As part of the promotion, we left on our 3rd day to go to Be Tulum. The hotel provided the transfers and that all went smoothly. Be Tulum is a cute hotel right on the beach, with great service and a wonderful atmosphere. However, Tulum appears to be too quiet for us, so one day/night was just perfect.

Upon return to Be Playa, we were then given a room with a King bed, but it was a much smaller room due to that fact. Still appointed well, but arranged differently. This time the patio door locked, and the safe was bolted inside the closet!

We never did try the sushi restaurant down in the lobby. We aren’t sushi fans, however it looked very nice. At night they had music playing (not too loud, didn’t bother us up in the room), but there were just a handful of people at the bar.

All in all, we were very pleased with the Be Playa/Tulum hotels. We found it to be in a great location and had all the amenities we look for in a small boutique hotel in Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZsaZsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel itself is VERY nice. Nice design, clean and the top bar is amazing with the nice pool. But being a "design hotel" which just opened a few months ago, that is what you should expect. Have in mind this hotel is situated in the central of town so it can be a bit noisy since most rooms are facing the road, but if you're looking for relaxation, you might better go to Tulum than Playa del Carmen :)

But when it comes to service, I think it's lacking. First, they got our booking wrong (missed 1 day), but luckily they solved it (and luckily we noticed it!!), the reception is often crowded (only one person there), breakfast staff was terribly slow (even though a handful guests), the elevator is not in service even though they opened months ago, the cleaning lady usually missed something every day (forgot to give us new towels, forgot to replace dirty drinking glass etc), the balcony door couldn't be locked).

Hopefully, they'll fix these early problems since they just opened up. So if you're looking for a great design hotel in the central part of Playa del Carmen, this is for you.

Be sure to get tickets for the beach club at the reception if you want a good breach party and the sushi place is great!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbosve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Booked originally for 2 nights (when we booked only one review was available on Tripadvisor; a review too good to be true so we prefered to book only the first 2 nights in case we would need to change of hotel), my girlfriend and I stayed in the end 12 amazing nights. The hotel is brand new with very large rooms. We booked the junior suite (room 203) which was amazing. The design (white rooms with wooden floor throughout, flat screen...), the materials, the very large bed are extremely seducing. Our room included a hot tub; it is amazing even if it takes a long time to fill. The shower was very spacious, actually for 2 with 2 shower heads.
The service of the hotel is of great quality with people always smilling and prompt. Front desk is very helpful with all you would need to spend great holidays (information about car rentals, sightseeing, restaurants, beaches,...) and bartenders with great cocktails. Concerning the suhsi restaurant located on the ground floor, I have to admit that we were very sceptical of the quality we would find in Playa Del Carmen. However, overcoming this fear we tried it and loved it.
Location wise (avenida 5th y calle 26) you are only one block from the famous 5th avenue with 10 min walk to the main restaurants and clubs (Avenida 5th y calle 12). The beach is one block after the 5th avenue; white thin sand and deep blue sea.

We are quite picky travellers in terms of hotel and Be Playa checked all the box. We definitely recommend this hotel and will go back again.

Many thanks for the great time we had!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Dear Ludok,

Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy to read you had such a good time on our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,


Be Playa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I stayed here on New Year's Eve December 31, 2010. It was terrific and I am someone who typically travels on business and stays in Ritz Carlton or JW Marriott hotels. The hotel just opened on December 24, 2010. The hotel is of a modern, fashion-conscious, trendy design. It has four floors with rooms on the top three floors. On the first floor there is a terrific sushi restaurant named Sushi Club that looks just like something out of South Beach. On the roof is a bar and a pool with a beautiful view over Playa del Carmen. The pictures on the hotel web site (behoteles.com) are just like the hotel really looks. The hotel is located just one block west of 5th Avenue (the pedestrian-only main street) in Playa del Carmen, at the northeast corner of 26th street. This is the newer, more upscale part of Playa, with a nice beach club just two blocks away.
My room was a standard, which is the smallest they have. But it was huge, with two queen-size beds, plenty of room and special lighting fixtures everywhere (under the bed platform, beside each night stand, high hats over each bed, etc.). There was a large flat-screen tv suspended from the wall so you could easily adjust it to view from either bed. The bathroom had a walk-in shower with frosted glass walls on one side, two separate shower heads in the "rain shower" style, and tile or marble on three sides. The bathroom also had two modern above counter sinks and a toilet enclosed in a frosted glass walled separate side room.
The hotel staff all were very helpful, friendly and extremely service-oriented. Even though the hotel had only been open for a week when I stayed there, the staff were all very professional and experts at their work.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Playa del Carmen. And let me just close by saying this review is coming from a traveler with very high expectations!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mm6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las suites son bastante amplias, cómodas y el precio es bastante accesible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank José E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,609 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#9 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £85 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing