We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Certificate of Excellence
Hudsonville MI
Level Contributor
1 review
“Awesome visit!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Less than a 5 min walk to the main public beach with tons of stuff going on all the time, very clean secure rooms, great fun people that will become instant friends if you are open to having new friends. Only thing I would change is maybe a box of backing soda and an air freshener in bathroom as the plumbing in most of Mexico isn't the world's greatest and with 8 girls in my room and the humidity the bathroom tend to a get a little ripe, but that'snot somthing hostel 3b can help too much. Drinks at the bar on the roof are hostel prices, I stuck to my margaritas for 35 pesos.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlb41482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    101
    38
    11
    17
See reviews for
3
40
194
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed for 2 weeks in total coming in and out of playa from up and down the coast, Great english speaking staff willing to help out with any queries, rooms were cleaned daily with nice big beds and lights next to them and i even grabbed a double bed for a few nights :-) ! Clean and modern bathrooms was a nice treat after travelling a while. My favourite part of the hostel was up on the roof where they had a new bar and rooftop pool and lots of lounges to chill out on, night life was also good having a few events on different nights, ill definitely be back! hopefully for BPM Thanks guys and girls who made my time there amazing yeeeew

Room Tip: I preferred the 6 or 8 bed room on the corner with two lots of windows on two walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I first went there to jump on the wifi for an emergency and was overwhelmed with the hospitality and amenities of this great hostel by the beach. From the roof top pool bar to the tables on the first floor this place is top notch with a top notch staff to match. I would recommend this place to everyone. One block from the beach

Room Tip: call a head
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigshafen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was my first experience of a hostel! It's clean, modern and has great spaces to hang out. It's 2 minutes from the beach, and the bus station and has a great bar on the roof . There's something on every night, BBQs, pool parties and dj's! All the staff are super friendly and make you feel right at home! Met some great people here and would go back if I returned to Playa! Greetings to Ivan and the crew hope to see all of you as soon as possible

Mario

Room Tip: On the Top of the Hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first experience of a hostel having stayed in hotels on most trips away! I was pleasantly surprised by 3b! It's clean, modern and has great spaces to hang out. It's 2 minutes from the beach, and the ADO bus station and has a great bar on the roof that is open from Wed to Sun! There's something on every night, BBQs, pool parties and ace dj's! All the staff are super friendly and make you feel right at home! Met some great people here and would go back if I returned to Playa!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stacey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hostel 3B is located 2 minutes from the ADO bus station and one block back from the main plaza in Playa del Carmen and ferry terminal. It has the look of a new hotel with the clean white painted decor, clean white sheets and chic furniture but it very much is a hostel. The staff on the front desk were incredibly helpful especially the day shift guy who unfortunately I did not catch his name but he was a top man. Were happy to chat throughout the day and when they weren't working they just felt like fellow guests. Always chilled and happy to help.

The place was incredibly clean, constant hot water, a/c in the rooms and very comfortable beds. Lockers are allocated according to your bed number so always right next to you. I used the hostel to chill for a bit and was perfect. No common room as such but there is a lobby with tables and benches to eat, read, charge your phone etc. The one issue is that the wifi only seems to work downstairs or in the rooms directly above. The rooms towards the back dont seem to get much joy on the wifi front.

If you want to party there is a rooftop bar with a pool and on most nights it can get pretty social.

If you are going to Playa del Carmen then I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deanlabbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This was my first stay at a hostel so I wasn't sure what to expect. All I can say is I can't wait to go back!! The location is perfect...steps from the beach, the bus station and every shop/restaurant/bar you could ever want. Before you even get inside, you'll get an "hola" from staff and guests chilling outside. Once you get in, everyone treats you like family. The place was clean, inviting and once you get up to the new Rooftop Patio...OMG! Staff did an amazing job with the renovation. Chill atmosphere, amazing pool and bar, beautiful lounge chairs. Incredible! We had the pleasure of staying in the new rooftop patio room complete with balcony and private bathroom. I've stayed in many hotels around the world but none with an atmosphere like this. Overall, I'm already planning to go back in the next few months. Can't wait!

Room Tip: If you DON'T like to party, the rooftop room is NOT for you. Personally, I loved every minute of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeCeeYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Yak
The Yak
#6 of 207 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap

Property: Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap
Address: Av. 10 Esquina Con Calle 1sur, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 207 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and innovative hostel meant to gather all world party travelers. It is located in Playa del Carmen, one block from the beach. With 24-hour reception, private rooms and shared rooms with individual lockers. All rooms feature Ac. We also have Wifi in the common area and the rooftop bar. Stay with us ALL INCLUSIVE! Breakfast, dinner, 5 hours of open bar and your bed. $ 550Mx Hostel 3B has a kitchen with all utensils, microwave and a TV room with sofas, board games and cards. Breakfast is served from 08:00 to 11:00. The SOS lounge is located on the rooftop and has an outdoor pool, lounge area,Live DJs, Xbox One, beer pong, bbq and sushi nights. The hostel is half a block from the fifth Avenue, the main thoroughfare of shops and nightlife in Playa del Carmen. Don't forget is only 40 minutes drive from Cancun airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 3B Chic & Cheap Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing