We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold-infested room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caracol Suite Hotel
Ranked #189 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for one night (rather than two) in October 2012.

We reserved this hotel due to the good reviews on TripAdvisor, but we had a different experience.

The room was infested with mold, on the top of the walls and under the bed. Please see the photos that I have posted. You will also see the poor state of the room, the absence of sheets and toilet seat. The beds were also very uncomfortable (i.e. metal springs all over).

As it was too late to change hotel, we stayed for the night in the room (the receptionist offered us a different room, but we refuse as the whole hotel also smelled; no point on changing for changing). We had to have the window open and the fan set to high to get rid of the smell. We were able to get a refund from Expedia for the room for the second night.

I highly recommend NOT to stay in this hotel, as there are much better options in the vincinity that we not get you sick from breathing mold.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

This place is very underrated. For the money, you can't pick a more conveniently located budget hotel. Close to big supermarkets, beach, bars, restaurants, etc. You can even get collective van transportation for very affordable prices to and from the Cancun international airport. Also very close to 5 Ave. and ferry crossing to Cozumel. Have to say that I didn't even visit Cozumel due to so many distractions in Playa. Tip: bring your own beach towels and find a piece of beach a few feet from Mamitas beach club and you can save you some cash and enjoy the same beach.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Gilbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

There's basically a mini "strip" or main area in Playa and this hotel was about a 25 minute walk from there which is not worth it in the heat. We walked it twice and it was way too draining plus we got caught in the rain. Twice we took a pedi-bicycle but those guys charged even more than the cabs! (50 pesos versus only 35 pesos for a cab). That would be fine except once you're at the hotel you can't find a cab or bike that will take you back to the center.

Also I wouldn't even really call this a "hotel" at all...it was definitely more of a hostel with bathrooms in the rooms. The main room itself was clean but the bathrooms were totally dingy and moldy. The closet was so dingy it was unusable. It was a pretty young crowd so people would be coming in at 2am yelling all over the place not letting us get a good night's sleep.

And forget asking for extra towels...you are allowed 2 per room no exceptions! I guess that's fine for guys but what can I say, girls need one for their hair as well. When we would go to the front desk to ask for more sometimes we'd have to wait a while for the one staff member to show up and then he would deny us towels yet again.

Anyway, all and all I wouldn't stay here again because it's too far from all the action (and the ferry is really far if you're looking to go to Cozumel from here). I regret paying $40 a night for this room. We ended up spending another $40 in transportation to and from the hotel/city center. It's honestly worth no more than $25 a night.

Room Tip: I guess I would say it's good to be on the first floor but it was so small I'm not sure any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oneinfivebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

While very cheap, $27 a night, it is very sparse, the walls need new paint (nothing peeling but there are splotches on wall), the bed is too soft, the furniture very basic. Good for one night but I would not recommend multiple and would find a $35 or $40 room that is nicer. Front desk people were nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLawyer_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is it's location. The room wasn't very clean, there was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. There are no hair dryers or phones in rooms. My balcony door lock was broken. I told the front desk person several times (different people) if they can fix it and nobody did.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexct81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My friend and I spent five nights at the Hotel Playa Suites and found the hotel to be adequate. When we first arrived to our room I noticed that none of the pillows had cases and there was only one towel. I spoke with the receptionist and the problem was immediately resolved. Although there were three beds, only one had a bedspread. The mattresses, however, appeared to be new and were very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well and the bathroom/shower were very clean and there were no issues with plumbing. The location was conveniently located near Mamitas Beach Club and El Club de Cerveza. Overall, I found the Playa Suites to be adequate for travelers who just want a cool, clean place to fall asleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesusitadelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I really recommend this hotel for business or family trip..the hotel is very clean is in a very good location,they have really nice people working at the hotel. My family and I had an amazing time.
Great hotel,good rates.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank Silvana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorbona, Gerente at Caracol Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear friend Silvana,

thanks to write about us, and we feel very well knowing about your amazing time during your stay; we hope to see you very soon.

Regards!

Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#111 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#119 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caracol Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caracol Suite Hotel

Address: Avenida 10 | Between Calle 24/26, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Playa Suites)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £22 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caracol Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Caracol Suite Hotel is located just 350 feet from 5th Avenue and its bars, restaurants and nightlife; and 1,800 feet from Mamita’s Beach. Free WiFi is available in public areas. Each room here will provide you with a TV, air conditioning and cable channels. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with free toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and getaroom.com so you can book your Caracol Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Suite Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing