We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caracol Suite Hotel
Ranked #195 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and was extremely satisfied with its customer service, location and rates. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to have an amazing experience in Playa del Carmen. I'll mostly likely stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear friend,

thanks for your comment, it is very important for us. we are proud of our hotel and love to receive friends...it was a pleasure to share a time!!!! we hope to see you again very soon! we "highly"recommend you as a customer( friend in our case!).

Regards.

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked this hotel based on price, reviews and pictures provided by the hotel. Upon our arrival, we were shocked. The pictures have nothing to do with the room we were given at this hotel. They might have a couple of rooms that are similar to the ones shown , but not ours.

We came in, checked in, went to the room and checked right out. The room was old, the walls were moldy the bathroom was stained, the linen as well, and the smell made me gag.

They showed us an upgrade but it was as bad. They were very nice and accepted to refund us.

We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minikiish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear sir/mrs,

for us it is not the way to get something free; if someoen want to stay has to pay...perhaps this is the reason for your comment. Check the others opinions and you can see our reality.

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great value for the price. Perfectly located, close to 5th ave. Friendly staff and very clean. You wont regret visiting this hotel or Playa del Carmen. Beautiful beach!

Stayed: January 2012
Thank ClaudP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear friend,

thanks a lo for your words; it can be a good slogan your title "give it a try, you wont regret it"!!!! we hope to see you soon.

Regards.

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Playa Suites, is your best option. Is a very comfortable hotel, cozy with beutiful rooms and extraordinary services.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent Vacations, Good Service, Clean room, well located, walking distance to downtown, the beach and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatiana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Dear friend,

we hope to recieve you again soon! thanks to take time ti write about us; your opinion encourage us to improve and get better.

See you soon!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

In September while on vacation I stood at the Hotel Playa Suites. I basically traveled to Cancun and Playa not even knowing where I was going to be staying. Luckily I found this hotel and it was perfectly located! The room was small and basic, but when your in the Riviera Maya you shouldn't be spending a lot of time in your room! The beds were soft and very comfortable. My favorite thing about the room was how cold it got! It was hot while I was there, and going back to my room after a day at the beach was amazing and refreshing! The people at the front desk were also very nice and helpful. I was also literally right around the block from the beautiful 5th ave. I have stayed at all-inclusive resorts in the past, but with the location of this hotel I thought it was better than an all inclusive resort because there is an incredible variety of food near the hotel. I would reccomend this hotel to travelers either staying for a week in paradise, or just passing through town!

Room Tip: Choose an upper level room. We had a garden level room, and there were a few nights we had one bug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candicen4007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Friend,

we thank you to write about us, your comments are very important for us; we love to listen your nice comments about our hotel, we hope to receive you again!!!!

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you book here, expect a $50-75 per night quality, and ensure you get an upstairs room. Orbitz had this for $189 + tax, and it is totally not worth it, and is probably quite unsafe. Oh, and Orbitz charged us 25% more than the quoted rate the hotel gave us upon arrival (but we had already paid in advance to Orbitz).
Our first room was on the ground floor, just behind the lobby. We had NO BLANKETS! It was musty and damp, as if it had not been opened in months. There was a nice-looking patio and we decided to give it a shot. But we almost checked out after the first night when we heard people fighting/beating each other up outside our room/in the lobby (the reception gave us a lame excuse of "drunken guests" - go figure), and could not sleep due to really loud "you know what" noises from next door. We stayed awake the whole night, at any moment expecting one of the folks fighting outside to break into our room.
We couldn't find another open hotel the next day (it was 31st Dec) so we asked for an upstairs room at this hotel. This was only slightly better - loud noises all day and night, people yelling, loud music from the adjoining restaurant and real estate agency, absolutely no amenities (not even extra soap!). Just your basic bed and bug-infested bathroom.
The only good thing is the location (just a block off of the tourist-friendly La Quinta or 5th Ave) and the receptionists were very helpful (ask for Gilberto who is the only one who speaks English). If you stay here, expect a hostel-like experience. We found several other nicer hotels at a cheaper rate and would have checked out if not for the large advance payment to Orbitz.
Tip - if you are a foodie, try the taquerias on Avenida Diez rather than the restaurants on Avenida 5.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buytics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Mr/Mrs,

thanks to write about us.

We are sorry that you do not enjoy your stay in our hotel. About the rate that you paid in a travel agency we can not say anything, you do not buy directly with us. The end of december is a expensive rate period and how you say, it is imposible to find rooms and the 3 stars hotels have similar prices. Also the christmas is a period were the people go to celebrate in Playa del Carmen, the ambience is beatiful but perhaps a bit noisy.

About the incident between clients(just a noisy moment), our personnel acted as the rules says...we call the authorities and we invite the client to leave our hotel the next day.

We are improving our hotel and this is the reason that we receive nice comments, we are a 3 star hotel; perhaps some necessities can we provided in 4 or 5 stars hotels. About the blankets is easy to get one if the client ask about it in the desk; I am sorry that in your stay you could not have one.

Thanks a lot for your comments, we take very seriously our job.

Sincerelly,

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#118 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#83 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#30 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#79 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maya Turquesa
Hotel Maya Turquesa
#201 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eclipse
Hotel Eclipse
#155 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caracol Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caracol Suite Hotel

Address: Avenida 10 | Between Calle 24/26, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Playa Suites)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £25 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caracol Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Caracol Suite Hotel is located just 350 feet from 5th Avenue and its bars, restaurants and nightlife; and 1,800 feet from Mamita’s Beach. Free WiFi is available in public areas. Each room here will provide you with a TV, air conditioning and cable channels. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with free toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Caracol Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Suite Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing