We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beefaroni”
Review of Cenacolo

Cenacolo
Reserve with OpenTable
Cenacolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 1,267 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$200
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beefaroni”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

On our last night we decided to go out to have a nice dinner and drinks. After walking by this place several times, we decided this looked like a great place. To start the evening, it took quite a while to be acknowledged by staff and served drinks. We decided on a risotto and a Bolognese dish. The meals were lackluster and the prices steep. Both people to have the Bolognese described it as beefaroni and this was a very fair comparison. Despite a gorgeous setting, this place disappointed in all aspects... Including their alcoholic beverages. Don't be drawn in by the dark wood, white tablecloths and dim lights.

Helpful?
1 Thank e_swanson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Customer, we really appreciate your comments and will be considered to improve our service .

We hope you can come to visit us again and give us the opportunity to change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    129
    45
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cenacolo -- always excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have enjoyed Cenacolo in Cancun since it opened about 10 years ago so it made perfect sense to visit the sister restaurant in Playa del Carmen. The menu is slightly different-they have married the Cenacolo Mare menu with regular Cenacolo menu and the result is perfection (lplease do the same for the Cancun restaurant!) maitre d', service, food just delightful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbb0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear customer, Thank you for be our customer for so many years. We really appreciate your positive comments about our menu and service.

We hope you can visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian meals I've ever had”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a spectacular restaurant. Let's start with the service, the wait staff knows what they are talking about from wine to food. We got a wonderful red wine suggestion for our meal that was so good we ended up finding a store that sold it so we could bring it back to the states! It was Don Luis, Terra 2010! Fabulous! We had the white tuna carpaccio as an appetizer and I would have given a five star review if I just stopped there. Fish was fresh, clean with hints of lemon and olive oil. For my meal I had the prosciutto ravioli, the pasta is handmade fresh in house and the taste of flavors is bold and wonderful. Portions are perfect, not over the top American sizes but not skimpy. The entire time we were eating there we kept saying how is this possible? How could we be eating the most delicious Italian meal ever in the middle of Mexico? It's true! I'm 100% Italian from Chicago nonetheless where we are spoiled with fantastic food options. This is one of my favorite restaurants in the world. We will be back again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear customer, thank you for your positive comments about our service and menu. Our staff makes their best to attend to our customers in the best way .

We hope you can visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pasta Lovers' Nirvana!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You can watch the chef roll fresh pasta in this charming street-front dining gem. The manager is from Italy, speaks perfect Spanish and English and is charming and knowledgeable. The food is fantastically good. Have to say that it is tops in Playa! We thought the wine list was a little pretentious, though it fits for the quality of the food - which is not pricey at all by US standards, but a little higher than typical restaurants in the area. Completely worth it. Dinners start around $15 US, most are in the $20's. There are some $40 choices of steaks. The homemade pastas were all gorgeous, more than you can eat, delicious beyond belief and served elegantly. If you haven't been there, give it a try and get the spaghetti stirred in a Parmesan bowl table side!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rather_B_Cycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear customer. its good to know that you enjoyed the homemade pasta and service in cenacolo playa.

Thank you for your positive comments,we hope you can visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb octopus carpaccio.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went there during our first time at playa del carmen as it looks like quite a posh italian. We were not disappointed! Besides the waiter's disappointment as we did not order their pasta - they are preparing fresh ones live in front of you - our food was brilliant. I had the best octopus i ever had, the fish was scrumptious and the service was lovely.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenAndJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRCENACOLO, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cenacolo, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear customer thank you for your positive comments.

We hope you can visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cenacolo also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Been to Cenacolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing