We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Cool in Be Playa”
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Be Cool in Be Playa”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

What a delightful little hotel. Quite literally one minute from 5th ave with all its noise, the hotel is at the quieter end of the pedestrian strip. A nice little sushi bar downstairs, a cool rooftop bar/lounge upstairs and great rooms in between. The staff is always helpful and courteous and the place has the feeling of a hotel for friends. As boutique hotels go, this is one of the best. Now, to be honest, there is some noise penetration. It's not built for sound insulation. One evening, there was some private reception upstairs and we were warned with both an invitation and a couple of complementary beverage coupons, which was a nice touch (if you know you're going to make noise, why not at least invite the neighbours???).

All in all a great experience and highly recommendable to all, unless you want standard, well insulated fare in which case good luck at the holiday inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear "KerryMontreal",

Thank you for your nice words! It is always a joy to know that our guests had such a good time with us!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    147
    31
    11
    11
See reviews for
37
327
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Its my 3 visit to Playa del Carmen, and 2 time to Be Playa, the first time was on my honey moon and now we came back with 20 friends to party in Playa. All of mu friends love the hotel, the service, the food, the rooftop pool, full recomended

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear "roycastillero",

Thank you for your nice words! It is always a joy to know that our guests had a good time with us!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nice place. Nice location, but the loudest hotel I have ever stayed in. We were in suite 205 which is wrapped on two sides by windows that open to the street. Nice design, but at night, we had to leave the television on to drown out the noise of the traffic outside. (You don't realize how many cars in Mexico have defective mufflers until you are laying there at night counting them). We are a bit older, and weren't out that late, so maybe if your coming in at 2 or 3 AM, this won't be as much of a concern.
The staff are nice and very helpful so that is a plus. The location is excellant. The price is reasonable. Too bad about the Sushi Restaurant on premise. Mostly empty, so not much of a vibe there.
Anyway, just a heads up if you are staying there. Bring some earplugs.

Room Tip: Lower outside rooms very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHoliDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear "RHoliDaze",

Thanks for the positive review. Playa del Carmen is a very lively place, and a bit noisy sometimes. We are sorry about that.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a great hotel! Very modern and great attention to detail. The rooms are very bright, with natural light and tons of in room lighting as well. It’s located just 1 block from the main strip which is perfect b/c it’s quieter, but you are just steps away from everything!
The roof patio/bar/pool is a great place to relax! Ample space and the pool is so refreshing, over -looking the city of Playa Del Carmen.
We didn’t get a chance to eat here since we wanted authentic Mexican and not sushi. The bar is great at night and you will enjoy the drinks! The margaritas are to die for! Very delicious and potent!
Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear "Anh T",

We are so glad that you had a great time here at Be Playa! Thanks for the lovely words about our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the Be Playa for two weeks and I couldn't wait to return home to write a review. The hotel is new so there are only 26 reviews; all positive but noting a few minor flaws. Hope this review clears up a few noted issues of the past. We loved it here and will return!
WiFi: We use apple products and had absolutely no issues; my husband even had to work for a few days which included a large document; he worked on the rooftop and in our room, no problems at all.
Shower area: Yes, the shower is very European and does leak into other areas of the washroom but our towels being changed twice a day without asking, was a great surprise that made me forget about a wet floor
Elevator: yup still working only intermittently but with only 4 floors, it didn't bother us a bit. The staff care and work on the elevator almost daily...take the stairs folks!
Rooms: we only had a standard room and it was small but the lay out, decor and comfort made our room lovely
Location: two minute walk to best beach in PDC, 10 seconds to 5th, Five minute walk to the Mega......Fabulous location
Staff/management: The best for last!!!!! ALL staff, sushi restaurant (see another review under "Sushi Club"), housekeeping, rooftop guys, front desk......truly caring and thoughtful people. I only wish I could remember names......The young lady and fellow at the front desk were friendly and always greeted us. After a rain storm one day we were greeted at the front entrance with warm towels!!!! The morning breakfast staff, always with a smile. The housekeeping staff honest and attentive to the room and all common areas.
AMAZING HOTEL EXPERIENCE....Thank you Be Playa

Room Tip: I'll bet all rooms are great. It's a small hotel so most rooms are beside stairs but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank preferthebeach68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear "preferthebeach68",

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Your review is amazing!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I read the reviews before we booked our vacation to PDC. We have been here several times and have stayed at great boutique hotels like Deseo and Basico but thought it was time to try a hotel a bit farther up 5th. The hotel is nice looking and relatively new. That aside, I felt the staff was too casual and not very responsive.

For example. my travel mate got stuck in their rusted elevator for a half hour before he was able to be freed. While the even turned out ok the staff at the hotel did not really seem to care or respond appropriately. One desk clerk laughed and simply said with a chuckle, "That was you!" On to the other issues and compliments. The rooms were very well maintained and clean and new which made for a wonderful stay. The air conditioning was effective and the location really perfect for great access to the beach, especially Mamitas beach club. The downsides were:

- Unreliable internet connections or none at all
- Staff that were mostly interested in their text messaging than helping guests
- The restaurant's sushi is way too sweet and served candied ginger with rolls, weird
- Not much of a concierge service and generally laid back staff (luckily I've been to PDC before)
- Continental breakfast is toast and bowl of fruit which is ok but there are no options to upgrade to a bigger breakfast

With a few tweaks and a better guest orientation this hotel could be a contender for a great hotel in PDC. Right now it is a good hotel with nice rooms and a relatively low guest to room ratio which is nice. Also close to everything and quiet at night which is great if you want to sleep in a city known for not sleeping. All in all a good hotel. *except for the elevator fiasco - take the stairs!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good although I would request a room that has a hidden bathroom that is not a glass cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelnudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear "michaelnudo",

Thanks for the feedback. We fixed the WiFi issue, and the elevator was malfunctioning only those days. We are sorry about that.

Thanks again for your comments, we are improving the hotel everyday.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Great service, comfortable rooms, great location. Nothing to complain about. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear "Harris N",

Thank you for both your great reviews!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,405 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing