We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bummer....where do they keep that room?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caracol Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caracol Suite Hotel
Ranked #183 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Bummer....where do they keep that room?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Location: Great. Close to the beach and Quinta Avenida.
Everything else: Disappointing. The room was clean, but dismal, depressing, and dingy, with broken furniture and wall decorations that seemed to be hiding some kind of scary construction issues. There were no extra pillows or blankets. No hand towels, and we had to share one bath towel (eww).

This "suite" had a kitchen, yes, but it was in reality a counter, a sink, and a mini-fridge taking up most of the counter. The faucet in the bathroom didn't reach the sink, so it was pouring all over the counter every time we used it. I could wave at the maintenance guy in the adjacent storage area from the shower window that couldn't be closed.

We saw three other "suites" and nothing sweet about those either. Park on the street at your own risk, no other options. Much nicer places in Playa, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    19
    8
    18
See reviews for
17
48
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

The walk to the square is full of busses, fumes and so many people getting on and off the buses that it is impossible to walk through it. Not a nice street to try to walk. I took a lot of taxix. Hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank 44children
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

pros:
-extremely well located
-low price
-clean
-comfortable bed

cons:
-poor water pressure in shower
-noisy and old air conditioner
-ugly rooms, just 4 walls, no decor at all.
-rude front desk clerk
-Towels small, worn and ripped.

BUT if you are in a budget and this is your best choice for the price, take it! otherwise, look for something better.

Room Tip: ask for a room wit minisplit air conditioner instead of a noisy window unit. Take your own towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The rooms are clean, it's very close to 5th ave. really nice,honest people at the front desk. If your plan is to go explore the ruins and cenotes, and you need a place to sleep and shower, this is a great, inexpensive option.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmagdalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed for one night (rather than two) in October 2012.

We reserved this hotel due to the good reviews on TripAdvisor, but we had a different experience.

The room was infested with mold, on the top of the walls and under the bed. Please see the photos that I have posted. You will also see the poor state of the room, the absence of sheets and toilet seat. The beds were also very uncomfortable (i.e. metal springs all over).

As it was too late to change hotel, we stayed for the night in the room (the receptionist offered us a different room, but we refuse as the whole hotel also smelled; no point on changing for changing). We had to have the window open and the fan set to high to get rid of the smell. We were able to get a refund from Expedia for the room for the second night.

I highly recommend NOT to stay in this hotel, as there are much better options in the vincinity that we not get you sick from breathing mold.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

This place is very underrated. For the money, you can't pick a more conveniently located budget hotel. Close to big supermarkets, beach, bars, restaurants, etc. You can even get collective van transportation for very affordable prices to and from the Cancun international airport. Also very close to 5 Ave. and ferry crossing to Cozumel. Have to say that I didn't even visit Cozumel due to so many distractions in Playa. Tip: bring your own beach towels and find a piece of beach a few feet from Mamitas beach club and you can save you some cash and enjoy the same beach.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

There's basically a mini "strip" or main area in Playa and this hotel was about a 25 minute walk from there which is not worth it in the heat. We walked it twice and it was way too draining plus we got caught in the rain. Twice we took a pedi-bicycle but those guys charged even more than the cabs! (50 pesos versus only 35 pesos for a cab). That would be fine except once you're at the hotel you can't find a cab or bike that will take you back to the center.

Also I wouldn't even really call this a "hotel" at all...it was definitely more of a hostel with bathrooms in the rooms. The main room itself was clean but the bathrooms were totally dingy and moldy. The closet was so dingy it was unusable. It was a pretty young crowd so people would be coming in at 2am yelling all over the place not letting us get a good night's sleep.

And forget asking for extra towels...you are allowed 2 per room no exceptions! I guess that's fine for guys but what can I say, girls need one for their hair as well. When we would go to the front desk to ask for more sometimes we'd have to wait a while for the one staff member to show up and then he would deny us towels yet again.

Anyway, all and all I wouldn't stay here again because it's too far from all the action (and the ferry is really far if you're looking to go to Cozumel from here). I regret paying $40 a night for this room. We ended up spending another $40 in transportation to and from the hotel/city center. It's honestly worth no more than $25 a night.

Room Tip: I guess I would say it's good to be on the first floor but it was so small I'm not sure any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneinfivebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#130 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apart Hotel Casaejido
Apart Hotel Casaejido
#35 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#151 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#99 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#147 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caracol Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caracol Suite Hotel

Property: Caracol Suite Hotel
Address: Av. 10 entre 24 y 26, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Playa Suites)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caracol Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PLAYA SUITES Hotel, located in downtown Playa del Carmen, one of the most beautiful cities in Mexico, offers you the perfect tropical atmosphere for your vacation. This petite hotel is located near the crystal-clear waters of the Caribbean Sea. PLAYA SUITES effortlessly gives you an unforgettable tour of this entire area.A hotel in this unique city needs to let you enjoy the Mexican sun and soak up its brilliance. If you were at PLAYA SUITES Hotel, this pleasure could be yours for as long as you wish.Playa Suites Hotel with a pleasant and cozy atmosphere. Its comfortable facilities and relaxing rooms will encourage to wind down and relax. This gives you even more reasons to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Caracol Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Suite Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing