We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visiting Playa Del Carmen….”
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Playa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“First time visiting Playa Del Carmen….”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked Be Playa after reading some reviews online and were pleasantly surprised by the overall quality of the hotel. The hotel was well kept, clean, and modern. It had a young, hip feel to it, which we enjoyed. We stayed at the property for three nights and Hector (the gentleman that checked us in) did a great job assisting us on multiple occasions rather it be restaurant recommendations to recreational activities. The service he provided was above standard, and we definitely appreciated his hospitality.

The only negative aspect we experienced was in the Sushi Bar restaurant. Every morning they offered us a complementary breakfast, which we appreciated, but the service was incredibly slow. (I guess you get what you pay for) However, as we paid for some extra items, the servers assumed the extra cash was their tip. (Which was 20%) It should be noted there were a few instances in Playa Del Carmen when we wanted some change back and servers assumed their tip was 20% and deducted that amount from our change regardless of the quality of service. This was extremely off-putting. Maybe this is a common practice in the town but we found this practice to be presumptuous.

The rooftop pool was a nice place to relax during the day, and the bartender made some of the best margaritas we had during our trip.

Overall, our experience was great; however, we can understand some of the criticisms in other reviews. There was a conjoining door between our room and the next room, and there were times when we could hear our neighbors pretty clearly. Luckily they were quiet during the nights. In the end, we would certainly look to book a room here during our next trip.

When it doubt, talk to Hector!

Room Tip: Stay in a room above the street level. The bar plays loud music in the evening and it can be a bit d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    151
    32
    11
    12
See reviews for
40
340
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had an incredible time at be playa hotel.
I want to recommend this hotel for the personalized attention of all the staff. The bar, the sushi restaurant, the room and the lounge at the swimming pool were optimum. The service was amazing, Hector and the people of the front desk were always really attentive and always eager to help either in finding places to eat, to visit or upgrading the room.
The location of the hotel was excellent and it was really cool to stay in place where everyone is your friend it was like being at home. We enjoyed the sushi and drinks as well as the jacuzzi in the room. Honestly I will comeback to this place.
Gracias to hector and everyone who made this trip and incredible experience.

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704mago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The ambiance, the service, the rooms, the pool & rooftop bar were amazing. Plus, the location ensures you discover all the amazing food surrounding you. Don't stay at an all inclusive, stay at BePlaya

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear "Andrea M",

Thank you for the nice words about Be Playa Hotel! It feels great to be called amazing by our guests!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in March 2014. The location is perfect (very close to the main street and still in a quiet neighborhood). Our room was VERY nice, spacious & clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The cool chill out pool terrace is very nice!
The only 2 min points were that the room sometimes smelled like “drain” and that we found it a bit overpriced (in general hotel prices in Playa del Carmen are a bit high).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear "Ornella V",

Thank you for your great feedback and constructive comments! We appreciate them. Playa del Carmen is a successful, growing place, and that indeed drives up the prices a bit.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Be Playa for 8 nights.
Had a fantastic stay. Very good service. The front desk arranged for all request you could think of, from excursions to ordering take out. Facilities were excelent, with a great roof pool area. The Hotel is located nearby the beach and is in walking distance to all need for your vacation.
Thank you for an amazing hotel experience Be playa! :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear "Martin N",

Thank you for your friendly feedback! We are proud to have another happy guest. And thank you for choosing Be Playa!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed 7-nights at beplaya this April and had a great time. The look of the hotel is very modern while remaining welcoming and unpretentious. Lobby was always clean and staff was very friendly, saying hello and always available to offer advice / information.

Location
Hotel really lucked out with this one. It is conveniently one block north of #5, which is the busy pedestrian-only street that can be quite loud most of the day and into the night, but we didn't have any noise issues at all. Its at #26 as well, so its about a 5min walk from the busy super tourist area - enough to be able to breath without being surrounded by vendors and large groups of tourists.

Its only a few blocks from "the gym" ($18 day pass, tons of classes, clean and modern, towel service and juice bar, overall great).

Theres a delicious (cash-only) spanish restaurant diagonally across the #10 intersection, on #10 from be playa. We paid around $800pesos ($80CDN) for two steak-dinners, seafood Paella, meat plate, croquette sampler, a nice bottle of red-wine, and two desserts. Staff was extremely friendly.

Also, about 5m away is Oh La La! by George, make a reservation...it's also delicious.

Rooms
We stayed in two different Junior Suites. They had extreeeemely comfortable large beds, great sheets, modern frosted glass shower (two person shower with two heads) and bathroom area, separate his and hers wash-basins, and a Jacuzzi indoor facing the windows. Large balconies with hammocks also. Room service was regular for turn-down and general cleaning, came by regularly to replace our shower gels / shampoo. Service ladies were very sweet.

Issue Resolutions
Although we did have an issue where our door locked us out, the staff immediately were on hand to correct the issue and even moved us to a new room so they could replace the door fixture.

Breakfasts
Accommodation includes American Breakfast - which is two eggs, side of beans, fresh fruit, coffee, juice, and sweet croissants. Initially we expected we would need to go out daily to eat, but it turned out to be the perfect amount of food to get us going. Sweet wait staff as well.

RoofTop Lounge
Rooftop lounge looked like one of the best in the area. Had weekly movie nights, too.Great view of PDC, especially sunset/sunrise. Fun decor with small pool and wading area for dipping your feet in while having a drink. Wouldn't recommend using the in-pool table and chairs though, as they've rusted with time and leave marks on your bathing suit. Wasn't a busy time while we were in town, so we didn't spend too much time up there, but could imagine it being a blast during busier seasons.

Thanks to Hector and all of the front staff for helping to make this trip so comfortable :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukiyoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear "ukiyoboy",

Thank you for the nice words and thorough review! We are already taking care of the issues with the pool chairs. Thanks also for the tips you shared to other guests!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've been to Playa at least 10 times and have stayed all over at various hotels. This hotel is in the perfect location (away from the craziness of South 5th) in Playa North one street up from 5th. There is a Starbucks within 1 block, you get free breakfast, including scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and coffee, free wifi that actually works throughout the hotel (including the rooftop), has an amazing rooftop pool (small but quaint) and really friendly staff. There are many places I have stayed where the staff is not too friendly or things just aren't as they are from the website. This place is and more.

I splurged on a suite for myself and the bed was the most comfortable ever with a soft duvet cover. This is almost unheard of around Playa. The shower was hot and actually had good pressure for washing your hair. The balcony had a seated hammock that I drank my morning coffee on. It was also pretty quiet.

I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Maybe request a room that's not facing 10th as a friend said she could hear the cars (but wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear "luvsql",

Thank you for such a nice and friendly review! We love to have another happy guest! And thanks also for the beautiful pictures you shared with the TripAdvisor community.

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#24 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Property: Be Playa Hotel
Address: 26th Street | Between 5th Ave and 10th Ave, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#75 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing