We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My girlfriend and I came here a few months ago and we had a blast. We didn't have as many noise issues as I see in the reviews, but we were there in a little bit of a slow time. The wi-fi was a bit spotty and the door locks jammed on us a few times but we were taken care of immediately each time and without any attitude at all. The breakfast is small but I find myself overeating on vacation anyway. We really liked the location and the room itself was beautiful. The shower and the lights were amazing in particular. I wouldn't say it's a family place but it was perfect for a romantic getaway. If we make our way back to Playa, we would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: If I remember, we had a "junior suite" with the hot tub. It was definitely a nice touch. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear "236JesseM",

Thank you for your great words regarding Be Playa! We are improving the hotel experience everyday, and we love to read you two had a nice time here!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    141
    31
    10
    10
See reviews for
34
312
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We went here on the basis of TA reviews and had a good experience.

We got a friendly welcome. Initially they got our room wrong (one bed rather than two) but this was corrected immediately. The location off 5th is a good one for strolling around the main tourist areas, getting to decent places to eat and hitting all the decent night spots in town.

The room (2nd floor corner) was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The hot tub in the room didn't work but that didn't particularly bother us. Water pressure was good.

The included breakfast was 'continental'; the jam and coffee is fine but you will be dissapointed if you have a big appetite. Service was relaxed and efficient.

The roof top bar was good for casual drinks during the day and a few relaxed starter drinks in the evening. There is a night on Thursday's which was not busy at 10pm-11pm when we left to try somewhere else but apparently it warmed up a bit later. The pool on the roof looks nice but is not practical for swimming. There is room to lounge about in there if you need to cool down.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BondStGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear "BondStGreen",

Thanks for the nice feedback about our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Don't expect any miracles from this hotel, it is not a boutique hotel like they advertise themselves.

We probably got the worst room of the hotel which was the ground floor room. Somehow they managed to turn the ground floor hallway into an extra room with a lovely view on the street and underground parking.

After expressing our disappointment and kindly asking for another room we were told that the whole hotel was full and moving room would be impossible.

We decided to explore the rest of the hotel, and found a dirty roof pool a shaky lift and construction works in the basement and several rooms.

We walked out and checked into a different hotel.

We contacted our agent and explained the situation, after she contacted the same be play receptionist he miracously found a room on the third floor...

We said we didn't want to stay in such hotel and eventually agreed on paying two out of four nights for our stay, without staying there one night.

After some further rip-offs:
1- we were charged 14% hotel tax for those two nights even though the room would be empty...
2- a usd fx rate that was completely off market but was standard at be playa apparently

We just paid because we were happy not to have to stay there.

In fairness, if you're there to have a good time and party the night away, this is probably a good choice as it is rather cheap and closely located to the big clubs.

If you are looking for some minimum level of comfort and friendly helpful staff, you are better off avoiding this place.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank T0nyV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear "T0nyV84",

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We can't agree on your view regarding Be Playa hotel: It is a boutique hotel, carefully designed, built and decorated. We used high quality building materials and furniture, some of them imported from Europe. The aesthetics are top-notch, modern and vibrant. We may have to disagree on what a boutique hotel really is.

Also, we can't agree with you on your description of the pool, nor on the general depiction you make of our hotel. We understand that you didn't like the original room you reserved. We went out of our way trying to free up a new room for you, which you didn't even care to see, as you went away to stay at other hotel.

Cancellation policies are clearly stated, are similar as the vast majority of the hotels, and we agreed with your travel agent to reduce the penalty to just two nights.
We are sorry you didn't like to pay the taxes, but every legal business has to pay sale taxes, whether the guest used the room or not.
The exchange rate is fixed, there is nothing we can do about that. You can always pay in local currency, as an alternative.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here based on price/location and ratings/reviews we read on tripadvisor. The price and location was excellent...and the reviews about the noise levels and water pressure were accurate too. The walls are indeed thin and if you want to sleep before 1 a.m. it's going to be a struggle. Knowing this was the potential situation we brought a white noise machine. That covered the noise from the street, but the bass from the music on the rooftop still came through and the music from our neighbor in the adjoining room could only be solved by knocking on his door at 12:30 and asking him to turn it down a bit. The water pressure is light so getting the toilet to flush or the in room whirlpool tub to fill take awhile, but showers and sinks were fine. The service was great - from check-in/check-out to the restaurant and rooftop bar. The food at the sushi club was really quite good too, with breakfast being a pleasant surprise. We decided that while Be Playa was a good experience, we would probably try something else on our next visit.

Room Tip: Corners are better since the walls are thin, then you're only getting the noise from one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesCaliNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear "LosAngelesCaliNikki",

We are glad to know that you had a good time at Be Playa! Thanks for the detailed feedback, and the comments regarding our services and premises. We are taking them into serious consideration.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, but terrible breakfast- all you get is a small bowl of fruit, a croissant and a slice of toast... all to share for two people! Rooms are ok, but the Wall between the beds and the toilette and bathroom is just A Thin glas Wall! Not very privat! The pool at the Roof is ok, but not that Big and doesn't seem to be cleaned very often!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear "Anna B",

Thank you for the time you took to write us a review.
Most people find the breakfast plentiful and very tasty. Certainly, we don't serve "a croissant and a slice of toast" for two guests to share. Perhaps you miswrote that. Anyway, we are sorry you didn't like the breakfast as much as other guests do. We'll take all your comments to improve our service.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON (UK)
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We decided to stay here after reading review on tripadvisor and other sites and were more than happy to recommend. Heres is our breakdown.

Location - Great if you do not want to be right on the beach. Your right next to 5th Avenue and the better side of it in our opinion where its less touristy and the quality of restaurants and bars is better. The beach is 5 minute walk away. The hotel provides discounts to some beach clubs but not the best and closest ones. We ended up using Kool Beach Club for most of our stay.

Rooms - Excellent, we stayed in the top range suite with jacuzzi. We had a few problems on the first day with aircon and noise from the downstairs sushi bar but the staff dealt with it very well and took the issues seriously. We were lucky enough to have choice of rooms on all three levels when we stayed but suggest, if you can, staying on the second floor. Having said that if you need totally zero noise to sleep then this place probably is not be for you.

Breakfast - There were some negative review on here about the free breakfast mostly around the lack of it however we found it fine - there is fresh fruit, juice, croissant and toast - there is also jam but you have to ask it. It is also possible to order extra like pancakes and even eggs Benedict and the prices for these are reasonable (~3-6 GBP) we personally preferred this to a sub-standard all you can eat buffet.

Service - Overall excellent, as said had a few issues (it happens!) but they deal with them well. Special thanks to Daniella who we dealt with most of the time on the front desk and handled our requests with a smile and speed.

Should also mention this place has a cool roof top bar, its not super busy compared to bars on 5th Avenue but its a great space and nice for a drink or two or to get some sun. We also ate at the Sushi restaurant that is part of the hotel and where breakfast is served, this was also very good and there is a 20% discount for guests.

Looking forward to going back already!

Rav n Sve.

Room Tip: Room 205 best if your staying in the top range suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear "jklondon",

Thank you for your nice feedback! It is always a joy to know that our guests had such a good time with us! You wrote a very nice review of our hotel!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

When we arrived we were at best rudely greeted at the main desk. First telling us of what we owed, putting a bad taste right from start. We then were escorted to our room, bit of room tour, we stayed in the corner suite. We were quoted one price, when we got to the hotel it was 50 usd more a night. Room nice enough,pool area a bit rundown and seemed not to be well maintained.During our stay not once where we asked how our stay has been do we need anything. The dinning staff were the only highlight of the hotels hospitality. As we were checking out which again we were treated poorly by another front desk person, we were informed of a charge of 329 pesos for a towel charge. I asked what that meant and the reply was there was makeup on the towels, yes I am staying at your hotel spending over 200 us a night I'm going to use the towels!!! This is not hospitality!!! He said this is our policy, if indeed it was we should've been informed when we arrived that there will be a charge for soiled towels!! Ladies if you stay at this hotel be advised and bring your own washcloths and hand towels or you will be charged for the use of the towels how obnoxious can you get. Enjoy your stay at Be playa!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newyork1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear "newyork1717",

Thanks for the feedback. We can't agree on your view regarding our front desk. We are sorry, but we do not do, ever, what you said we did when you arrived.
Most hotels in the world charge for stained or otherwise damaged towels; makeup is extremely difficult to clean, and some towels have to be discarded. Anyway, we are sorry you had a bad time because of that.


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Rentals
Acanto Condo Hotel & Vacation Re...
#17 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing